We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder cozy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonder cozy hotel.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great hotel, great value, and fantastic location. Very comfortable bedding. My room was clean and the evening cookies were a nice touch. I look forward to returning. We didn't visit the restaurant but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyJanine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    1,950
    332
    47
    18
See reviews for
595
2,699
345
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel was great. The bed was sooo comfortable and the hotel room was very cozy and cute. If you have been to a nice, but small hotel in europe, that is exactly what it reminded me of. The bathroom is a good size for one person to get ready, but pretty small for two. Not very much counter space. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar was very fun. Rory was a great bartender (ask for the cable car -- a great drink)! We didn't find a ton a restaurants around the restaurant. However, China town and North Beach are a good 10 to 20 minute walk. The cable car is right outside on Powell (which gets you to a few tourist destinations). Union Square was fun to walk around with a coffee. There is plenty of shopping there if that is what you are into! Overall, a good location to get to places around the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Frankly, it is nice boutique hotel, even it looks very normal, a little bit old, the room is very comfortable with modern decoration and amenities. Not fancy, but friendly.Trusted you will sleep quite well.
Only few steps to The Macy's/Union Square, the Cable Car. Easy to reach the Powell Bart/Muni Station, Ferry Building, China town, Noble Hill... If you haven't got any idea for city attractions, don't worry, you can go to tour desk at the lobby for help.
Highly recommend to apply the food package when pre-booking the room, if you got time, you should enjoy the brunch at the Luques Restaurant & Bar, you must be served very well, egg benedict, burrito, chilaquiles...all delicious!
If you got budget control and found this price affordable, don't hesitate to pick this up as your smart choice.

Room Tip: Even the standard room is big enough for couple's stay. Higher floor may have a better city view...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel will remind you to put the used towels on the floor or in the bathtub. They won't change the unused towel on hang lever.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I made a quick trip down to San Francisco last week and stayed at The Chancellor on Union Square. This was the first time I stayed there and I was very impressed. I made the booking direct and they were as nice on the phone as in person. The front desk allowed me to check in early and the off site garage was easy to get to and about half the cost of what it would normally cost to park in such a popular location. I had a high floor room that looked over Union Square which during the holiday period has ice skating (which you can get discount skate rental at the front desk) and tons of holiday shoppers. My room was spotless and very cozy with a complimentary bottle of wine on the bar. There is free WiFi and free gym access to a nearby fitness center. There were all kinds of added amenities int the room like bath salts and even a Christmas rubber duck. The location is excellent maybe four blocks to the China Town main gate and the hotel is on Powell Street where the cable car runs. Whenever I walked through the lobby, there was fruit and holiday cookies. There was also a glass water dispenser with lime in the lobby all day and night. I will definitely be back to The Chancellor.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible. Pool and spa not applicable unless maybe at the fitness center that...
See more room tips
Green Features: CFL bulbs and double paned windows Also note about saving the towels if yo don't need them washed. Excellent environmental standards.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Chancellor Hotel is located on Union Square, surrounded by amazing shopping and dining opportunities, and all within walking distance. This was our first stay here, and we selected it because of the reasonable price, in conjunction with the positive reviews. We were not disappointed with the attractive lobby, tasteful décor, cleanliness, or overall feel. The primary negative was the size of the room. It was very cramped,allowing almost no space to move around. This included the bathroom which was also tiny; making use of the shower, basin, and commode very uncomfortable. The other minus was the room temperature. It was very cold while we were here, and we had no heat at all the first night. When we contacted the front desk, we were told that the heat was produced via steam heating, thus taking longer to warm up. On the second day, the heat came on, but for our entire stay, the room felt "damp". While a queen size bed was the only option, the mattress and pillows were very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant within the hotel that serves breakfast and lunch (7 AM to 2:30 PM), and a bar that is open until late night. In addition, room service is available. We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning, and it was a good experience; quick service, impressive presentation, and very tasty food. For those driving a car, there is a choice to offsite self-park(minimal fee) or valet park (higher fee, but still reasonable for S.F). We chose the valet park and took a cab wherever we wanted to go, as this seemed to be the most efficient way to travel in this hectic city. This hotel was an excellent value if you are looking for a way to visit San Francisco on a budget, and you consider your room as simply a place to sleep. If you prefer to stay where the hotel experience is a critical part of your trip, the Chancellor Hotel is likely not the best choice for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopefloats34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
“Excellent value hotel in a perfect location if you're not looking for luxury.” And how does one arrive at an average rating for the hotel with that title?

Sounds like an excellent 3 star hotel, no?

If one is looking for luxury and they choose a 3 star hotel, they are misguided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights on my Honeymoon.
Good hotel, very clean, friendly staff. The bedroom was a little small, difficult to move with a lot of luggage from a long trip that ended in San Francisco.
Mike, on the Tour Desk, is extremely helpful and can arrange you nice city tours.
Very close to Union Square, making it easy to move around without a car, by feet, cable car or even the bus.
A lot of stores (Macy's, Saks, Tiffanys, Swaroviski) and a shopping mall are a walking distance from the hotel.
3 Blocks from Chinatown :)
Had a very nice time there and would go back in a future visit to San Francisco

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller20099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Located on Union Square, close to restaurants, cafes, Walmart and great stores. Parking is available for a fee (not cheap), including valet parking, but using public transportation is the best choice here. Staff is nice and usually helpful. Complimentary cookies and apples are available in the lobby, as well an espresso machine. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we didn't try it. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. A friend had recommended me this hotel and it did not disappoint me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,597 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,865 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing