We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel, a bit dated, service excelence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel, a bit dated, service excelence”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights for a meeting. Rooms are relatively small(~312 sq feet) for a standard, a little larger for Deluxe. Small bathrooms but nicely appointed with tile. Showerhead was a high efficiency, low flow model. The towels were small and barely adequate. The lobby was spacious. The valet parking was the most expensive I had seen ever in the US at $60/night. The front desk staff were very polite and professional. This is a historic hotel for SF but you will have to accept small and dated rooms. Free WiFi for club members

Room Tip: Don't get a room adjacent to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    886
    372
    154
    74
See reviews for
439
952
135
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Coaster
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent a very quick night at the Mark, but the service as always was perfect. The room was comfortable and well appointed. However, try to get a room away from the street, as the windows are not double glazed and the noise from traffic and cable cars is quite loud.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's hard to decide whether this hotel is conveniently located or not. It definitely has incredible views, is well connected by public transportation, and is in the middle of Nob Hill, which is both a
blessing and a curse because Nob Hill is rather steep, and it has a cable car running right by it, which is charming but it also means you might hear the bell (I probably did but didn't realise; I'm used to the decibel level of Manhattan and don't notice city noises anymore).

It's an elegant, classic luxury hotel.
I had little contact with the staff on this trip, but all interactions were professional and pleasant and I definitely felt taken care of, and I recall past experiences at the hotel as friendly and fulfilling.
The concierge marvelously organised my transportation from and to the airport, and for some flowers to be delivered to the room before my arrival, and the Front Desk kindly checked me in early, honouring the membership upgrade.

My Suite had an old school feel to it. The cozy living-room would not have been out of place as an entertaining room in one of the old Railroad Barons' mansions.
The King bed was incredibly plush, with a wealth of cushions. The marble bathroom had separate bathtub and shower, and a wealth of prime amenities for both.
Housekeeping did an incredibly good job both during the morning clean and the evening turndown service.
The views both from the living-room and the bedroom were astounding.

I only had the chance to use the Club Lounge (located in the lobby) once, but it seemed spacious and comfortable, and had some nice looking finger-food to nibble on.
The Top of the Hill bar, which also provides the buffet breakfast, has breathtaking panoramic views. I would recommend a visit even for non-guests, just to enjoy the great mixology, the environment, and the sights.

For as long as I can walk up that hill, I'll be a faithful guest at the Mark Hopkins whenever I happen to be in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DanielKalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Second trip here in a few months. The location is excellent and the view from the room is good. The room is well laid out, with more than enough room for all my needs. The Keurig and toiletries were well stocked, the room very clean. Front desk staff were great - well trained in hospitality. Keeps me coming back

Room Tip: Upper floors with a view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2millionandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I wish that my experience was better here but unfortunately it left a lot to be desired. My cousin had a wedding in June here and I stayed here from Friday night to Sat for this event. Got a little discount because of the wedding but not that much. Rooms were blocked off for the wedding party so we got whatever was left of those blocked off rooms. Requested 2 beds beforehand because there was 3 of us sharing a room but when I checked in, I was told that there was none available. WTH! They expected 3 girls to share 1 bed...was offered a rollaway bed but not for free. It was going to cost $30 extra. Was not going to stress about this since the wedding weekend was stressful enough. When I got to the hotel, there was no one in the front...no greeting or assistance with my luggage. Got to the room and it was a nice room, not modern or anything but clean. It was pretty small. Had a view of the St Francis hotel and the church on the 4th floor. BTW, we did get a rollaway bed and I checked my bill and was not charged for it.

I will not go into details about how the customer service for the wedding but it was not as good as one would expect from a luxury hotel. And especially if we are paying a lot of money to have a wedding here.

As others have said, the customer service here needs a lot of improvement and this hotel is highly overrated. For the cost, I would not recommend staying here. With so many other hotels in the city, the choices are endless!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SXLEE57LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco. Please feel free to contact me at ICMarkHopkins@IHG.com should to wish to further discuss your recent stay. Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,

David Valencia
Acting Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I booked the Mark Hopkins, after I had stayed there on a business trip 2 years ago. And again it has been a great experience. We originaly planned to stay two nights, and we ended up extending our stay until our plane wss due 2 days later. The staff is very competent, helpful and friendly. The maid left a nice note of gratitude for the tip, and with one of the porters I had an interesting conversation about philosophy in America and Europe. David (?) at the reception desk patiently helped me figure out the best bargain for the extra nights we wanted to book. We enjoyed the benefits of a package including the (extraordinarily generous) breakfast, the valet parking, and a MUNI day pass incl the cable car, which conviently stops right in front of the hotel. Although we sometimes felt tempted to not even leave the room (on the 14th floor), with a great view (towards the Golden Gate Bridge). I am traveling a lot, and usually stay in 4 or 5 * hotels, thus, I know, what to expect. The Mark Hopkins really exceeded my expectations. Flawless. An awesome experience, and a memorable way to end our 3-week holiday in California. An extra plus is, by the way, that the windows in the guest rooms open, and that the WiFi is free of charge for IHG Reward Members.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LiA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My son had his reception at the Top of the Mark and it could not have been
better. The service was great, the food was great and what could be better than a birds eye view of San Francisco and the Bay area.
Take your own bottled water. A bottle of Water is $6.50 in the mini bar. . You can purchase
2 cases of water at Wallgreens for $6.50. There is a Waljgreens on every corner.

Room Tip: Famous older hotel but classy, It all seems good. Its a fun place to stay no matter what room i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kft1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,903 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,512 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,366 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing