We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel with gorgeous spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #14 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel with gorgeous spa”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was married at Grace Cathedral and stayed at the Huntington the night before. My room had views of the Cathedral and the park across the street which was lovely but the room itself was incredible. It was a suite filled with Chinese antiques. Because this hotel was a beautiful residential hotel at one time the rooms are much larger than the other hotels on Nob Hill which i checked out before i ma the decision to base my wedding guests at the Huntington. My family and friends rooms were also beautifully appointed and large I hung out at the pool and spa the day before and it was so modern and serene. The restaurant is excellent and has the feel of an old gentleman's club. All of the staff were attentive and added to the first class ambience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking California street for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    402
    102
    43
    24
See reviews for
185
708
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent 4 days, 3 nights in this fabulous hotel. Even though the hotel wasn't included in my booking.com reservation it was cheap and very affordable for excellent quality food. The staff, very international and friendly were great!

I was with my two brothers and parents. The hotel was family friendly, we had a very spacious bedroom (#611 if anyone is interested). Overall the stay was great and in a perfect location on Nob Hill. Easy walk to two cable car lines and great views of the city.

There was a tiny downside of the walls being very thin. I could hear everything in the room next door and it woke me up early in the morning. Probably because they were completely jet lagged being from France.

The SPA looked Great and i only heard good things about it. I didn't experience it personally but my brothers were definitely entertained!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickdyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband brought me here for my birthday,we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the restaurant they have on site, And then off to enjoy a wonderful massage.
The rooms were clean and had a beautiful view of the historical church across way. I would recommended this beautiful historical hotel to anyone who needs a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaligurl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine, ca.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

On top of Nob Hill, ask for a room overlooking the park and you'll have great views of Grace Caathedral, the Fairmont and old Mariners Club. The lobby is charming with old world flavor. The rooms haven't been remodeled and some may be small but you could spend your life in happy comfort in the huge suites. And the piano plays Gershwin in the clubby Big Four that serves drinks at reasonable prices. Probably the best value in the city if old and charming is your thing. Not for lovers of The W.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbIrvine_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
384 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stopped here several times now and have been most satisfied with the high standards. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff were most friendly and helpful and we had no problem getting our room early when we arrived from the UK. The bar is a wonderful place for a drink or a meal with its wood paneling and has a very pleasant atmosphere. The hotel is on nob hill which gives you a clue that its on a hill so I'm amazed that some find it necessary to mention it, perhaps they should avail themselves of the hotel gym.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

From our gracious greeting by the doorman (after an ill-considered walk UP Nob Hill) to the bellman offering us a complimentary pot of tea, our introduction to the Huntington was wonderful.
Our deluxe room was very large and well-appointed. Even though we were right next to the elevators, we never heard disturbing noises. A nice bonus is the windows that open!
The concierge could not have been more helpful, providing a BART schedule to plan our trip to the airport & and offering us the option of printing our boarding passes for us or directing us to the business center to do it ourselves. He also directed us to the closest ATM.
Finally, no stay would be complete without trying the Nob Hill Spa. As guests, we had complimentary use of the locker rooms, sauna, pool, hot tub & Zen Room. With a lovely view out over the city and the option of a spa menu, it was a relaxing way to spend our last afternoon in California. I can see why it is rated #1 in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel started life as a residential apartment building over 50 years ago. The very generously sized rooms reflect this earlier life and are a welcome contrast to the tiny rooms in newer hotels. The hotel is relatively well renovated with a few tired spots, but overall compares very well to any of the top rank traditional hotels.

We live in a Marin suburb and stayed here for a long weekend following some medical work. It was perfect. The staff was wonderful and accommodating in every way. Room service food, which I usually hate, was very good. The bar at the Big Four is quite wonderful and the bartender, Tay, is a master of good manners and grace.

There is the usual annoying charge for WiFi and an exorbitant charge for parking though in fairness all parking in the area is very expensive.

The spa is very pretty but the gym is tiny. The aerobic equipment is dated, there are not enough free weights and there are no mats for stretching and floor work. This is my only complaint about the hotel. There is a 24 hour fitness down the street at the Fairmount.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing