We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel with excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #65 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel with excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently stayed at this property while in San Francisco for 2 nights on business! I was able to check in early and given a spacious corner room with a view down to the water and Alcatraz! The room was a good size and the hotel staff went out of their way to make my stay comfortable! My stay was in December and the hotel was decorated very nicely for the holidays!

I sent a tweet mentioning that I was staying at the hotel and when I returned to my room there was a bowl of fruit, chocolates and extra bottles of water waiting with a nice note from the hotel. As a frequent business traveler these small gestures or great and make it much more pleasant!

The restaurant on the top of hotel has amazing views and is a great place to grab a drink or lunch. The restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We were able to walk to numerous restaurants and business meetings and there are a number of cabs that wait in front of the hotel.

Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again when in San Francisco!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jujucom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    861
    355
    149
    74
See reviews for
418
934
132
556
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The purpose of our trip was because of a family reunion that was actually happening on Saturday. Since my cousins were in town on Friday, my partner and I decided to book a room for the night and paint the town SF style with the family. At some point we all ended up at the hotel and made our way up to Top of the Mark. So Fun! Overall, It was a very special weekend and our stay at the InterContinental played a big part of this. We were treated with great hospitality and the service was very impressive. We were very pleased with everything that we ended up booking the room for a second night. Thank you again and we will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed at this charming hotel on 3/21 - 3/23-14. This Grande Dame hotel is located at the top of Nob Hill. I had room 1422 which faced Grace Cathedral, the Golden Gate Bridge & Alcatraz! The service could not have been better. Upon check-in, I had my room key in less than one minute, simply amazing! The tastefully appointed room was very spacious and the bed was very, very comfortable. Definitely plan to grab a cocktail at the Top of the Mark bar at the top - the view is fantastic! The location is also great - just a few short blocks to all the shopping around Union Square.

I definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room like 1422
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is reasonably old and is in need of a renovation. The gymnasium is disappointing. There is no itemized menu for breakfast but just only buffet. There is a cafe one block to the right of the hotel to have a simple breakfast. Given that the hotel is on Nob Hill, it is a trek up the hill.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiegen B, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello Adventurer-Ian ,

Thank you for recent response in regards to your stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins located in San Francisco. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the age of our property. I am pleased to inform you that we will be receiving a multi-million dollar renovation next year!

Unfortunately our breakfast buffet charges are a fixed price. However, we do have 24 hour room service with several options that can be ordered a la carte should you wish to order something on your next visit.

Thank you again for the feedback on your recent stay. Should your travel needs bring you to the San Francisco area again, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be more than happy to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,
Tiegen Boberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My first time in SF and ended up at the Mark Hopkins by default, but pleased I did. It was very nice, my room was a decent size and relatively quiet (cable cars permitting). I had a cocktail at the Top of the Mark which was fun - the view is great, the service less so.
I really used public transport to get around and it was easy. The hotel is a short way from Union Square with its noise and druggy/drunk hobos, but convenient for everywhere. I walked extensively and never used a cab once, there is no need.
I used the shuttle to/from the airport - $16 each way and it is completely separate from the hotel, but reliable. A number of firms operate the route. A lot cheaper than a taxi. Even cheaper is the free bus, but with a restricted timetable and not as convenient.
SF: I loved Alcatraz, Baker Beach, walking north through Chinatown & seeing great murals. Also, as a bitter drinker at home in UK, I enjoyed the burgeoning growth in local micro-brewed IPAs - find a bar/pub (I did, in the Mission) and chat with the staff, locals, whoever!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This charming older hotel is at the top of Nob Hill (with quite steep footpaths to walk around the hotel). It's an energetic walk from the shops, and close to one of the cable cars (which were packed on the weekend).

Plan to enjoy a sunset drink & dinner at the Top of the Mark bar/restaurant... a lovely experience. :)

The gym was quite good. Room was fine, but a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Maywald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Nathan, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a room on the 15th floor and the views were excellent. The service at the hotel was excellent and club level access a pleasure.
The bed was super comfy with great linen making a good nights sleep.
The hotel is old and rooms show that but very clean and bathrooms are renovated.
A good historical place to stay but make sure you like walking hills as it is located at the peak of Nob Hill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing