We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Even better the second time around!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Hubby and I just got back from San Francisco after celebrating my birthday and our wedding anniversay and the Chancellor made it even more special! Check in was fast and our room was ready and waiting for us. We even had the same room that we had during last year's trip! When we opened the door we found a bottle of champagne, 2 wine glasses, a small box of chocolates, a picture frame and a card! It was so nice, we couldn't believe it!

The room was clean and slightly chilly(it was raining when we arrived in SF), so I pulled the heater out of the closet, pluged it in and turned it on. We kept it on until the next morning and put it back in the closet. It kept the room at a nice temperature and we were satisfied. From that point on we kept both windows open.

We enjoy being able to grab a cup of coffee and cookies on our way in or out! Breakfast in the restaurant was always good and a good value. Sometimes we would go downstairs and just sit, it was nice and relaxing!

The staff at the Chancellor are nice and are always willing to help you if you have questions or need something. The Chancellor is a great place to stay, we have never heard any voices, etc coming from the other rooms, it is always quiet. I like going to sleep to the sound of the cable cars, people out and about and an occasional musician playing in Union Square!

Wes and his team at the Chancellor made our short time in San Francisco just that much more enjoyable and we can't wait to come back for our regular trip in September.

Thanks to Wes and everyone at the Chancellor for making my birthday and our wedding anniversary so special!

Room Tip: For a view of Union Square, choose a room on a higher floor facing Powell Street. Choose a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harveysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    1,950
    332
    47
    18
See reviews for
595
2,699
345
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The Chancellor meets my highest standards for both comfort and convenience. I prefer to arrive in the city via BART and walk to this hotel, since personal vehicles are just not very practical for city use. (Underground parking, though pricey, is also close-by.) Besides, extensive public transit stops are less than 1 block from this hotel, with easy connections everywhere. Even the Powell Street cable car up Nob Hill and on to Fishermen's Wharf stops almost in front. Availability and best rates at this classy small hotel require booking early. Their clean, well-appointed rooms and first-rate bedding ensure sound sleep for all.

Room Tip: For any special requests, book ASAP. The Chancellor fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edw-ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great location. Freindly welcoming staff. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed.
Decent sized room.
A "Pillow Menu" where you can select from about 12 different types of pillow.
Matt the doorman was particularly helpful, along with Sang ? on the Tour desk.
Lots of nice little touches which make all the difference ( an umbrella hanging inside the wardrobe, the little jar of Mints, and not forgetting the little souvenir plastic duck in the bathroom )
Would recommend the Chancellor to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you very much!

Only thing I would say...Please don't recommend the Chancellor to "anyone." Only recommend it to special people like you that appreciate a simple, historic, 3 star, boutique hotel that tries to provide great service with little touches right on Union Square.

Thanks again. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel is definitely old, but they have refurbished it in a modern style. If you are someone who wants to be in the center of town and in the action this hotel is perfect. The rooms have been updated with modern furnishings and the bathrooms with new fixtures. I loved the hotel and would stay everytime I come to SF. But if you are someone who does not like a small room or small bathroom this may not be for you.

Room Tip: I think the higher you get the better view you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithnofear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Located on the cable line and 2 blocks from the MUNI, walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Older hotel but maintained very well, comfortable beds and pillows with a menu of alternative pillow options. Breakfast at the hotel is cost effective and the chef can cook! Each ay fresh cookies and apples are available in the lobby. Coffee and tea are also in the lobby. Concierge is very knowledgable. Street noise, ie cable car bells, and an evening trumpet player at Union Square, is bearable even on the 3 rd floor, as it is so San Fran! We had a big walkin clothes closet and nice bath tub.

Room Tip: Phone and talk to someone. Higher is likely quieter, but the stairs were convenient too. With wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Was a wonderful hotel to stay at..Might be a bit more pricy then some but is in the center of EVERYTHING...Really good room...awsome view...clean.Wonderful service...All in all..would for sure go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this small gem located right on Union Square. Built in 1914, this hotel has had impressive upgrades since then. Our room on the 11th floor was smaller, but cozy for the two of us. The decor of the room was very nice and modern, and much nicer than a recent Hyatt stay we had. The staff, especially the bellman, were terrific and very accommodating and led us to a great nearby Sushi restaurant. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable, clean hotel in the heart of the city, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,870 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing