We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed Feeling”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Best location and best price. The room was clean and we mostly had a good experience here.
The staffs here are not so professional but you cannot complain or expect much as the hotel rate is so low compared to other hotels in the area.
However, there are two staffs named Olga and another girl who looked just like the other had very bud attitude and spoke negative thing about guests in Spanish thinking guests there did not understand what they were saying. That I thought was not acceptable even for a cheap hotel. They had to have a better training for their staff on how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I am very sorry these folks had such a bad impression of Olga and her look alike co-worker. However, there was a misunderstanding in this case. While the conversations should stick to our business and serving the guests, they were talking about personal issues that had nothing to do with the hotel. I apologize for the situation. This is a training experience and these comments will help Olga and all her co-workers be a little better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    1,950
    332
    47
    18
See reviews for
595
2,699
345
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I read various Trip Advisor reviews beforehand regarding hotels in the Union Square area and the Chancellor had consistent reviews, but even where the review was not so good there was an excellent reply from the manager, showing that they cared about the guests. I stayed for 3 nights initially and was so impressed booked it again for a further 2 nights the following week when I returned to SF. I had asked for a quiet room and was given a lovely room at the rear of the building, the only noise was from the A/C on the adjaceant building, but the double glazing screened out most of that in any case. All the staff very freindly and helpful, I would certainly return on a further trip to SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the rear, being an older building there are solid walls to every room, unlik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flutty1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you! We truly do care and try very hard to make sure our guests have a great experience with us. We do have the limitations of serving people via a 100 year old hotel, but when people read the reviews in advance like you did, and understand what to expect, there should be a positive outcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranfurly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A very safe feeling hotel! Door man on duty at all times. Reception staff always have a smile and very helpful. Computer available without charge. Good lift service. Quiet cleaners. Location is excellent, on Powell Street along with the cable car and two doors from Union Square.
Fridge in room and Walgreens on the upper corner opposite Starbucks!
Very good bed and TV.

Room Tip: My room faced Powell Street but the heavy drapes cut out all street noise. I was on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

When selecting a hotel to stay in I always read the reviews on trip advisor before booking, trying to decide if the negative reports are justified. What I liked about the Chancellor hotel was that the GM of the hotel had addressed all the negative moans from previous customers. For example people moaning that there is no tea making facilities when you can get tea or coffee 24 hours a day from the foyer. Having stayed at this hotel in November 2013 it does make me wonder how people can fault this hotel and the GM comments were spot on.This hotel was excellent value for money and in a prime location of San Francisco. There was free cookies and apples for guests and there was even a jar of sweets in each room. The hotel doesn't look dated and it is clean and tidy. When booking the hotel we asked for a room on a high floor at the back at the hotel which they did. The hotel is 4 streets away from the BART Powell street station. You are within walking distance of all the main attractions with the only exception being the golden gate bridge which only costs $2 by bus. If I ever visited San Francisco again the Chancellor Hotel is where we will be staying, Book this hotel and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: room at the back of hotel onfloor 6 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wonderful location, accommodating staff. Rory was always quick to ask if there is anything he can do to help, etc. Mao in the restaurant is a gem, friendly and always smiling. i will definitely stay there again.

Green Features: I agree and appreciated their notes on towels and linens.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzdelamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great hotel and location. Nice room. Delicious breakfast. Stayed 4 nights. The only night that was noisy outside was Thursday night. May consider an inside or back room next time; notice I'm writing next time. Would definitely stay at the Chancellor again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank De_regreso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in six different hotels in San Francisco. My son lives in nearby Nob Hill, and I sometimes travel alone ( as I did this trip) or with a friend or my fiancé, In the past two years, I had remained loyal to another boutique hotel in Union Square, but that has now changed. The Chancellor is by far a better choice. The lobby is lovely and I indulged in the complimentary coffee, tea, cookies and water. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. I ordered two pillows off the "pillow menu" and slept very comfortably. Some reviewers complained the rooms are small, but since I recently visited eight European cities, I found the room size at the Chancellor was more than adequate. The location is excellent for both shopping and sightseeing excursions. Light sleepers may want to request a room in the back or on a higher floor because of the street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank su432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
When someone that has stayed at several other hotels in San Francisco gives us this kind of praise, it is huge for us. As a historic hotel (100 years old next year), we can be a different experience for people. However, much of our competition are in the same situation so we are not that different compared to them. Thus, when people are not happy with the experience at the Chancellor because we are "old" and different, I wish they knew what these guests know. I contend that when we are compared to other 3 star hotels in San Francisco, we stand up pretty well and it means a lot to have this guest validate my contention. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,870 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing