We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical property with up-to-date amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was traveling for business and arrived at 11pm. I was greeted by the front desk clerk and off to my room on the 14th floor. To my surprise I was in a suite! It was so neat to be in a historic hotel that had first class amenities. Wonderful coffee maker, fridge, 2 big TV's, a walk in closet, 2 bathrooms with very nice shampoo, a super deep tub, bath salts and a rubber duckies! The room was great! I didn't have time to check out the rest of the hotel or area but I will for sure stay here next time I am in SF - I will always try to stay at historic hotels from now on as you can feel the history of SF while being in your room.

Room Tip: The Suites are nice and bigger than the other rooms - I hear some floors are haunted :)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,278)
There are newer reviews for Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,976 - 1,982 of 5,278 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

As most travelers do these days, I read lots of reviews before booking this hotel. So I knew to expect the lack of air-conditioning which (in September) was not at ALL noticeable. The temperature was perfect. The room was small-ish but well appointed, very clean and everything we needed including a small fridge for restaurant leftovers and some morning juice purchased at the nearby Walgreen's. Staff was super. They even stored our luggage all day as we had a red-eye late night flight to the east coast. And what is NOT to LOVE about the location....PERFECT!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was really only to be used as a base camp so wasn't expecting to much. But to our surprise is was a lovely hotel. Ok so the rooms are not the biggest but we were in San Fran and were never spending much time in there anyways.
Perfect spot right on Union sq near some great restaurants and bars and right near he bus stop for the your buses. We did both the night tour and day your both were good fun and the guides were excellent.
The hotel rooms were clean and tidy and the staff very good indeed Esp the lady in the bar she was very helpful. There is also a little office downstairs where you can book trips etc. Tea water and cookies are available 24/7. And free wifi.
Can I recommend ENO a wine and cheese bar just round the corner - amazing.
Overall the staff were brilliant the venue perfect for what we wanted. Can totally recommend this hotel. ;-)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

When people book the Chancellor Hotel not expecting much, we usually do pretty well.

Thanks! Congratulations on your marriage and come back for an anniversary visit someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Great location. Close to Union square. Clean. We had a view to Powell st. So it was a little bit noise
The internt is free. Hot water and cofee, cool water and cookies for free in the loby.
Comfortable bads.
Walgreen right nest to it,
We had a good experience in this hotel, will comeback

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shula_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I think this was our 5th time staying at the Chancellor - since 2007. It is the only place we will stay in San Fran. Everyone is just wonderful. They take very good care of you, the food is great and cannot say enough about the ambiance. It is ideally located for whatever you plan on doing while there. It is definitely not one of the big name, corporate, box hotels - THANK GOODNESS!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter if you like to sleep with the windows open.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was absolutely delighted with the whole feel of this hotel - it had that "old time" feel in terms of the architecture and intimacy but our standard room was 5-star in comfort and cleanliness. Be aware that the rooms are on the small side, as were the elevators, the lobby, etc - but all the amenities desired for a comfortable stay were there and it was such a refreshing atmosphere - not another sterile Mariott or Hyatt. I loved the cookies and citrus water available in the lobby. They had an intimate magic/story telling show that we thoroughly enjoyed. This was our first visit to San Francisco, and we found the location to be ideal. And the staff were all friendly and professional.

Room Tip: The trolley line runs along the facing street, and if you want to sleep with the window open, since...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TUTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is located right on Union Square. We were on the 12th floor on the side directly facing the square. It was an amazing view at night with either someone playing the trumpet or bag pipes. Saying that, sleeping was easy and the closed windows cut out most of the night time and early morning sounds from the street. The fan was a great addition. We went during a warmer time of late September early October so our room was quite warm but with the windows open and fan on it was all fine. The hotel is right near some great restaurants and shopping as well as the famous cable car. A trip to the wharf via cab is also reasonably cheap.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms facing the square will give you great views with minimal sound issues at night
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,017 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £121 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing