We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, breaking our journey from England to New Zealand. We loved the location, right in the centre with Union Square outside and the cable cars going up the hill. It was easy to jump on a cable car and visit Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge. We did find it a bit noisy - street musicians in the square playing until quite late in the evening, but I think you must expect that from a city centre hotel.
Being from England we love our tea and I was a little disappointed not to find a kettle or coffee maker in the room. However free tea and 'cookies' were available in the lobby in the afternoon and evenings.
The hotel staff were very helpful and we were given excellent guidance regarding trips out. Breakfast was extra and although good we felt it was a little pricey (especially when you add a tip). There are also plenty of places to eat nearby - including the restaurant at the top of Macy's which has a fantastic view.
The room itself was good and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,822 - 1,828 of 5,317 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you want the perfect place to stay in San Francisco, the Chancellor is it. My family and I had 2 corner rooms for 3 nights. All the staff are professional and very friendly. Our rooms had everything we could need ( no microwave, but we did not need one). We ate 1 lunch and 3 breakfasts in the restaurant. Food was fantastic and so was the service.

R. Smith

Room Tip: I read that the corner rooms are a little bigger so that is what we booked.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

While we do not have microwaves in the rooms, we are always happy to microwave something for our guests 24-7. Never hesitate to ask us for anything. If it can be done...we'll do it!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our room was clean & comfortable with thoughtful "extras" like the pillow menu, candy jar, & bath salts. What more can one ask for but a clean & comfy bed in a great location?

Mao in Luque's was so polite and friendly & the young lad, Wilson, really made a favourable impression on us. Tina at the front desk made checking in and out so easy and (dare I say it?) fun!

Thanks for making a weekend in SF even more of a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensen2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed our four night stay in this lovely hotel. It is a great location for easy access to the cable car line and the buses. We didn't have time for any shopping but still enjoyed the hustle and bustle of union center. Some reviewers have mentioned noise but we were not bothered by the normal sounds of the city- but we were on the 13th floor. The only minor complaint I have about this hotel is the lack of water pressure in the shower which was only an issue since I have rather thick hair that is difficult to rinse. Maybe the 13th floor was unlucky in that regard. I didn't let anyone know and maybe I should have. I'm thinking not much can be done about that. The staff are very friendly and the cafe served up a tasty breakfast in a hurry. The room was plenty big for two people and was well kept. We highly recommend The Chancellor and would not hesitate to choose it again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for a week in the beginning of March and this hotel is value for money if you are planning to do full days of shopping in Union Square, simply drop your bags, rest your legs and hit the shops again. Our room and bathroom were clean, shower was powerful with instant hot water and what more can you ask for.

Get the Muni pass at the tour desk if you are going to stay for more than a day. The 7 day pass will cost you $29, and if you think about it, a single ride on the cable car is $6 and buses and street cars are included, and mind you the cable car stops right outside the hotel and it takes you all the way to the wharf and passes little italy, and you can jump on it at the turntable if you are feeling too lazy to walk, because that walk from Market Street up the slightly inclined Powell Street after a long day can be painfuller than you might think.

Room Tip: The elevators are slow, so stay on a lower floor and take the stairs, also that's easier if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC2014311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The room was clean and well tended. The in-hotel restaurant was excellent and their staff was very helpful. When we asked for special favors the hotel staff did what we asked immediately and without question. We absolutely had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have more noise, but overall rooms are fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertmccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

I cannot express how much the title of this posting means to us. That is what our business is all about. We truly appreciate the recognition of our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

While this hotel is older than we are used to, we decided that the location and room rate were hard to pass up, so we gave it a try. What a great surprise! For one thing, they seemed to only offer queen beds instead of king, which we prefer, but when we checked in, our bed was a king--a perfectly comfortable luxurious sheeted king. The bathroom fixtures, while dated, were immaculately clean, and there were wonderful amenities like a make-up mirror and great bath products. We traveled in March, so no air conditioning was not a problem. I'm not sure how that would be in August!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,042 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,859 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £118 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing