We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff excellent location”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome after a long drive and were pleased when a cheerful porter took care of our car and luggage. One of the rooms we had was at the front of the hotel with a great view over the square. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice. We enjoyed a relaxing drink at dusk in the Top of the Mark bar looking over the city. Decor is slightly tired in parts, but always clean, and understand a refurb is due.

Room Tip: Views from the rooms at the front of the hotel are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBreaks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    886
    373
    154
    74
See reviews for
439
953
135
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balledent, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a pre cruise package
.
Whilst comfortable and clean, the expectation was exceeded by the experience. The concierge was excellent making recommendations for local restaurants after our long 11 hour flight as the restaurants in the hotel could not offer anything for our son which was disappointing.

The air conditioning was noisy and on our last night we could hear running water (no gushing water) all night. The buffet breakfast was over priced at $98 per day for 2 adults and 1 child

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiegen B, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear ManxTraveller09,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins in San Francisco. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the great service our Concierge was able to provide you. I understand your frustration with the price point of our breakfast, but it is a full gourmet buffet everyday, and therefore our prices are set accordingly.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip and your cruise! Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Tiegen Boberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Too noisy place for a peaceful / enjoyable hours.

Cold welcome for non-Hotel customers. ( + 5 $ )

Martini's are too sweet.

------

Too noisy place for a peaceful / enjoyable hours.

Cold welcome for non-Hotel customers. ( + 5 $ )

Martini's are too sweet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiegen B, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear scanko,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your experience at Top of the Mark. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time while you were there. We do have a cover charge for all non-hotel guests a few nights of the week. It is the hotel's policy, and we are unable to waive that. I apologize if your martini was too sweet. I am confident that if you had informed a server or manager at the time, we would have been more than happy to make a new one for you that fit your taste.

I would like to invite you back to give us a second chance should you be in the area again. Please feel free to contact me directly at ICMarkHopkins@ihg.com for any future needs.

Kind Regards,
Tiegen Boberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

You may be slightly disappointed by the value for money; the hotel is very nice but it's not anything exceptional. The room we had was large with a lovely bathroom and a reasonable view. The exterior of the hotel and lobby area is magnificent. The service was fine though it's what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

Best bit: The location on beautiful Nob Hill
Worst bit: The service staff are a little uppity

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we were in this hotel last may 2013.magnificient hotel,excellent location on the tip of nob hill but yes very ccosstly.n they ddont hv included breakfast along with the room tarifff whicch they should hv.staaff is goodd except some racial discrimination.queries ccan be addresssed on 00919826651096.dr anand bhagwat ,indore,mp,india

Room Tip: better opt for a room on the upper floorss for aa good ccity view n perhapss a view of the golden g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anand1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When a hotel is charging more than $350/night for one of their rooms, do they REALLY need to charge $6.50 for a bottle of water that's in your room? AND, charging per day for internet service! Really?? Come on, management, do you think that's a wise business decision? Why not tack on a couple dollars more to the room tab, or better yet, just keep the rooms at the rate you charge (which is pretty pricey, anyway) and throw in the water and the internet service!! Don't get me started on charging $50+ just to park our car for one night in your garage!!

Definitely NOT a "repeat" experience for my husband and me. I hate being "nickeled and dimed" to death!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiegen B, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello nancyhelene,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins in San Francisco. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the costs associated with the hotel. Unfortunately San Francisco does have a high price point and a high cost of living. With that said, we are not able to offer complimentary bottled water to all of our guests. Wi-Fi is an added cost as well, but we are able to waive that cost if you become an IHG Rewards Member. It is free to join and you earn points for your stay at any IHG property.

In regards to the parking fees, we are actually priced around the same average of the other hotels, and are actually priced less than a few of them. You will never find overnight parking in San Francisco at any hotel that will cost less than $50.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback!

Kind Regards,
Tiegen Boberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lived in San Francisco for years and always loved The Top of the Mark for its fantastic views...I was not disappointed in my first hotel stay...It was up to the standard of a InterContinental hotel....Room was a nice size bathroom to small. The service the food were first rate the entire hotel was spotless...In the morning my daughter and I wanted to go to fisherman's wharf and when I asked the doorman for a cab he called up the hotels Mercedes and driver to take us for free...(of course we tipped the driver) It deserves it's place atop Nob Hill.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor you can for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,907 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,521 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing