We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,626)
Filter reviews
5,626 results
Traveller rating
3,059
2,130
371
48
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,059
2,130
371
48
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow menu cable car union square rubber duck great location free cookies ceiling fan bath salts rooms are small walk in closet powell st there is no air conditioning our honeymoon muni pass an older hotel charming hotel street noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,999 - 2,004 of 5,626 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have stayed on top floor (15th) facing to backyard and it was quite enough to sleep. Hotel is not a 4-5 start hotel but it has a small but lovely structure. Rooms are small but enough for couple and bathrooms are very small, they need renovation. For a business or a few days visit it has ideal price offer if you don't want to spend more than $200 for a hotel in the city center. There are no air conditioning in the rooms but it was not warm on my stay.

Front desk staff was very helpful, and they offer free ice cold water, coffee and herbal tea's in the lobby for free. You can also get your daily newspaper for free. There are free wifi in the rooms which you can not easily find in SF hotels. You can choose up to 2 pillows for free from the pillow menu for a better sleep quality.

Within a few steps from the hotel you can reach cable car or union square, market street. Powell train stations if 5 minutes walking from the hotel which you can use BART to reach from the airport. Moscone Center is just about 10-15 minutes by walking.

Room tip: choose a room not facing to union square for a quite
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkaraoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Well located on Union Square, with compact well equipped and clean rooms. ^The higher you are the quieter. No air conditioning in our room so we left the window open which worked well. Room service breakfast was good but the bar closed on the dot and early which wasn't much good. Got a good recommendation from the desk clerk for China Town for a nice quirky restaurant which was also cheap! Valet parking was expensive. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there are lots of places nearby, Sears was very good with attentive staff.

Room tip: The higher the better
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Was in San Francisco last week for a conference. Conference hotels were closer to Moscone center but too expensive for budget. Chancellor hotel was within walking distance and much more affordable. Lovely room, so convenient to after hour activities and just a block off Union Square. Comfortable bed and clean room. Loved it!

Room tip: Union Square can be a little noisy so pick a high room if you want to go to bed before 10pm. Otherwise after 10pm it was quiet, just the hum of the city life to sleep by.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much! You don't know how good it feels when someone tells us (and the world via TA) that they really enjoyed their hotel stay.

If one is all business while attending their conference in San Francisco, by all means stay in a large, close, big box hotel - and pay their high prices PLUS an internet fee. However, if one wants the opposite experience - historic, small and unique - in a better location, at a better price with FREE internet, the Chancellor can be a great choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a charming old hotel, with caring, helpful staff. The room was small but adequate, with a comfortable bed. We were on the second floor, on the street, so we could hear the cable cars clanging, but it was San Francisco, after all! This place is definitely a find.

Room tip: A room on the street side will have some noise, but we thought it was pleasant noise!
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrannyGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We are glad you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Location, Location, Location! I got on the Cable Car right in front of the Hotel and rode it Fisherman's Wharf. Very convenient to all kinds of shoppin and has Union Square right in front. as stated in other comments-rooms are bit small-but much bigge than European ones. I road the BART in from the Airport and got off at closest stop-four blocks to the Hotel. Extremely friendly staff-i printed my train ticket on their internet computer. Free continental breakfst in AM-muffins and coffee-more than enough for me. I will come again!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckeyeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews