We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a return visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Always worth a return visit!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just spent 7 days in San Francisco at the Chancellor Hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else! Hubby and I have stayed here so many times that I don't plan our 2 yearly trips to San Francisco unless I know we have a room at the Chancellor.

It just feels like our 2nd home when we walk through the doors! Some people have complained even after reading the reviews that the rooms and bathrooms are small, there is no air conditioning, the elevator is slow and you hear the cable cars and musicians playing in Union Square. Well guess what, that is what we like about the Chancellor Hotel! I love having our room face Powell Street and the ability to look out at Union Square to see what is going on. The beds at the Chancellor are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! I don't usually fall fast asleep in a hotel but as soon as my head hits the pillows at the Chancellor, I am out like a light and the sound of the cable cars and the musicians playing fade into the background.

The staff have always been professional, friendly and helpful. Our rooms have always been clean and we love the cookies, coffee, water and evening popcorn in the bar.

A trip to San Francisco would not be complete without a stay at the Chancellor Hotel! Oh, and you can't beat the location!

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper or excessive noise bothers you like cable cars and musicians playing, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harveysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you! We truly appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    1,950
    332
    47
    18
See reviews for
595
2,699
345
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Picked this hotel because of reviews. Hotels can be costly in San Francisco. I felt this older Hotel was a bargain. The rooms are small but nicely decorated. There is no airconditioning. We were in San Fran during 60 degree weather days and 50 degree nights. We left the window open and ran the overhead fan. It was very comfortable. We were on the 15th floor. We could hear music coming from the square. We loved it. Breakfast is available in a nicely decorated restaurant tucked away from the street. Food was good. The cable car stops just across the street. Bus transportation is also nearby. All staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am glad you found us to be a bargain. We try to be a great value because things are costly in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our third stay at the Chancellor. Staff was great as usual, room was available early, cookies warm out of the oven. We love the location and would not stay anywhere else on Union Square. There is a gentleman in the lobby who sells event tickets and more. He is very pleasant. Our room did not have a great view, but in San Francisco we don't spend much time there anyway. My wife loves the wide variety of bed pillow choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p4snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for returning to the Chancellor for a 3rd time. That means a lot to us. Please do not hesitate to request a view room in the future. We will always to our best to honor those requests. And...if you ever get a room that you do not like for some reason, do hesitate to ask to be moved to a different one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our first trip to San Francisco and we were overwhelmed with the hotel choices but I think we chose well, the location was perfect, very central and not too noisy for the hustle and bustle of San Fran life. The room was smallish but very comfortable and adequate for our stay. Excellent value for money and good service. The hotel's your booth was really helpful and sorted our trips out for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Strato2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here during August 2013 for 3 nights. The location is perfect and we had a lovely clean room. We had breakfast just one of the mornings as we were visiting family and it was very nice and reasonably priced. Nearby hotels are much more expensive but don't have the charm that the Chancellor has! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely old fashiooned foyer, on a 3 day stay we felt at home straight away. Concierge and staff always really helpful, excellent breakfasts and good bar. we missed coffee/tea in the room but loved the chic chip cookies or popcorn in the foyer
Yes the room was small bed the high bed is large and the bath deep so, hey (as they say here). I would not recommend using the BART if flying in to SFO with luggage as the BART lift was out of action on our visit so cases had to be manhandled up the stairs and escalators. Much better to let the hotel organise shuttle taxis at $16 a head per trip
Located in Union Square at the centre of everything including the Levi shop - 501s for £30 q pair!
PS for newbies street intersections in the centre have they names engraved on the kerbstones making it harder to get lost

Room Tip: As always the higher the better. there is an empty fridge you cab stock up from Walgreens too
See more room tips
Green Features: Vey good we were more than happy to comply and found the pillows extremely comfortable although we did not partake of the buy in extras
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblerBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I first began staying at this hotel during my professional days on business in San Francisco. I've continued using Chancellor as a base during retirement visits to the city. The location is ideal for my wife and I, the price is amazingly low for the location, and in our opinion the accommodations are excellent. True, the rooms are compact and the bathrooms even more so, but one is not living for weeks there. It's a place to sleep, folks. Staff has always been extremely helpful. The off-site parking (recommended) is reasonable and close enough, with in and out privileges 24/7. . We recommend a room higher up. It's more quiet in the rear of the floors, but we rather enjoy the streetside rooms, for the sounds of the city, including the cable cars. So there!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the floors are more quiet. But (see above) the street sounds are not unbearable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,074 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,865 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing