We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected luxury...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We expected luxury...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

....but were sorely disappointed. I think if I hadn't had such high expectations, I would've given it a four. But this is on top of a SF hill, across from the luxurious Fairmont, and you expect grandeur, especially given the front entrance. This is just ordinary. Nothing special. They need to do a lot to upgrade this. The beds are definitely comfortable and the pillows are great. The atmosphere is nice if a bit stuffy. The hotel is quiet overall. The location is very good. There are no aggressive panhandlers at this hotel as there are at many of the downtown hotels. That is a definite plus. The employees are terrific, seriously helpful and delightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear marabel100,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to know that we were able to provide you with a comfortable bed and that you found our staff helpful. It is regrettable that you found the hotel only at average best. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this will help us look for more ways on how to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    872
    361
    149
    74
See reviews for
424
938
134
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
445 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This Intercontinental Hotel has great service & a friendly helpful staff . Its old world charm is welcoming. The location is good & only few blocks from Union Square where there is a variety of shops & restaurants. Union square is where the Hop On Hop Off bus is available. The Cable car stop is close by as well --- this is very nice since the streets are steep !
As I said, this is a very nice hotel in a great location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Whether it was the guests we met during our stay or the history of this hotel, virtually everyone that we rode with on the elevator had a story about an uncle, parent, or grandparent who had stayed at this hotel and spent time at the Top of the Mark--some to get engaged or wed, others for dinner before heading overseas during WW II, and others about wives watching ships pass to sea on the way to war. The hotel is not new, but it is fresh and classic. The desk staff are wonderful and gracious. Located at the top of Nob Hill at the intersection of two cable car lines, it is just enough outside of the business and shopping districts to be quiet, but close enough to feel a part of the city. (It's a good location to catch a ride on a cable car early in the day; otherwise, have patience because they are crowded and often do not take on passengers.) The house restaurant is expensive (3 burger and fries dinners =$80); the service is hotel quality. Dining in the area is limited so come prepared to walk or cab to dine elsewhere. The Top of the Mark offers magnificent views of the city and changes in the weather. It is worth a stop as is the history of the site and that section of Nob Hill which is available in the lower level. The city is said to have micro-climates; in June, Nob Hill can be enveloped in a cold, very wet fog accompanied by brisk, cold winds, while downtown, the temperature is comfortable and dry. This occurred all four evenings we were there even though the days were comfortable and dry. Consider that if you pay extra for the higher floor rooms and pay extra for the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnergyCounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days prior to embarking on a cruise to Alaska. It was very nice and the room was very large, fabulous views over the city. Quite expensive given that breakfast is not included in the fee but there was a very nice diner nearby called Roxys that was very nice.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room with a bath, we had a room for a disabled person and all we had was shower, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel has been an Icon in the City since the mid-1920s. On a recent trip I took my older Mom who is a native San Franciscan. I won't give her age, but she remembers this place when it was nearly new and also knew a few members of the Hopkins family. So, we thought this would be perfect.

Well, just before arrival she re-injured her hip and was quickly unable to walk and in great pain. This was no way to start a stay at such a beautiful place. However, it's in an emergency like this were a great hotel really shows it's stuff. I went to George at the Concierge desk and the help was just unbelievable and just kept on coming. He got us a wheel chair in minutes, he called a house doctor who was well connected to the best hospitals and orthopedic surgeons in the City and he put the house Mercedes S Class and driver immediately at our disposal. With in 24 hours she had been X-rayed twice, examined, treated and released able to walk and in very little pain. We were back in action. Amazing!

While all of this happened, George made sure I was still able to contribute to the large professional meeting I was attending - which the hotel handled very well. The food was most excellent in all venues and the view from our room as well as the "Top of the Mark" was, well, worthy of a Hopkins.

I've stayed in the best hotels from Hawaii to Europe and from Alaska to the deep Caribbean. I would rank the Mark Hopkins at the "Top" of them all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here one night while attending business in the area. Wanted a hotel closer to financial district, but ones I was interested in were sold out.....
So glad I chose this property. Upon arrival, after walking up Nob Hill with luggage, I was greeted by very friendly staff and placed in a junior suite. I asked for complimentary water upon check in as I was quite winded and was given a cold bottle by front desk.
The room was amazing. Super spacious and clean. Very nicely decorated and nice amenities in the bathroom.
Bed was so comfortable and linens were super soft and crispy clean.
Bath towels were fluffy and soft, which I absolutely love!
I hated checking out of this hotel and moving to financial district next day.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Everything was perfect!
And for those complaining about wi-if, if you sign up for intercontinentals reward program, it's absolutely free!!!

Thanks so much for a great stay!

P.s. A great restaurant for dinner is venticello on Taylor Street! Super good Italian food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good points: I was able to book a deluxe king room at well below the SF market rate. When we arrived, they were out of deluxe king rooms so upgraded us to an executive room. Thus, we started out great - incredible price for a 4 star hotel in a great location - plus an upgraded room. The service staff is impeccable, they treat you like a king.

However, disappointment reigned after. I had to move the bed to get to an electrical outlet. I was horrified. Dirt and massive amounts of hair were on the carpet and baseboard behind the bed. It probably hasn't been moved since it was installed. On my night table was a bose sound system which is a nice touch. However, the unit is huge and it is bolted to the night table! For a 4 star hotel it seems awkward and insulting. For a $300+ per night hotel, they should treat their guests with more dignity than assuming they will steal a $150 alarm clock. It made me feel cheap.

While the bed was very comfortable, the rest of the room was old and worn out. The couch and chairs in the room were worn out, the arms were almost bare from use. Last, the elevator experience is not fun. They have only three for a large hotel, and they are old school small. If you are on a middle floor, it is very difficult to get on the elevator. The issue stems from their penthouse bar Top of the Mark, which is a tourist trap that eats up elevator usage. Also, this place has a $15 cover charge per person. I think the cover charge should be waved for hotel guests. What other hotel charges you for going into their bar?


All in all, the room issues made the hotel stay unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked. I assure you the reason for securing the Bose sound system is not because of theft, but for safety reasons. I am also disappointed to hear that you were charge a cover at Top of the Mark. We do waive this charge if it is made known that they are a guest in our hotel. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me at ICMarkHopkins@IHG.com. Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,

David Valencia
Assistant Manager – Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#14 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing