We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel & amazing spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #14 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & amazing spa”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at the Huntington for 4nights as part of our honeymoon. We had a beautiful room overlooking the park. The rooms were very spacious and extremely clean. We didn't eat at the hotel as it was quite expensive and we wanted to experience more of SF. The restaurant & hotel bar looked quite dark with wood panelled wall and dim lighting which isn't really our 'cup of tea' but it looked quite cosy and the other guests seemed to enjoy it.
The Nob Hill Spa is beautiful and free to use for Huntington guests. You can use the swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna but treatments are additional and quite expensive. There is a balcony with sunbeds that have an amazing view over the city - we enjoyed a few hours of rest and relaxation!
The hotel is really central for Union square, Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz etc. The tram runs staright outside the hotel and the hotel have a chauffer driven car which is available for guests on a first come first service basis.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Huntington and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahford31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    402
    102
    43
    24
See reviews for
185
707
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

There were a few surprises around this one! Perhaps the biggest being that if we had paid the $375 rack rate demanded when we called to book, we'd have been somewhat underwhelmed. However, at the $165/night obtained via an internet booking site courtesy of Trip Advisor we felt more than comfortable with this slightly faded venerable old place at the top of Nob Hill by the cathedral. The entrance and entertainment areas are nice. However, once you get onto the accommodation floors, carpets are off-colour and rooms far from luxurious whilst more than adequate. Bathrooms are big with grand old marble sinks (his & hers!). We were shocked to find that our room was clearly designed as part of a suite and the gap under the joining door was big enough (over 1") to hear all speech, and more. God knows what the neighbours thought of us!
There's a useful small 'business centre' with computers and printers. The bar on the ground floor is all dark panelled wood with a lighted fire even in September and a tinkling pianist who although human seems to repeat himself like a loop tape. Adjoining, the restaurant is just as dark which is a bit off-putting at breakfast, but our queries as to whether there was a little daylight to help our psyches wake up were met with "Goodness me SIr, no. This is a VERY historic restaurant!". Actually the waiting staff couldn't have been more efficient or charming, and the cooking was great.
The facilities of the spa (pool, sauna, steam room, exercise room etc)) are available inclusive to hotel guests and its a great perk. Very nice indeed, if somewhat compact.
Overall, for lovers of the older style of hotel, this place will certainly please, but dont pay the full rate. And remember that, if on foot, you certainly wont need the spa's exercise room after the stiff climb up Nob Hill!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed here for 5 days in August, this is a fabulous hotel in a quiet location. We were upgraded in our room and it was huge. A separate seating area with a really comfy sofa, a massive bed. Large bathroom with double sinks and a separate toilet and bathroom. It was very clean, modern and tasteful. We had a turn down service every day and the extra bottles of water come in really useful.

The hotel is in a great location, its quiet, and a nice walk down to Union Sq, and Chinatown and a tram ride to Fishermans Wharf. Service was great, the doorman was helpful on arrival told us about all of the facilities. We used the pool a couple of times, the facilities are excellent down there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werena_song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

In town for a wedding and weary from a day of missed flights from the east coast, our first contact at the Huntington was the professional and friendly doorman and bell staff. Throughout our week there, they were, without exception, friendly, helpful and down to earth, calling us by name all week. I found myself tipping well and often. The hotel was built in 1926 by C.P Huntington, one of the "Big 4" railroad tycoons along with Hopkins, Stanford and Crocker. Having spent some of my career at Mr. Huntington's shipyard in Virginia, the choice was a natural for me. I was not disappointed. The hotel is historic, but updated in most respects. Smaller than the other Nob Hill hotels, the lobby is intimate and dining choices are limited to the "Big Four" Restaurant, highly rated by Zagat. Our dinner there was both very good and expensive...a "special occasion" venue unless on expense account. We also followed the doorman's recommendation of the Nob Hill Cafe, a quick 2 block (horizontal!) walk. Excellent choice with good food and reasonable prices. We booked one of the standard rooms through Expedia for $121 per night...a bargain by any standard. The King bed was comfortable and the room was immaculate. The bathroom looked newly renovated with wall to wall mirrors and a window that could be opened to let in the bay breezes. A caffeine addict, I was annoyed that there was no in-room coffee maker. Free coffee is available in the lobby only from 5-7 am...ok for the businessman, but not if you're on vacation. If you miss the deadline, it's $3 for an 8 oz paper cup in the restaurant. Internet access is $9.95 a day, ending at 1 pm. No free WiFi as I have become accustomed to. Another minor annoyance is the lack of ice machines. You have to call the bellman and have it delivered.. The minibar was empty, but I don't use those anyway...it was handy for storing leftovers. Another unexpected bonus...the Huntington has an agreement with Hertz rental car...your paperwork can be completed by the concierge and faxed to Hertz. And for an additional $20, you car will be waiting at the front door of the hotel and when returning, just hand the key to the doorman and walk in. Just make your reservation ahead of time to ensure there's a car available. Conveniently located on the cable car line ($5 per person), we found it more convenient to take a cab everywhere...$8 to Fisherman's Wharf and $10 to the Museum. The cabs are safe and the drivers the friendliest I have found. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and left feeling like friends rather than customers...everyone was so helpful from the front desk to the doorman to the housekeeper. Even as we were leaving at 3:30 am to catch our flight back home!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle70VirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The Hungtington Hotel is a beautiful, classy hotel. It has a tranquil and reserved atmosphere. We got a marvellous deal online and were apprehensive about the room we would get. It was stunning! I believe it is one which has not yet been renovated but we loved the decor and the space. The bathroom was a little dated (l'Occitane toiletries!) but the rest was super. Jetlagged, we were up by 5am and had the pool area to ourselves each morning.
I found the breakfast area and the bar decor a little dark but the food and service in both was superb.
This is a really lovely hotel. I would highly recommend it. Be warned - the climb from Union Square up to the hotel is almost vertical! U need to be super-fit/bionic to walk, so figure in the cost of cabs or cable cars when you choose to stay on the top of Nob Hill.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The Huntington should be rated much higher - definitely among the Top 3 hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is elegant, clean and updated. It doesn't feel or look like a run-of-the-mill commercial hotel nor is it akin to any of the hit-or-miss boutiques. It's really the best of both worlds - a clean upscale service hotel with the charm and hospitality of a small San Francisco boutique.

Take note of the wonderful staff at Huntington. The service staff are efficient and down-to-earth (a surprise on your pillow every night), and the doormen, bell and concierge are fantastic. When we arrived, the front desk gave us a warm welcome and even offered some great suggestions for a Hawaii vacation (plus we got an upgrade on our room!). The front desk (wish I had his name) was truly, truly wonderful and had a great personality.

The hotel's location is perfect. It's gracefully situated in the beautiful and quiet neighborhood of Nob Hill, one of the most desirable areas in the city. You can use car service to get around, but a cable car (the California) is right outside the front entrance, but China Town and Union Square are within walking distance. We had no trouble at all walking the steep streets of Nob Hill - it was actually quite fun and part of the whole San Francisco experience!

Our room overlooked Huntington Park and Grace Cathedral. Peet's Coffee is located in the Cathedral, and the famous Sears Fine Foods is not far. In the morning, you can join the Chinese for Tai Chi classes in the park, swim in the hotel infinity pool, or take advantage of the Yoga classes or other spa offerings at the hotel's Nob Hill Spa.

This is a great hotel. We researched dozens of hotels before happily finding The Huntington. If you've been researching the many hotels of San Francisco and are still undecided, I would say stop looking and book The Huntington now. Our stay at The Huntington was refreshing and made our whole San Francisco vacation enjoyable and relaxing. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeloTouristX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I'm guessing by the other reviews that there are good rooms in this hotel and bad ones. I was able to get a good room and was very pleased with my stay at the Huntington. I got a great deal on hotels.com ($99 on a $225 room), so I figured I would be in for one of the bad rooms. While checking in, I asked if it was possible to get a room with city views and I was given a complimentary upgrade. Our room was spacious (I've seen apartments that were smaller) with a sitting area, tv, desk, fridge, etc. The view was great! We could see Coit Tower from our window.

The hotel is at the very top of Nob Hill, which is one of those incredibly steep hills San Francisco is known for. Luckily there is a cable car stop right in front of the hotel and taxi's are an easy and affordable way to get around.

Nob Hill is a very quiet neighborhood with old world luxury hotel. The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins and the Fairmont are both in the same square as the Huntington. While these hotels are way more luxurious, the Huntington is a great bargain in a beautiful part of San Francisco.

There isn't much nightlife in Nob Hill, but there are two great hotel bars if you want to grab a drink after a long day of hill climbing and sightseeing. The Top of the Mark is a fabulous place with a lot of class and charm. They have nightly entertainment, and on the night we went there was a swing band. To my amazement, there was a large number of people out on the dance floor swing dancing (and these folks weren't messing around!). The couples ranged in ages from early 30's to late 70's. I felt like we had stepped back in time. We had some delicious martini's and even danced a bit, which was a lot of fun.

The other hotel bar that is great is Tonga at the Fairmont. They also have nightly entertainment - The Island Groove, which is a band that plays reggae and rock hits. Tonga is set up like a Tiki Hut with the stage for the band in the middle of pool. The cocktails are more island themed. I had a delicious banana daiquiri!

The Huntington has a hotel bar called the Big 4 which plays piano music. The scene was much more subdued there and it's very dark. We didn't go in, but it didn't look quite as lively as the other two bars in the area.

One last note on the parking - it's very expensive at the hotel! We parked at the Grace Cathedral garage across the street for $27/night (the hotel charges $40). You can drop your bags off at the front of the hotel and then self park to save yourself some money.

For the price we paid, I would definitely stay at the Huntington again. I don't know that I would recommend paying $225 a night though, since I'm sure you could find great deals for the money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newenglandchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing