We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Decent room”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We received a good rate for this room during our stay. The room was adequate but small. The bathroom was dated but functional. There were not many amenities. No free breakfast, but they did offer cookies and beverages in the afternoon. The hotel is in a very good location. Parking is expensive, but on par with other hotels in the area. The staff was very accommodating.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GburgfoodieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
The key is having the right expectations. They received a good rate - that's good! But, as a Historic hotel, and as many reviews reference, the room size is small and bathrooms are plain - that should be known well in advance. No free breakfast should have been known at the time of booking, so that should not have been a mark down. Not sure what amenities are missing. All the rooms have safes, free wifi, a little candy jar, umbrellas, iron & board, refrigerators, a pillow menu and in the lobby we have free coffee & tea with flavors and cookies 24/7. Our guests can use the ClubOne Gym for free which includes a lap pool. We have a bar, restaurant and room service and we give coupons for a free beverage and discount at check in. If there is something we should be doing as a 3 star hotel with good rates that we are not, let me know. Yes, parking is expensive, but as noted, on par with other hotels like us. If you stay at a 4 star hotel, expect to pay $20 more for the parking. I am glad they recognized that the staff is accommodating and we will do whatever we can to help someone have the best stay they can at a historic, 3 star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,757
    1,905
    327
    47
    19
See reviews for
575
2,643
336
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Decided to spend an extra $25. for the night and what a difference it made. The service at the desk was always friendly & helpful, and the room was such a welcomed surprise; traditional/colorful professional design. Typical sized hotel space, but nice features and bathroom
older space, but maintained nicely. Couldn't ask more for the location. I'd stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LOVENYC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you! It is very nice to read that they found us a great value when they paid a little more than some of our "competition" may have been charging for the same night. The reality is that it all comes down to supply and demand. We are usually on the lower priced side of our neighbors, but if we have less supply over some dates than they do, our rates may reflect that.

However, as was the case here...if your expectation is for a historic, original San Francisco boutique hotel, that is at the 3 star level, you should be very happy --- then the location puts the hotel over the top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I did some research on the hotels our company's travel agent offered, and narrowed down the choices to two. My final decision was to stay here while at a conference, and what a great decision it was! The location beats everything, I loved the lobby, the bed was extra comfy, to my European/big city experiences I did not find the room small at all. Because it is a small hotel, it feels very friendly and welcoming. Based on reviews I asked and got a higher up floor, the 13th in fact, facing Union Square and the noise was totally bearable, the only thing I noticed was the trumpeter around 9 p.m. - it did not bothered me. I just loved to be in the center of a buzzing city, in a classy affordable hotel! :-)
I did not interact much with the staff, the little I did was always pleasant, I have been to the city before and have a friend in town, so did not need to ask for assistance.
Oh, and I loved the bathroom with the tub, the Terra Pure products are great - can I get them somewhere for home? :-) The ironing board and the iron were blessings for my business clothing, used then nearly every morning. Most importantly as a women traveling alone, I always felt safe, at the hotel and in the area, no matter what time of the day!
The only tiny negative is what I guess comes from the age of the hotel, the walls are pretty thin.

Room Tip: If you do not mind a little noise, ask for a higher floor facing Union Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vko_bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's quaint and a smaller property with lots of very nice touches like coffee and cookies always in the lobby. The room was large by San Francisco standards, clean and had very comfortable beds. The bathroom was older but again very clean. Excellent choice particularly if you want to do high end shopping in the Union Square area. If like us that's not your style, it's still a good central location. Many of the on-off buses start a block away at the Square and of course the cable car is right outside the front door. The entry to China town is four blocks away.

Room Tip: We talked to guest who were on the street side. No real complaints but they did say it was noisey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowa539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My son and I stayed at the Chancellor over a rainy weekend in February. The location is perfect - Union Square right on Powell St., just a few blocks up the hill from Market - and the price was very reasonable for the location. The room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable enough. The view from our 4th floor room was the exhaust fans on the roof of the building next door, but we never heard any noise. Although the "pillow menu" was inviting, the standard pillows were more comfortable than most. The bed was comfortable, too (and I'm picky). I thought the apples in the lobby were fake, they were so perfect! The ice water with citrus was most appreciated. We were able to store our luggage both before the room was ready on Fri. and after checking out on Sun. We had one breakfast in the on-site restaurant, which serves breakfast and lunch - it was fine and convenient, but Cafe Bellini a few yards down the street was tastier and cheaper.
I have just two minor complaints: 1) The scoop for the ice maker was sitting in the ice, and so were the germs from the hands of everyone who used it. (Better to have a separate spot for the scoop or, better yet, an ice machine that expels the ice when a lever or button is pushed.) 2) the man at the desk that had a "Tours" sign, seemingly the concierge, was slightly less than helpful in providing a clear description and location of the trolley we needed to take to Fisherman's Wharf. (He did tell us the number of the trolley, but we had to ask outside the hotel for the location and which thing was the trolley!). Overall a pleasant stay, and I would not hesitate to recommend it or stay there again.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, you should ask for a room with a view of Powell St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Classic old hotel on Union Square so of course, location is perfect. Cable Car runs in front of hotel and very close to Market Street and BART transit lines. Front desk was friendly and helpful, dealing with our wifi issues. Small bar and restaurant provided excellent service. Rooms were small by new hotel standards, but rather roomy for an older hotel. Very clean and outfitted with great beds. No coffee in the room but available (with cookies) in the lobby all day and night. As others have said, staff are genuine and friendly. We looked out the back, not much of a view but it did limit street noise. Very quiet at night, may have just been quiet neighbours. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DougupinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

stayed here nov/dec,have to say got this at a good price as booked 7 months in advance,checking in was easy but when booking hotel it didnt say anything about holding ten dollars a night on my credit card.was lucky to have cash in my account as had change all my money from euros to dollars.
room was lovely spacious enough,was on 6th floor and after reading many comments when booking ppl complained about rooms being small.didnt find this at all.was perfect.
staff friending,cookies etc always on hand,no complaints about this hotel in particular except the tourist shop,what a rip off.
20 cigarettes one day cost 8 dollars,the following day was 9 dollars.few days into my trip i went to the shop on the left of walgreens and the same brand of cigarettes were 3.99.major difference.i also bought stamps from the tourist shop at the hotel and posted cards back to ireland.to this day they were never received by family and friends.oh well
lurques restaurant beautiful peacan pancakes a must :) not expensive and staff very nice.
all i can say perfect location ,perfect transport and any one visiting san fran will love this hotel :)

Room Tip: loved sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
2,699 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
1,601 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing