We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #18 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We arrived at the Chancellor Hotel around 1pm after a 14hr flight exhausted. We where told our room was not yet available and check in was at 3pm. We then explained our situation and the great lady on reception got a room sorted out for us in around 20mins. Fantastic !!!!!

We caught the BAHT train from airport ( $8.30) to powell street station. It was around a 25min trip and the Chancellor was a slightly inclining 10-15min walk from there.

The rooms as stated prior are a little older, in particular the bathroom but they are in immaculate condition and spotlessly clean. We got a great deal and were more than happy. If i could fault anything it would be the poor water pressure in shower and no bar fridge in room ( seems to be a common thing however in american hotels)

Hotel was well connected to all transport options and the travel agent at hotel sold us a 3day transport card for $21. Great value considering a single trip on trolley which runs right up powell street in front of hotel is around $5+.

Did not eat at hotel restaurant so cannot comment on that but we did eat breakfast next door. There was a line up to get in every morning which is usually telling you something.

Macys shopping was a stones throw away as well us other shopping options like westfields etc.

We really enjoyed our stay

One slightly disappointing thing which is no reflection on hotel is the amount of beggars in San Francisco in particular Union Square. At times in becomes quiet relentless corner to corner etc etc. We are a very well travelled couple and have never seen anything like that !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balmainboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,811 - 2,817 of 5,340 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

A very welcoming hotel with free cookies and coffee in the lobby and friendly and helpful staff. Great location next to Union square with cable cars running past the door. Very comfortable room - no air con, but it was no problem with a ceiling fan and the windows slightly open. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room at the back on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

You can't find a better choice for a Union Plaza location hotel in this price range. The staff is great and you have a Tour Desk, cozy bar, and restaurant on site. Coffee and cookie treats in lobby. You have to remember this is a loveingly restored historic hotel and cut it a little slack in your "Modern Eyes" inspection. Yes you will see exposed iron work here and there, and the elevator isn't a speed racer with open glass shaft. There might be a warmer sleeping night due to the lack of air, but flip on the ceiling fan and enjoy the street noise with a crack in the window. Just remember that it might have been built by the same workers that built that big golden bridge in town, and enjoy the history.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank KenGrantsPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you! I could not have said it better myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a perfect stay at this hotel. The location on Powell Street at Union Square was ideal and our high floor room had a great view. The only minor issue we had was that the coffee in reception was frequently cold or out ! An excellent start for our California holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I've stayed quite a few times and while the elevators and slow and a couple of the reception staff aren't very friendly, I have enjoyed the clean comfortable rooms and nothing beats the location. Parking is a short walk. Loading and unloading in front of the hotel is not easy but one only does that upon arrival and departure. Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for the review and constructive criticism. Your stay was back in April and I admit we have had some staff changes and training issues that have hurt our consistency. I think we have made some progress and there will be a difference on your next visit.

I would like to say in our defense that compared to other 3 star hotels around us, our parking and elevators are above much of the competition. First, regarding the elevators: We have TWO elevators that are faster than the ONE elevator many of the others have around us. With regard to the parking: There are very few boutique hotels in the Union Square Area that have parking closer than a block away. And, even though a hotel may have a lot that is adjoining or close to the hotel, you may still have to drive several blocks from the hotel to get there because of the one way streets just like our guests must. However, we do offer two options for parking -valet and offsite - unlike several others. Some hotels you don't have a choice. They offer valet OR offsite - we offer a choice.

I looked through your contributions and in 249 reviews, there is one 5 dot score, and that was for a lake. You appear to be a tough critic so I appreciate the 4 dot score. When you come back, if you don't notice a difference in the staff and feel we are excellent, please let me know. I want to be the first hotel to get a 5 dot rating from you.

Thanks and I look forward to serving you again.

Wes Tyler
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We reviewed many of the trip advisor reports on the various hotels in San Francisco around the Union Square area and this one had the best reviews. It lived up to the reviews in that it was an old hotel but very clean and comfortable with great staff. The lobby was warm and friendly and although the hotel doesnt offer tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms it always had them available downstairs with fresh complimentary biscuits and fruit. You stepped out the hotel and you were on Union Square, the cable car went past the door and for the shoppers amongst us, Macys, Victorias Secret, etc are right there. Take an extra suitcase! We cycled over the Golden Gate bridge (in our early 60's and not bike riders) and just found this Hotel and the whole SF experience wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baxda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I booked the hotel based on it's location and good reviews on tripadvisor. Its a nice hotel, great staff, I didn't know the hotel is 100 years old, but you can see it's a bit rough around the edges, the halls, and the elevators look like you've gone back in time. The bed was extremely comfortable and they had a list of body pillows you can request for free, which i thought was awesome! We were there in June when the weather was in the 80's and the room didn't have air conditioning only a ceiling fan which was uncomfortable for me because i need to sleep in the cold. I really liked Rory he checked us in as well as tended bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,744 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,088 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £100 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing