We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced, clean and elegant in heart of San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well priced, clean and elegant in heart of San Francisco”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel is ideally situated and well priced for any traveller to San Francisco.

We arrived a little jet lagged and confused after disembarking from the BART at Powell.
The hotel is located a short stroll from the Powell Street / Market Street public transport station up the hill, past Macy's on Powell Street about 1 block from Union Square. You can't miss it.

In terms of location you couldn't get any better. The hotel is in the heart of Downtown San Francisco city. It has easy access to restaurants, coffee shops and public transport which provide easy access to all major attractions in San Francisco. At Powell and Market Street you can catch the street car to Embarcadero or the MUNI and BART to all other major areas. The Cable Car runs right outside the hotel although I would recommend any traveller catch the Cable Car a few blocks down the hill rather than outside your hotel as you're more likely to actually get a seat.

A Walgreens Pharmacy and Starbucks is located within 1 minutes walk and a Loris Diner is nearby. Nob Hill is a short 5 minute walk up the hill with access to local shops and restaurants. A coin laundry is about 5 minutes walk up to Nob Hill and around the corner.

The hotel is a very well maintained older building with a charm and elegance of its own and all the features of a modern hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was located on the 10th floor. It was very clean and tidy and relatively spacious. It was equipped with a nice table and 2 chairs, wardrobe (closet) with more than enough spaces for bags, luggage and to sit down.

The bed was Queen sized and is one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Definitely easy to sleep here. The curtains are black out and the pillows comfortable. Sheets were clean and changed daily.

The bathroom was sized for one only but had all the features required including toilet, mirror, basin and good sized bath / shower.

From what I have read the place has had a recent renovation and the green and brown really suits the hotel.

There is also a bar and restaurant on the bottom floor. While we didn't make use of the bar, the downstairs restaurant was reasonably priced and breakfast was quite good and service adequate. As good as the adjoining famous Sears Fine Food.

Our room was cleaned daily and the staff at the tour desk were very helpful in booking tours or with directions.

The place also has free wi-fi which was easy to connect to, fast and reliable.

Given the age of the building, the room does not have A/C. In the middle of summer, I didn't find this a problem and given San Francisco's history of a pretty consistent temperature all year around I found the temperature in the room comfortable. If you had a few long hot days, it may get little warm although you can open the windows for some fresh air.

For the price, I find it very hard to fault this hotel and would happily stay here again and recommend to others visiting San Francisco. Worth the 5 stars.

Room Tip: Following recommendations on trip advisor, we asked for a non smoking room, higher up and not fronti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ethornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    1,982
    338
    47
    18
See reviews for
611
2,738
348
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I came to SF with no expectations and little understanding of what the city was like. The Chancellor gave me the best opportunity to see the best of SF without me fumbling around like an idiot. Amazing location to great shopping, excellent food, and easy tours, the weekend I spent at the Chancellor was all but perfect. I couldn't have asked for nicer people to wait on me, either at the front desk, the restaurant, or the bellmen. It was amazing. Wouldn't hesitate a second to go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Chancellor earns its 4* rating mainly because of the terrific location it has in San Francisco, combined with the fact that it is reasonably priced compared to other similar hotels in the area. Next to this, the staff is great and service oriented, the WIFI works well and the hotel is clean, although quite old and old fashioned in some ways.

Our reservation did not include breakfast, but you get a discount voucher for the breakfast served in Luques Restaurant which is located in the hotel. Good breakfast, but still quite expensive though.

A nice touch of the hotel is that you can get free (drinkable) coffee and tea in the lobby, with home made cookies, for the whole day and part of the evening. In our opinion this beats the coffee machines you sometimes find in your hotel room. Far more convenient :-)

The negatives are the age of the hotel and interior (especially bathroom), the relatively small size of the standard rooms and the small bed we got in the room. Also we resided on the 4th floor, and with the cable car running through Powell Street whole day and part of night, sometimes it is rather noisy. On the other side this is something you encounter when you stay in the middle of the city, so we didn't bother much.

We had a good time in the Chancellor, and doubt whether there are many other SF hotels offering the same value for money. We would return when in San Francisco again.

Room Tip: When you like to get some sleep after strolling through the city whole day, you should aim for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmenemNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chancellor last week for the start of our California trip and loved it. The location is perfect - right in front of many cable car stops, and not nearly as crowded as Fisherman's Wharf. The staff were great, and our room was nice and clean. As others have mentioned, this hotel does not have A/C, but that should not be a problem for anyone, as the cool temperatures and constant breezes keep the room cool - this coming from somebody who absolutely cannot sleep if the room is warm.

Honestly, there were only two issues that I had with the hotel, and they are both minor at best. First, the shower head in the bathroom was very low for me. I'm 6'2", and basically had to duck to wash my hair. Not a big deal. The other issue was that the elevators are excruciatingly slow (I'm also impatient). Again, no big deal.

We enjoyed our stay, and would absolutely stay at Chancellor should we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The location is great and the staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge/tour desk/whatnot shop is convenient and is efficiently run. The place is very popular with tourists, and unfortunately this sometimes creates awkward moments such as the two obviously drunk older British women knocking on my door at 2 AM and cussing me out for not being the person/room they wanted. My thoughts went to Mrs. Slocombe and Mrs. Axleby, but I digress. I called the front desk and they handled the matter quite tactfully. It is definitely more of a tourist hotel than a business-oriented hotel. The only complaint I had is that one of the bartenders didn't know what a Manhattan cocktail was, but that was easily resolved. Four night stay in downtown SF at a great location for an excellent rate. Wth the exception of the drunks and the inexperienced bartender, I give it four stars out of five. I would a half-star if the bartender reads up on classic cocktails.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 6/7/8/9 are on the back side of the hotel and are quiet. Rooms facing Powell are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Vale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The Chancellor is a warm family owned hotel in the heart of Union Square. It is immaculate and very well run. Homey touches such as a bowl of apples, home baked cookies, coffee and teas in the lobby abound. The Concierge Desk has been run by the same people for many years, and they are very helpful and competent. This is the hotel for you if you are not interested in a sterile chain hotel. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but is well appointed with a comfortable bed and a pillow menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptpRiverVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is in a great neighbourhood surrounded by lots of restaurants, shops and transportation.The area is very safe and is perfect for travelling around to see San Francisco and for shopping!
The hotel staff are very friendly and polite. The hotel offers a bar and restuarant which are reasonably priced with good food, drinks and service. The hotel also provides complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits in the lobby 24/7.
Our room was a good size and has recently been renovated. It was comfortable, clean and warm. There is no aircon but you honestly do not need it as the windows provide enough cool air. The only negative about the room was the bathroom it was a bit outdated and being 5'9 I had to duck quite a bit to wash my hair.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 229 in San Francisco
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,777 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing