We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful,perfect location,lurques restaurant yummy!!!!!!!!!!! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #13 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful,perfect location,lurques restaurant yummy!!!!!!!!!!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

stayed here nov/dec,have to say got this at a good price as booked 7 months in advance,checking in was easy but when booking hotel it didnt say anything about holding ten dollars a night on my credit card.was lucky to have cash in my account as had change all my money from euros to dollars.
room was lovely spacious enough,was on 6th floor and after reading many comments when booking ppl complained about rooms being small.didnt find this at all.was perfect.
staff friending,cookies etc always on hand,no complaints about this hotel in particular except the tourist shop,what a rip off.
20 cigarettes one day cost 8 dollars,the following day was 9 dollars.few days into my trip i went to the shop on the left of walgreens and the same brand of cigarettes were 3.99.major difference.i also bought stamps from the tourist shop at the hotel and posted cards back to ireland.to this day they were never received by family and friends.oh well
lurques restaurant beautiful peacan pancakes a must :) not expensive and staff very nice.
all i can say perfect location ,perfect transport and any one visiting san fran will love this hotel :)

Room Tip: loved sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,738
    1,892
    326
    47
    18
See reviews for
571
2,625
333
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here two nights and totally enjoyed our visit. Staff was pleasant and attentive. Young "bell-hop" gets special kudos, but everyone - even a maintenance guy we ran onto were just nice folks.

You cannot beat the location. Right on Union Square in the heart of downtown. Close to transit - on a street with a historic streetcar line. Parking, if you need it, is convenient to the hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were offered an "upgrade" for $50 and took it sight unseen. Good decision! We had a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and I still feel it's a brilliant location for anyone who wants a central point to see the city in.
The rooms are small - there's no air conditioning, but the service is great, the hotel are very honest about the size of the rooms and anyone who moans about noise is an idiot! Go to any city and get a hotel that's in this kind of location and you will always hear cars!
If you don't want the noise then go to the countryside instead!
Great place!

Room Tip: If you are bothered about noise, ask if you can have a room higher up! An email worked for us first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blinky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks! The next time someone knocks us for city noise, I will cut and paste this posting as my response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Chancellor is a true jewel - and just off Union Square! The rooms are well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable - and include a large range of pillows to select from.

Both of us were struck by the friendliness and efficiency of all of the staff. Every one of them seemed to be truly proud to be working in the hotel - and their friendliness was much more than the corporate veneer you often find elsewhere. Individually they were too many to mention. But in particular we want to cite the staff at the front desk, the tour desk and in the restaurant - and also your chief engineer and the young engineer who came and sorted out our room safe. As we live in London, we don't often come to San Francisco. But as and when we do, we will certainly stay at The Chancellor!

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room, albeit with no view, ask for a quiet room on a lower floor. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayton
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have stayed many times in " the city ", but wanted more of a bargain as a group of family members were joining us. This hotel was great , the room was small as advertised, but very clean,and very well furnished. We were on the Powell street side and enjoyed the sounds of the city.
The staff were very accommodating and professional. The restaurant on premise was very good as well.
We will stay here each time we come back.

Room Tip: If you don't mind city noise, stay on Powell street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayflos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

While our room was a bit small and the bathroom needed a little updating, everything else was terrific. The furnishings overall were updated and attractive. Very comfortable beds and linens - they even have a pillow menu so you can request a pillow that meets your needs. Perfect location - half a block from Union Square and surprisingly quiet despite its proximity to lots of traffic and activity.

Very friendly staff, loved the complimentary coffee, tea, apples and cookies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Chancellor in February 2014. We were in San Francisco to visit our son and some friends from Seattle who were in town at the same time. We found the Chancellor to be a great little hotel, with rooms that were small but not *too* small, well-appointed, and comfortable. Our son lives on Nob Hill, close to the Chancellor, and we found that almost everything we wanted to do in San Francisco could be reached on foot with ease (even in the winter rain).

The hotel is about half a block from Union Square, and is surrounded by shopping of all kinds. Cable cars run up Powell in front of the hotel, and the streetcar is only a few blocks away. We toured Alcatraz during our visit, and while we technically could have walked to the pier it was far enough that we enjoyed riding the streetcar.

We visited the hotel where our friends were staying, an historic place in North Beach that was about $20 a night cheaper. It was quaint and had atmosphere, by which I mean that all of the rooms on each floor shared a bathroom and that the hallways smelled funky. By contrast, the Chancellor was a little less quaint but had just as much atmosphere -- the good kind. The lobby was cosy, the staff friendly, and with our window open a crack we could hear cable cars and a talented street musician playing the trumpet every night until about ten. Great ambiance, and a lovely lullaby.

We will be returning to San Francisco from time to time to visit our son, and we plan on staying at the Chancellor when we do!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one. If we'd closed the window we wouldn't have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing