We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Nearby Hotels
US$446
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$260
US$185
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$511
US$476
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$405
US$345
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$444
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$329
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,434)
Filter reviews
5,434 results
Traveller rating
2,949
2,063
356
48
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,949
2,063
356
48
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menutour deskcable carrubber duckunion squarefree cookiesgreat locationceiling fanbath saltsrooms are smallwalk in closetpowell stno air conditioningour honeymoonmuni passcharming hotelan older hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,886 - 1,891 of 5,434 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced (for SF) hotel on US. After doing research, mostly on TA, we decided on the Chancellor. We were so happy with our choice. Yes, the room is small..(very clean!) but we were there for 5 nites and found it to be just fine (bathroom could be a bit bigger) The staff was wonderful, the location can't be beat, and the whole ambiance was charming. We had requested a quiet room away from the street. We got it and slept with windows open and the ceiling fan on. I thought we would be able to hear noise from the other rooms...not a bit. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for room away from Powell St.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lululemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our first time in SF and the Chancellor was recommend to us from a friend and I'm so glad we listend. When we arrived to the hotel we chose the BART system which cost about $7.05 a person from the Oakland airport you get off on Powell street and walk up four block to the hotel. We had arrived early to the hotel and didn't think we would be able to check in but we were greeted by friendly staff who informed us our room was ready and that we could go up and get settled. The room was very clean and comfortable once we were settled we went back down to the lobby and talked with the tour information inside the hotel, who was also very helpful and friendly. The cable car stop right front of the hotel or a few steps down to go the other way. Lots of shopping in the area, Cheesecake Factory in Macy's and another restaurant next door if you don't want to eat in the hotel. At night we could hear a trumpet player or bag pipes being played but we didn't mind. We would stay at the Chancellor Hotel again it is in a great location, clean hotel and great staff!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It is all about location. This is a nice hotel, rooms are a little on the small side, queen size bed, and room enough for 2 chairs, and cocktail table. View fro our room was a rusty fire escape, and Dept. Store. We are just about across the street from Central Park. The trolly runs up and down the block outside of your window, so you DO get the sounds of the city with the window open. The bar in the Hotel is nothing, so many other Happy Hours all over town. So many restaurants and Bars in walking distance.

Room Tip: We had room 702, I believe all the rooms have basically the same view. Maybe a back room might be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNICKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Always my choice for a stay in SF - if you drive, get the package w/ parking and $25 food credit...it's a screamin' deal. Luques serves up fine breakfasts in an inviting atmosphere, right in the hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on the back side, away from the street. Fun rooms are up front w/ cable cars passing and view of union square.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Perfect location to start any city tour. It was close to BART, bus transportation and the cable cars.The rooms were a bit noisy as the street is very busy but it was actually kind of nice because you could hear wonderful street musicians in the rooms facing the front. One night there was trumpet music and another night we heard bagpipes. The shopping was nice in this area but big retailers and not many smaller shops. The restaurants in the area were not that nice but other restaurants could be reached by cab. The service was very good and the front desk did a wonderful job helping and accommodating our needs. The pillow selections were a good idea too. If you want a drink at the "bar" get there by 10! The breakfast menu was really good too!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front of the building but could be noisy
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews