We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #18 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wow... What a great find, we stayed here for two nights as part of a girls trip to San Fransisco. So pleased we did. Great spot right on the cable line opposite union square. Coming from England we loved the traditional room. Everything we needed plus a rubber duck....
Friendly staff, the little touches were fab, cookies & beverages in the lobby. We valeted our car & it was worth it to us in such a big city. Thanks everyone and when we come back we will be sure to stay with you again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonomousdurhamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 5,385 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

A very helpful and friendly staff team looked after us well within a relaxed atmosphere. The room was good and the breakfast set us up for the day. We had a breakfast included package that was good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent stay... Ask for Mao in the restaurant. What a true gem.
He made us feel welcome and special.
Have a mixed drink in the bar...topnotch.
Love my complimentary rubber duck. Makes us smile and remember a great time in SF.

Room Tip: Face Union square and get serenaded every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joglo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Chancellor Hotel in San Francisco!!! I took my daughter for a Lana Del Rey concert and we decided to stay at The Chancellor Hotel in the absolute heart of Union Square!! The location could not have been better. If you like to shop, this is your location!! just blocks from the huge Westfield shopping mall on Market St.as well as 2 Forever 21 stores and 2 H&M stores within blocks of each other! There was a huge and very nice Ross store on Market St. too where there are lots of good finds if you dont mind crowds! The stores down Powell St.were fantastic as well and many restaurants to choose from. We felt very safe and we were happy to be so close to everything . ChinaTown is also very close with lots of cute souvenirs to be had.
The bus is close and the trolley cars run right down Powell St in front of the hotel which was very convenient and they were a blast and every tourist should try it at least once!!
I have to send an extra special thank you to Annie who worked at the front desk at The Chancellor who was such a help to us and always recognised us when we arrived back from a trip out . Her customer service was appreciated as well as the other front desk staff who were helpful with directions and information as well as the excellent service and staff at Luques restaurant in the hotel!! There was 24hr coffee available with fresh cookies and fruit which was a nice touch.
The room was cozy with 2 twin beds. the room was a bit small but it was clean and all we needed as we were gone all day, everyday we were there. The beds were super comfy and the pillows were great. we requested a room at the back of the hotel as its hard for me to sleep with noise(from tourists, cars and trolleys) and they had no problem accommodating us which was appreciated.
I would certainly stay at this cute hotel again and hope to return soon to this amazing, beautiful city and The Chancellor!! Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Candiantravelfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a really old charming hotel. Not much room but very clean and with the price. The location is great. Next to all the action of Union Sqr. They pay attention to little details here and even provide you discount for the food and bar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed at The Chancellor this past Easter Weekend. I booked a package through Expedia and emailed ahead to ask for a "quiet" room and to mention it was my girlfriend's birthday weekend. Joanna from reservations replied almost immediately and let me know she would do her best. Excellent & respectful communication!

We took the BART from SFO airport and it took about 30 mins to get to Union Square ($9 each person), walked 2-3 blocks and made it to the Chancellor safe & sound. Check-in was seamless and smooth. The lobby, elevators and hallways all have a nice, old-school feel that I appreciate. Sincere old-school charm too, instead of design that "tries too hard" to be charming. And yes, as everybody else writes, have some coffee, cookies, apples and flavored water while you're in the lobby!

Our room was on the 7th floor and wasn't facing any busy & loud streets. Excellent! Also, we arrived to our room and there was a card and a bottle of sparkling wine for my girlfriend's birthday. Awesome!! Thanks Joanna and Chancellor staff for that! The room is small yes, but cmon...Union Square is right outside. Get out & enjoy the city! The beds and pillows are comfortable. We had restful sleeps and the rooms were cleaned promptly daily. I came across the cleaners in the hallway a couple of occasions and they were very friendly. The showers, sinks & toilets have strong water pressure and the towels were clean & soft.

Cable cars are right outside, as well as San Fran bike share but we walked everywhere instead because we thought it would be a fun way to explore. Chinatown is a 15-20 min walk, Fisherman's Wharf about 30 minute walk, Pier 39 maybe 40 min walk... it's all within walking range if you like to do that. If not, it's super easy to find other ways to commute. We visited multiple restaurants, brew pubs, shopping, etc and loved it!

Check-out was even more simple than check-in. We booked a shuttle bus to the airport since we had to arrive at the airport at an early time. The tour desk in the lobby set it up and the shuttle arrived at the hotel exactly on time and got us to the airport early for only $16 per person.

We'll be back to San Francisco to visit more neighbourhoods, pubs & restaurants that we missed this trip. We'll most definitely stay at Chancellor again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanCityChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel sits in a great spot. Less than 5 minutes to/from the BART & bus lines, plus the cable cars stop right outside. Tons of shopping and restaurants nearby as well.

Only drawbacks are no A/C and smallish/older rooms. Neither would cause me to stay elsewhere though. Staff was super helpful, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,789 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £118 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing