We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the heart of city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“in the heart of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have stayed on top floor (15th) facing to backyard and it was quite enough to sleep. Hotel is not a 4-5 start hotel but it has a small but lovely structure. Rooms are small but enough for couple and bathrooms are very small, they need renovation. For a business or a few days visit it has ideal price offer if you don't want to spend more than $200 for a hotel in the city center. There are no air conditioning in the rooms but it was not warm on my stay.

Front desk staff was very helpful, and they offer free ice cold water, coffee and herbal tea's in the lobby for free. You can also get your daily newspaper for free. There are free wifi in the rooms which you can not easily find in SF hotels. You can choose up to 2 pillows for free from the pillow menu for a better sleep quality.

Within a few steps from the hotel you can reach cable car or union square, market street. Powell train stations if 5 minutes walking from the hotel which you can use BART to reach from the airport. Moscone Center is just about 10-15 minutes by walking.

Room Tip: choose a room not facing to union square for a quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkraoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    1,909
    327
    47
    18
See reviews for
576
2,647
337
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleby Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Well located on Union Square, with compact well equipped and clean rooms. ^The higher you are the quieter. No air conditioning in our room so we left the window open which worked well. Room service breakfast was good but the bar closed on the dot and early which wasn't much good. Got a good recommendation from the desk clerk for China Town for a nice quirky restaurant which was also cheap! Valet parking was expensive. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there are lots of places nearby, Sears was very good with attentive staff.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Was in San Francisco last week for a conference. Conference hotels were closer to Moscone center but too expensive for budget. Chancellor hotel was within walking distance and much more affordable. Lovely room, so convenient to after hour activities and just a block off Union Square. Comfortable bed and clean room. Loved it!

Room Tip: Union Square can be a little noisy so pick a high room if you want to go to bed before 10pm. Otherw...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel did a great job on urging you to be environmentally conscious. I participated to the fullest, totally enjoyed my stay.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much! You don't know how good it feels when someone tells us (and the world via TA) that they really enjoyed their hotel stay.

If one is all business while attending their conference in San Francisco, by all means stay in a large, close, big box hotel - and pay their high prices PLUS an internet fee. However, if one wants the opposite experience - historic, small and unique - in a better location, at a better price with FREE internet, the Chancellor can be a great choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a charming old hotel, with caring, helpful staff. The room was small but adequate, with a comfortable bed. We were on the second floor, on the street, so we could hear the cable cars clanging, but it was San Francisco, after all! This place is definitely a find.

Room Tip: A room on the street side will have some noise, but we thought it was pleasant noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannyGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We are glad you found us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Location, Location, Location! I got on the Cable Car right in front of the Hotel and rode it Fisherman's Wharf. Very convenient to all kinds of shoppin and has Union Square right in front. as stated in other comments-rooms are bit small-but much bigge than European ones. I road the BART in from the Airport and got off at closest stop-four blocks to the Hotel. Extremely friendly staff-i printed my train ticket on their internet computer. Free continental breakfst in AM-muffins and coffee-more than enough for me. I will come again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at this little gem many times and still love it. The staff they have working for them couldn't be better, from the manager Wes, the girl who took our reservation, Karen, the front desk help who checked us in and out, her name was Maggie, the bellmen, and the cleaning ladies. All of them are so friendly and delightful. I always hate to write such a glowing review for fear of not being able to get a reservation the next time I call. I really rely on Tripadvisor for my choices of hotels and restaurants so I think it only fair to pass this on to others.
The linens are very nice, the amenities in the bathroom are great, down to a little rubber ducky to take home. They have newspapers and coffee all day long in the lobby, along with apples, and iced water for the guests. The location couldn't be better. I could go on and on, as you can see we love this hotel. We'll be back.

Green Features: They suggest not changing the linens daily. We are more that happy to sleep on the same sheets a couple of nights.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent four days at The Chancellor in March. I can't say enough about this hotel, the staff go out of their way to help with any query, advice on how to get to a place (this was our first trip to San Francisco) the room was clean, bed very comfortable, even a choice of several different types of pillows. Also fridge which was very useful. We had an 8th floor room at front of building but didn't find it noisy. Location was great, easy walk to restaurants, cable car, Union Square, local buses, and China town. Only downside there were no tea/coffee making facilities in room - suggestion to management for future. Although there was plenty tea/coffee available on ground floor it's nice to have a cuppa in the room before breakfast. Other than that it is a super place to stay and we look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Try the different pillows, the wheat pillow is so comfortable for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tugflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing