We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is so helpful and pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lubbock, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff is so helpful and pleasant.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Mark Hopkins for three nights prior to a cruise. We found that the Hotel was very clean, comfortable, and easy to access. Even though we really liked the hotel, we LOVED the staff at the hotel. They were absolutely impeccable. They went out of their way for our every need. Everyone from the bellhop to the cleaning crew, to the front desk was perfect. An example of their willingness to help was that I thought that I had lost a necklace down a bathroom sink. The maintenance department came to our room, took apart the plumbing to look for the necklace, and refused the tip, telling me that he could not take the money, because that was his job, and the was just happy to help. Sometimes, when we would request a cab, they offered the "house car". We believe that the staff is a reflection of the management in a business, and the management can be very proud of their staff at this location. We were very impressed.

We loved the view. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linlar731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    892
    376
    155
    74
See reviews for
445
959
136
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I went there for the meeting (at moscone center). It was expensive hotel but I feel worthy to stay here. First of all, it locates on the top of hill where you can have a nice view of downtown and easy to reach union square and moscone centre (15- 20mins walk, down hill). It was also close to where you would like to experience cable car in San Francisco. The serves were good as well. If you come for business and have a good deal staying this hotel, I am recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Mark Hopkins is a very good hotel that is located at the top of Nob hill. The location is only 100 yards from the tram stops so ideal to go to other locations.

We booked an executive room with access to the lounge. The lounge provided breakfast and in the early evening Hors d'oeuvre and drinks. This is a great place to meet people.

Our room was very pleasant with separate lounge area. [We have stayed here before in a standard room that was rather compact.]

You can easily stay here without the need for a car. The public transport options mean't that we left our car in their car park for the whole stay. That said parking is rather pricey.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room to gain access tot he lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Mark Hopkins is one of those hotels that as soon as you walk in, you feel you've been transported to another time and place! It's absolutely beautiful and the lobby is at the heart of that beauty. My room was up on one of the top floors with AMAZING views of Nob Hill and a peak at the Golden Gate Bridge. The bed, linens, towels were all top notch and perfect.
We had a fundraiser there last month, and the banquet room had that same elegance as well. What really surprised me, though, was the food served at the fundraiser. Typically in large crowds the food is average, but the food (served buffet style even) was the best I've ever had at a large event! I loved the Mark Hopkins & will go back as soon as I get a chance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible to take advantage of the amazing views in any direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel located at the top of Nob Hill. We had a fabulous view over looking the bay and couldn't ask for more during our visit. The hotel is located close to Union Square and China town. The cable cars are within walking distance and taxis are located right outside the hotel. We definitely plan to go back!

Room Tip: We had a king size room on the 10th floor. The room was spacious and a wonderful walk in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirOliver08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location. Good bell and concierge service. As far as the rooms, they're average size but very dated. Bathrooms are tight and the water is inconsistent at best. I would not stay here for a week. A night or two at best. $60 a night to park(par for the course in San Francisco). Nice to pop up to the 19th floor for a $14 martini, if you're in to that sort of thing. The charm factor of this hotel does not justify the prices nor the apparent infrastructure issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear J R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to know that you liked our location and service received from our bell and concierge staff. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

I apologize that the bathroom facility and the size of our room did not meet your standards. We want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience the same scenario in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Kentucky, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a very elegant hotel with a magnificent view from the Top of the Mark bar restaurant. The accommodations and amenities are first class as is the service. As a Platinum Rewards member, I received an upgrade to the Executive floor and free wifi. The property is very conveniently located to Union Square and Powell St station and cable car. Just bear in mind, if you like to walk, that the surrounding 2 blocks are VERY steep so plan accordingly! If you're not interested in walking, you'll need to take taxis or ride the cable car ($6 pp one way).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyboy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,932 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,200 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 229 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing