We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Life Savers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Wedding Life Savers”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed at the Huntington Hotel for my San Francisco wedding and everything was absolutely perfect. We had a park-view suite so that my bridesmaids could have plenty of space to get ready in the morning and many of our guests had regular guest rooms. Everyone LOVED their stay - especially the added perk of the use of the spa area. I worked with Meghann in Sales and she was a DREAM! She had every detailed covered and if I ever needed anything, I could ask Meghann and she'd respond in an instant. I loved staying there and would recommend the Huntington to anyone looking for an nice getaway in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Sales Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Tiffany,

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with both of you. Nothing means more than hearing how much you and Rich, your family, and friends enjoyed the weekend. Should you need anything at all in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back on your anniversary… or sooner, of course! Thank you again for choosing to spend your day with us, Tiff, and best wishes to you!

With warmth and hospitality,
Meghann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    409
    104
    43
    24
See reviews for
188
723
70
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Booked through Hotwire for a good price, and the service was immaculate. They offer a one way car service for one way trips, the front desk personnel is always available and helpful, rooms were spacious and charming, beds were great. Parking is $40 per day, but I think that's pretty standard within the city.

We generally don't stay in the city, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights, before heading back home. The Huntington has an old world sophisticated charm to it. Service was excellent, from bell hops to reception to the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent, with impeccable service. The room was mixed, but given the age of the hotel, the inadequacies ca be overlooked. There was a large wardrobe, great for hiding suitcases etc. The safe was small - couldn't fit some things in it. The bathroom was large by local standards, but the toilet was very loud when flushed, there was no bench space for toiletries and we had to leave things on the floor, and the shower head was only high enough for someone under 4 ft tall. The elevators were very slow, but you can forgive this as being part of a 1920s building. The room was warm but the corridors were a bit dark and crafty. We had a look at the pool, but it was quite small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I love this hotel. It has the charm of a historical property, but the amenities of a newer hotel. Even the elevator is charming. They have wine in the lobby in the early evening. It is in the heart of everything. The rooms are good size and the beds comfy. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Their rates are amazing for being right in the heart of San Fran.

Room Tip: Upper floor away, from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I appreciated the highly degree of renovation of this historical building. The quality of the service is one of the best in town.
Certainly the hotel where I will come back each time I will be in SF.
Carlo

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Had a wonderful stay in this beautiful Hotel with Victorian decor.The room was large and beautifully furnished. Staff were friendly and professional and went the extra mile to make the stay memorable.The piano bar with the open fire was a great place to relax each evening.Great location .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We loved our 3 night stay at The Huntington.
We arrived from a long flight from Australia and were given early check in without any fuss.The Junior Suite we had was HUGE and included a separate sitting room. The room was lovely with views of the city and out to the bay.
The location is very quiet and a good escape from the chaos of Union Square.
We only had one meal at the hotel which was a rather expensive breakfast and nothing special with stuffy staff.
Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra for a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,128 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,160 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing