We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed for five nights and enjoyed my stay.

Good points:
- friendly staff
- superb location - I felt comfortable walking around at night; bustling and busy although room was facing away from the street so I wasn't affected by street noise
- free coffee and biscuits in lobby
- free wifi
- clean and comfortable

Major negative point:
- very very very noisy radiator - even though it was off we had a metallic drip sound from 5 am - aaaaagh!

On the whole I enjoyed it and would stay again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street as otherwise could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,845
    1,980
    338
    47
    18
See reviews for
611
2,736
348
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Everyone was so nice and the rooms were small but clean and modern and had super nice pillows!! Very happy with everything they had to offer. We didn't have much of a view, but we didn't get the room for the view....we were right on Powell by the Cable Cars and Walgreens, that had great snacks and breakfast that we could take to room and put in fridge. I will stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: it's an old hotel but nicely renovated...we didn't go for room view
See more room tips
Green Features: they ask you to put your towel back on the rack so they don't wash them daily so they can save on water, etc. but they did anyway....very satisfied
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights while on a mission trip in San Fran. I must say, we were all very impressed with the hospitality here. Loved having fresh cucumber water and coffee in the lobby anytime and also cookies and apples and muffins to grab if you have an early morning flight,
The rooms were clean, although very small, especially the bathrooms. Reminded me of a little hotel in Paris.
Be sure to eat right next door for breakfast at the World Famous Sears fine food. The pecan waffles are to die for! Not to mention the oatmeal and pancakes too. Also the Scali's bistro across the street was delicious for dinner.
The location of this hotel is so convenient to the shopping and trains too. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank buckieAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a 3 night stay in March - April 14. Fantastic location and lovely friendly hotel. Free coffee / Tea, milk shake and cookies in reception. Be sure to get to the friedndly bar at 5pm for the generous happy hour. The food they serve in the restaurant is superb. Great restaurant right next door for your evening meal. 30 second walk to Union square for all your shopping needs. You won't be disapointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one of the 2 suites on top floor. 2 bathrooms in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete-Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband, location is the best you can get- walking distance from pretty much every SF tourist attraction you can think of. Rooms are small but do the job. Bed and pillows were the comfiest we've had in a hotel. Also free wifi, cookies, popcorn and coffee all day long wahoo :) Staff are really friendly too, however some of the girls have a constant smirk on their face - weird ...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Ratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I love this place. It will be my 5th stay tomorrow, for a week.
Its really historic, old SF, personal, welcoming and slightly 'wonky'.
Everything works, but its charming in a European sort of way (I'm from the UK), with none of that 'corporateness' that I hate about the big US chains...
Back tomorrow and looking foreword to it!!

PS good Gym round the corner comes free.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if you don't like the clanking of the cable cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendanCD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
state college, pa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

this is a nice, small hotel. it's refreshingly different from the huge mega-hotels that are more common in the area. rooms are very small, but very clean. very nice small bar area. generally quiet. location is great. i would probably stay here again. the only reason i say probably is because there are a lot of hotels to check out in san fran. last time i stayed at the historical fairmont and i wouldn't stay there again.

fridge in room was a great feature not common to most hotels in the area. that actually might be enough to get me back again now that i think of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Generally, people find that as a boutique hotel in San Francisco, we are a pretty good. When one compares us to, or has first hand experience at, the other 3 star boutique hotels around us, we are an excellent hotel.

I think this person should try another hotel on their next visit. Many of our most loyal and regular guest have tried another hotel at one time and that is why they are so loyal to us. People that have sampled our competition seem to appreciate the Chancellor more.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,773 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing