We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and so pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful and so pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Where to begin- this was a trip of 5 nights during Thanksgiving. Such a wonderful location. We travel often by public transportation and the cable cars are right at the corner- to the Wharf- to Union Square or up/down California Street. We were warmly greeted and upgraded to a beautiful corner room. It was so nice and the views were spectacular. We had a rate that included breakfast at the Top of the Mark on the 19th floor EVERY day!! How pampered can you be?!! The staff in the restaurant was OUTSTANDING. We don't have anything to complain about . The food from cereal, oatmeal, dim sun (sp?), waffles, bacon, 2-3 kinds of eggs each morning, pastries, toast, salmon, bagels, FRESH FRESH FRUIT, potatoes, and on and on. The staff was so attentive and in a pleasant way. I just wanted to hug them when we left the last morning because they were like family. Take your camera/phone because the views from the restaurant are AWESOME. We picked a different view every day. We would stay here again in a heart beat!! The Christmas decorations are beautiful. On Thanksgiving they have a special petting zoo in the back of the lobby for the children- HOWEVER- I only saw one child petting the animals and the rest were ADULTS!! lol.. Thank you staff. The concierge is the nicest.

Room Tip: No noise on the 9th floor- couldn't hear traffic or the dinging of the cable bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proach1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    857
    351
    149
    73
See reviews for
414
927
130
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is historic and located at Nob Hill. The area is very nice location. The room I had was very nice updated with spectacular views of the bay and city. I would recommend getting breakfast with the room. Breakfast was at Top of the Mark. This historic roof top location with incredible views all around you. Ask for a window table and enjoy the views and food.
The front desk with both David and also Mark made check in and out easy with no problems. The staff was very friendly and went out their way to answer questions or assist you.
I will be staying here again and enjoy the old world charm rooms and interior.
If you are wanting brand new everything there is another Intercontinental San Francisco, also very nice.
I

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank artxnuc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Thanksgiving Eve and the room was beautiful and quiet. Services were helpful, polite, and informative as needed. We stayed in a handicap room and my only complaint was the lack of counter space in the bathroom. There is a nice container with many items to make the stay more comfortable, 4 bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion, and a great lighted magnifying mirror all on the counter which is only slightly larger than a pedestal sink. Not much room left for toothbrushes, hair brushes, shaver, makeup etc. otherwise, the room is beautifully done!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the streets away from Powell unless cable car clanging will not bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed for business, and I was expecting to be disappointed, and I was. The bed was comfortable, the doormen friendly, and Top of the Mark has great views. However, the desk staff was unfriendly, there was constant litter in the hallways, no free Wi-Fi and the breakfast buffet was $28 if you wanted eggs.

At check in, my questions to the front desk were answered in mostly “no”. When done, I turned to find my bag, and the bellman doesn’t offer to assist. No offer that I may decline or accept – just no help – but they were right there watching. One day I came back to the hotel in a black sedan and I was mocked by the door man “Oh you are coming back in style, eh?”. Most other times the door men were friendly and helpful, but they need to brush up on their customer service skills.

The entire time I stayed at the hotel, which was 6 nights, I never saw the concierge, and questions at the front desk were unhelpful at best. One time I asked about a restaurant for breakfast, and they directed me 4 blocks away, when there were several right there on Nob Hill. The breakfast buffet that they offered was expensive -- $19 for a continental breakfast to $28 for eggs and meat selections. I did eat at the buffet on my last day because of time, and on top of the $28 they added in a 18% gratuity automatically (for a buffet!!). However, the buffet was good.

The hallways had litter on the floor every day, and room service trays stayed out in the halls for hours. It seemed like there was too little staff.

Even though my room (635) was small, the bed was comfortable and the A/C worked as expected. There was a suitable desk & chair, another chair and small table, a TV perched upon a console with very little storage and plenty of lighting. There was a Keurig for use, but bottled water is $6.50 a bottle. Better to walk down California to or Powell and buy a big jug for $1.

The bathroom was small, and had very little room for accessories. Tub was shallow and when taking a shower or filling the tub, the pipes would bang and groan – quite a shock if you aren’t expecting it. In my room, to access the toilet, you had to contort yourself and go around the door, then close the door. For a bigger person this could be a problem. For two people nearly impossible. There was a hair dryer and a very good magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

In the closet, there was an iron and ironing board. Too few hangars, but I was able to deal with that and there was a sign that said that housekeeping could bring more.

Housekeeping was good. The room always looked tidy and the bed was made up each day. They have a cool indicator on the thermostat so you can alert them when you are ready to have your room taken care of or do not disturb - no more cards on the door!

I checked out the workout room and it was mostly treadmill-like machines with some TV’s, a few weight machines. If there were others in there working out it would be odd since the area isn’t that big.

This hotel is located on the top of Nob Hill. The hills are VERY steep. Keep that in mind if you are walking around. There are several good coffee shops and restaurants close by. Check out the Big Four at the Huntington for a superb meal, or Café Cento for coffee at the corner of Powell and California. It is a very pretty area and the cable cars are right there for you (hint: Buy a pass!). There is a small park just up the street that is great for people watching. But if you stay at the Mark Hopkins, do yourself a favor and go at least once to the Top of the Mark. You won’t be disappointed with the views.

Room Tip: 6th floor had okay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to change your expectation of disappointment. Our hotel anticipated your group’s arrival and took steps such as having additional staff to answer questions about the local area, and I apologized that you were unable to speak with the Concierge. I also sorry to hear that you felt the doorman had mocked you, I assure you this was not his intention, but rather to welcome you back as he had assisted with your departure earlier. Please feel free to contact me at ICMarkHopkins@IHG.com should you decide you would like share any additional comments with a manager. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

David Valencia
Assistant Manager – Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were amazed by the location of the hotel. Cable cars just outside the hotel, on Nob Hill.
Close to some of the best visitor sights in San Francisco.
The room was a double with great facilities. The restaurant is way up a the top of the hotel, good if there is no fog to enjoy the view across town. Food and drink is expensive, but to be expected at this hotel. Service was excellent.
A perfect hotel to stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Transport required-taxi or cable car
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

One of the best locations in San Francisco. Cable car lines run right outside the hotel and it's close to Chinatown and wonderful restaurants. The views are spectacular. We had a room on the 14th floor with views of the Golden Gate Bridge, Grace Cathedral, Alcatraz and much more. The rooms are comfortable, (especially the feather top beds), and have lots of amenities. Our package included the daily breakfast buffet that had a large assortment of delicious things to choose from and it was served at the Top of the Mark. Even if you don't stay at this hotel no trip to SF is complete without an elevator ride up to the Top of the Mark for dinner or drinks. The views are incredible.

Room Tip: Ask for an Enjoy San Francisco package which guarantees you a view room. The best rooms are on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

A very upscale property that's first class in every way. Was able to stay at a very reasonable rate the week leading up to Thanksgiving. Upgrading to a view room is worth it (10th floor and above)-- we enjoyed magnificent views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island, in addition to the financial district. Be sure to enjoy brunch at the Top of the Mark with 360 views from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#35 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,341 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing