We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #18 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The location of this hotel could not be better. Right on Union Square. It is extremelly convenient.

The hotel is a bit old fashion, but this did not disturb us at all even if we normally like modern hotel. The room are very clean, the staff very friendly, the price reasonable for what you get in SF.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. i would definitively recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrauniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,379 - 3,385 of 5,397 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

From beginning to end, our recent stay at the Chancellor Hotel in San Francisco was absolutely wonderful. Being that this was our fifth stay at the Chancellor, we felt an immediate “at home” sensation as soon as we walked into the lobby. It was like seeing old friends again. The warm welcome we received from Susie and Matt, in particular, was comforting after a long, trying day of travel from the east coast.

Our room on the fifteenth floor overlooking Powell Street was fabulous. Being able to sleep with windows open in June was quite a treat for folks from North Carolina. Each night we went to sleep to the sound of cable cars and street musicians. This was quite a delightful experience and added to the charm of the nation’s most beautiful city.

During our stay, we enjoyed several drinks at the hotel bar and several breakfast meals at Luque’s Restaurant. Allysia and Rorie made fabulous cocktails and were always a joy to converse with during televised sports events. Mao and Yesmie were terrific hosts in the restaurant and helped us get each day off to a great start.

Our accomodations were immaculate, a testimonial to the great housekeeping staff of the Chancellor. They always went over and beyond expectations to make sure we never lacked for anything.

Part of our visit to San Francisco included the opportunity to see the defending World Series Champion Giants, while taking advantage of the Chancellor’s baseball package. The seats were incredible, located nineteen rows above the Giants bullpen in field level seating. We were able to take great photos of Tim Lincecum and Brian Wilson as they warmed up before entering the game. What made an exciting baseball game even better was the Giants victory over the Minnesota Twins. We do love our Giants, even though it is sometimes difficult to follow them on the east coast.

We will never, never, never consider staying anywhere but the Chancellor when we visit San Francisco and hope to be able to do so in future years. Until next time, thanks for everything Wes and staff!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired Educator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

beautiful location. few block walk to china Town. Across from Francis Drake
hotel. All large department stores with a two block area. Plenty of restaurants. Good one in hotel for bkfst or lunch. Room small and bathroom
small, closet big but location great. Staff was outstanding. You could take
cable car to Wharf but we took taxis - cheaper. Got hotel from priceline and that also made it a great trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntjudy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Locality close to Union Square gives this place an edge on many others as this is the main shopping area in San Francisco.
It's not a new establishment but it's well maintained. Though others have lamented the smallness of rooms we didn't find it so because, in addition to the fact that there are two large beds in the main room, they have another room where you can store all your luggage and hang your clothing so that they don't clutter the space you mostly use like happens in other hotels.
There's a writing desk and internet access (free, ask at desk for password).
My only gripes were that you couldn't make a cuppa in your room, but that's common to the majority of hotels in America, and I felt that some of the staff were a bit lacking in skills.
It seemed that some of the senior staff were excellent but others could have been more efficient and friendly.
Parking, just around the corner, was very convenient, bearing in mind that you're in a major city.
Overall, if you're looking for a good hotel in a prime location, I would suggest this one is a definite possibility.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great location, good service, freindly staff, great little bar to get started before heading out for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meclif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

If you want to shop in SF, look no further. Hotel is on Union Square. Hotel is exactly what I was looking for. I like staying in five star hotels just like anyone would, and this hotel is not a five star hotel. But, if you are generally an easy going, non high strung person not irritated that something is not 'perfect' and brand new- this is a great hotel on Powell St. where the cable cars run and close to everything we wanted to do. Room is smallish but so what- all I did was sleep there. How much room beside the bed do you need? Bathroom has a shower, sink, and toilet. They all were clean and functioning. What else do you need? Breakfast was convenient and tasty.

Bottom line: if you don't need a five star hotel in SF then you don't have to pay for one and can still have a great room at a great price (with add-on parking I would suggest). Loved the uniqueness and boutique feel. Keep doing what your doing Chancellor. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlr2011a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thank you. I hope others will read the review and it will help them make the right choice. I think these folks hit the nail on the head.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Location location location. Extremely clean. Comfy beds. Nice linen & pillows. 'Boutique' covers description of decor but still old fashioned. Lovely service at breakfast. San Fran weather is unpredictable so lack of air con a non issue. Bathroom was dated but spotlessly clean. Would defo recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,577 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
629 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £137 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing