We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, AWSOME service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I visited the Huntington Hotel in San Francisco in September during a surprise trip that my boyfriend prepared for me (in which, by the way, he proposed!!)

We arrived late at night on Sep. 13th and were received by a very nice gentleman who had the biggest smile in town. We got a suite - a veeery large suite - with a living and dining room, bar and the BEST view to the Huntington Park, Grace Cathedral and Nob Hill town.

Hotel is very well located and has an extraordinary view of the Nob Hill town and San Francisco bay. Rooms are very large and comfortable (or at least ours was), however they look a quite old for which, in such a good quality hotel, you would expect some more modern, fancy and well-equipped rooms. In the second day, the mirror closet door suddenly broke when we tried opening it - but after reporting the damage in the front desk, it was repaired.

The spa at the hotel is excellent. My fiance and I had a relaxing massage and spent some time at the pool. Service is very good and facilities are super clean.

During our stay, we wanted to visit the vineyards and wineries along Napa and Sonoma region, so decided to rent a car and went driving up there. It happened that, during our stay, there was an Oracle congress going on in the city which had all rooms and cars occupied among all San Francisco city. It was incredible there was not a single car for rent available in the whole city - even though we tried with American Express Travel Services and all the car-rental companies in town. We were very disappointed for not having the chance to visit these places in our trip, however, the concierge at the hotel helped us and got a Toyota Corolla for us in rent in just an hour. Next day at 10 AM we had the car and the bell boy with the keys at the hotel's door waiting for us!!!.

Our stay at the hotel was very nice. We only had a bad experience with a bell boy who was being rude with guests - not opening the door and arguing with his partner in front of us. Besides that, we had a very nice stay and received an excellent service at the hotel and the restaurant (continental breakfast was included in our suite rate).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waffle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding so that I could have a relaxing spa day at Nob Hill Spa. Nestled in swanky Nob Hill, I have to say that the hotel was everything I imagined and more. When I checked in they promptly gave me warm towels and knew that the service would be great. They upgraded me to the top suite and it was amazing! The views were beautiful and the room was classic and elegant (*think: prewar/ traditional/ San Francisco). The direct access to the spa was convenient and also a perfect way to spend the morning of my wedding. *HIGHLY recommend a massage at the spa* I would say the only downside was that the bathroom could have been more updated. Overall- my experience at Huntington Hotel and Spa was lovely and could not ask for anything better!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Ever stayed some place where everyone is your grandpa's age? Ever wondered where people that wear those old colorful patterned winter sweaters hang out? Well look no further. They can all be found at Huntington Hotel in Nob Hill.
From the bar to the elevator to the rooms, the Huntington hotel reeks oh i mean exudes old San Francisco. The location is not bad being that it's right across from Grace Cathedral, The Fairmont, and Mark Hopkins. The room view is gorgeous if you can manage an upper floor. My room was bright, spacious, clean, and right across from the elevator (try to avoid this). Since the building is old, the walls are a bit thin. My room had a large gap under the door to the adjoining room and i heard everything. Guests can use the general spa facilities like the steam room, sauna, pool, and hot tub. Try to avoid the hot tub until they decide to clean it as you'll notice a few things floating on the surface typically found in your own bathtub. Eew! If you choose to park at the garage by the hotel, be prepared to by $45 a day. Ouch! Try to have a drink at the bar as the bartender is fabulous and makes great drinks. The hotel has a very small lobby and bar area which is really not that conducive to hanging out. But if you feel like hanging out with grandpa, you might just wanna stay!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelingmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Not the best experience, overpriced and had a voodoo doll hanging from sprinkler when I arrived in my room. strange.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bdangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Wonderful old fashioned, plush leather, intimate bar with characters serving and a talented pianist.
Good room and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highrollerreefing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Huntington Hotel is a real gem. I found myself planning my next visit as I was walking out the door to my taxi. Located in the beautiful Nobb Hill district the hotel is a short walk from Union Square, Chinatown, and within easy reach of all SF's greatest sights. The spa was absolutely wonderful and the rooms were romantic and beautifully adorned. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I am a Bay Area local. I recently stayed at the Huntington Hotel for a romantic couple of days with my squeeze. I had been to the Nob Hill Spa (which is top notch) many times before, but had never stayed at the hotel. The setting is warm and welcoming. The location is perfect for a stroll, shopping, and views of the city. The Big Four Restaurant has an old world charm (dark wood, cozy) with good (not great) food. The staff was friendly, though a bit less polished than you'd expect from a luxury hotel. We stayed in one of the lesser expensive rooms. The price was right, so I didn't feel particularly robbed when the refrigerator and one of the phones did not work. One thing to note for those watching costs, parking your car in the garage is $39/night. Being a local, I'm not sure if most of these hotels charge like amounts. The valet service, though, was swift and easy. They seem to put most of their resources in the spa. If you stay here bring your swimsuit. You'll want to relax by the pool to get the full benefit of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,379 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,366 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,178 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £234 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing