We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #17 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is right in Union Square !! The location is Great !! The entire staff was helpful and cheerful at all times . It is very clean and a great value ! I would definitely stay there again . You can walk everywhere from there and the trolley is right outside the door . I can't really think of a negative I experienced ..... Perfect San Francisco choice

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank catherine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,285 - 2,291 of 5,338 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We enjoyed our recent visit to San Francisco and the stay at the Chancellor. The hotel is in a great location, right on Union Square. We were able to easily walk to the piers, the wharf, the ferry building, Chinatown. Public transit is very accessible: both the trolley and BART are only blocks away.

The building is a little dated and the room we had was tiny, basically my wife or I could move around but not both of us. But, that's life in the city.

We had a drink at the bar one night, and had to wait about 10 minutes for the bartender to appear. The bar is quite small and nondescript. We didn't dine in the restaurant.

The staff was fine, not overly friendly or helpful but not rude either.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and have no complaints about the hotel. It was pretty pricy for what we got, in my opinion, and had few amenities or highlights besides location to justify staying there. I don't quite understand the extremely high ranking it has on tripadvisor. You could definitely do worse, and I think there are more interesting options in the city if you look hard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was braced for a "boutiquey" hotel with really old bath tubs and sinks based on the other reviews I read. By "boutiquey" I mean, barely-able-to-walk-around-the-bed-small. Not the case.

We were pleasantly surprised as the room had a decent amount of space for being in Union Square SF and we had a queen bed and really clean, comfortable bedding with a decent view of the city. For me, it comes down to cleanliness and comfort.

I think this was a steal compared to some of the prices for the other hotels in the area. Also, very centrally located. An 8 minute walk to BART, 20 minute walk to the Ferry Terminal and the Powell Street Cable car is literally in front of the hotel.

And while the tub was not brand new, it was clean and way deeper than what I have at home so it was nice to relax in after a long day of walking.

Service was excellent, although we didn't need much. We never heard any other guests even though our room was near the elevator and there were plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: You can hear the "performers" in Union Square playing instruments at night. If this would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

It is all about research and the proper expectation to enjoy the Chancellor Hotel and have a great experience in San Francisco.

For some, our rooms are so small they have to check out immediately. For others, they are just fine. If you prepare for the worst, you will be pleasantly surprised with us.

Our rates are pertty good during peak times compared to our competitors. We are a 3 star, historic hotel with some quirks and blemishes, but a great value when all things are considered in a great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great affordable option in the heart of the city. We stayed at the Chancellor as part of our honeymoon to Yosemite National Park and San Francisco. After reading previous TripAdvisor reviews, we knew what to expect. They have a great restaurant and bar right in the lobby. We appreciated the fast and friendly service of everyone from the front desk, tour desk and bar and restaurant staff. The room worked perfect for us. The location was great, with the trolley stop at the doorstop. We received a champagne amenity and congrats on our marriage which was a nice touch. We did not use the pillow menu but did enjoy the daily water and cookies in the lobby. We had a room on the eighth floor which faced Powell Street. Yes there was a lot of street noise when the window was open, but this is expected in any big city especially with a building as old as the Chancellor. Would definitely return if ever in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobben15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

San Francisco is a beautiful city and my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Chancellor Hotel. The location being steps from Union Square is perfect for tourists, whether or not you want to stay in the Union Square area or venture out. There are a number of bus stops within walking distance from the hotel if you want to explore other areas of the city, and the hotel tour desk will happily direct you as to the correct bus/BART route.

Aside from the location, my husband and I loved the hotel since it was quiet, the bed was comfortable enough, and the room was clean. The bathroom and provided towels were pretty tiny, but that's to be expected in the city and it was more than adequate. A feature that we both really appreciated was that the doors had a slow close, so they didn't slam whenever someone walked into their room. We've stayed at other hotels where we've heard doors slamming shut all through the night.

Overall, a lovely stay with a friendly staff. The complimentary WIFI, coffee, tea, water, and cookies didn't hurt either :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights and the location is just perfect (near plays and museums and cable cars runs right in front of hotel). Rooms are very comfortable and CLEAN. We appreciated the tea, coffee, water, cookies and apples that were always available before we went out and returned to the hotel. This hotel has access to an excellent fitness center (even has a swimming pool). Staff are very friendly and professional and we will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in the hotel from May 6 thru 9th, 2013. We were very pleased with the choice. First of all the location, just off Union Square was perfect for us. We could catch the cable car right in front of the hotel and then connect with a Muni bus to go wherever we wanted. Our main purpose for the trip was to visit the de Young museum (a terrific Dutch painting exhibit from The Hague) and the Legion of Honor Museum in a different part of the city. Both were easily reached by the Muni system. The hotel sold us an unlimited pass for the Muni public transportation system which gave us a cost savings as well as very helpful convenience. The hotel also gave us a recommendation for a 5-hour city tour which was informative and a fun and relaxed way to take in the touristy sights of the city.

The hotel itself is an old structure that has been nicely refurbished. The lobby is very attractive with complimentary coffee, tea and newspapers. Wi-Fi also free. And don't miss the free warm cookies. The clerk helped us print boarding passes and recommended an airport shuttle service for a reasonable cost. Our room (1100) was small, but spotlessly clean with everything we needed for comfort. The hotel is not air conditioned, but our room had a ceiling fan (we didn't need it) and slider double pane windows you could open a bit for outside air if needed. We were two steps from the elevator, but there was no trouble with noise. With our window open there was some street noise, but not enough to bother us.

The hotel has a good restaurant, but we really enjoyed breakfasts in a restaurant right next door.

We found this hotel to be safe, clean, conveniently located and staffed with helpful people, all for a very affordable price. We traveled with friends who had rooms on two different floors. All were very satisfied with the accommodations. We would choose the Chancellor again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you. When someone appreciates a historical structure, we can be a great choice when visiting San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,742 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £104 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing