We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #17 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a really old charming hotel. Not much room but very clean and with the price. The location is great. Next to all the action of Union Sqr. They pay attention to little details here and even provide you discount for the food and bar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,762 - 1,768 of 5,312 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed at The Chancellor this past Easter Weekend. I booked a package through Expedia and emailed ahead to ask for a "quiet" room and to mention it was my girlfriend's birthday weekend. Joanna from reservations replied almost immediately and let me know she would do her best. Excellent & respectful communication!

We took the BART from SFO airport and it took about 30 mins to get to Union Square ($9 each person), walked 2-3 blocks and made it to the Chancellor safe & sound. Check-in was seamless and smooth. The lobby, elevators and hallways all have a nice, old-school feel that I appreciate. Sincere old-school charm too, instead of design that "tries too hard" to be charming. And yes, as everybody else writes, have some coffee, cookies, apples and flavored water while you're in the lobby!

Our room was on the 7th floor and wasn't facing any busy & loud streets. Excellent! Also, we arrived to our room and there was a card and a bottle of sparkling wine for my girlfriend's birthday. Awesome!! Thanks Joanna and Chancellor staff for that! The room is small yes, but cmon...Union Square is right outside. Get out & enjoy the city! The beds and pillows are comfortable. We had restful sleeps and the rooms were cleaned promptly daily. I came across the cleaners in the hallway a couple of occasions and they were very friendly. The showers, sinks & toilets have strong water pressure and the towels were clean & soft.

Cable cars are right outside, as well as San Fran bike share but we walked everywhere instead because we thought it would be a fun way to explore. Chinatown is a 15-20 min walk, Fisherman's Wharf about 30 minute walk, Pier 39 maybe 40 min walk... it's all within walking range if you like to do that. If not, it's super easy to find other ways to commute. We visited multiple restaurants, brew pubs, shopping, etc and loved it!

Check-out was even more simple than check-in. We booked a shuttle bus to the airport since we had to arrive at the airport at an early time. The tour desk in the lobby set it up and the shuttle arrived at the hotel exactly on time and got us to the airport early for only $16 per person.

We'll be back to San Francisco to visit more neighbourhoods, pubs & restaurants that we missed this trip. We'll most definitely stay at Chancellor again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanCityChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel sits in a great spot. Less than 5 minutes to/from the BART & bus lines, plus the cable cars stop right outside. Tons of shopping and restaurants nearby as well.

Only drawbacks are no A/C and smallish/older rooms. Neither would cause me to stay elsewhere though. Staff was super helpful, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Is a very good hotel, with an excellent location, everything is near. The rooms and specially the bed is very comfortable. The mini fridge in the room is very convenient. The hotel is very clean and the Staff is very friendly. I like it a lot. Also in the lobby you have all the time coffee, water and tea.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank CoriCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for noticing the "extras" provided to try and make things a little more comfortable. Our goal is to provide all of the comforts without the extravagance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When we arrived walking up Powell Street I wondered what we'd gotten ourselves into. However the staff at the desk were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Once we got up into the room I became a little apprehensive about the noise I could hear coming from the cable cars outside as our room faced directly onto Powell Street on level 5. However this proved not to be a problem at all. The bed was supremely comfortable and we really appreciated the pillow menu which helped improve our sleep further.
Despite the slightly dated decor in our room I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for keeping an open mind and going with the flow. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the end and would recommend us. That means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My Husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago and we both really enjoyed our stay. The hotel knew it was our honeymoon and gave us a lovely room with a view of union square along with sparkling wine and a photo frame. The room we had was very spacious - the closet was bigger than our previous hotels bathroom that's how much room we had! there are a number of things that i was particularly impressed by with this hotel, those being complimentary WiFi in our room, huge comfortable bed,free coffee and cookies everyday (which were amazing) and a little rubber duck for our bath! when I stay away from home its little touches like this that I love! we would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staceyeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

When people choose to stay with us during a special occasion, we appreciate that and try to live up to that honor.

All the best in your new life together. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent location close to Union square. On the last night we found a cockroach in our barhroom. When telling the hotel staff they just shrugged so they're probably not uncommon.

Parking the car cost ca $30/day.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbladh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

I am not even going to dignify this with a response other than to say: This is what is wrong with review sites... People can post things that are completely false and there is nothing we can do.

Thankfully, I believe 99% of TripAdvisor users see right through people like this that create an account and make their one and only posting like this. However, it still stings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,040 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,712 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,852 reviews
Union Square
No photo provided
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £119 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing