We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #17 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was a comfortable stay, older rooms,very clean,we were on the second floor over looking the street and mid week the street noise was not a problem. The overhead fans were fine for us even in the hot weather that SanFrancisco had that week.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 5,338 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

I loved SF! One of my favorite stops on a 20 day US trip! And if you wanna explore San Francisco, you have to do it from Union Square! The location is bustling, energetic and perfectly captures the vibe of the city. Chancellor is a small, clean, basic hotel perfectly positioned!

We had come on an early morning flight before check-in time and they still accommodated us and got a room ready as soon as they could. Staff were welcoming and courteous and helped us with any queries we had. The rooms are a little small and basic. But the location of the hotel more than makes up for it! We did the hop on - hop off tour, and the bus stop is just a minute's walk away. Macy's and the entire shopping district is just around the corner. Chinatown is a 15 minute walk away.

Want something fancy and five-starish, look elsewhere! However, if you don't wanna loosen the purse strings much, yet want a clean, warm roof over your heads in an incredible location, choose Chancellor. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ambili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Was put up at the Chancellor hotel on a recent business trip and stayed there for three nights. The hotel is super convenient - steps away from one of the most lively area in SF full of street musicians, cafes, shops and restaurants. The hotel is an easy tram ride to Fishermen's wharf area (if you must go there) and a very pleasant walk to the Embarcadero area, with its hip restaurants. The BART, the MUNI are all easily accessible.

An all-around gem in the heart of SF, the hotel itself is wonderful - clean and quaint - and the front desk is staffed by cheerful and very helpful staff. I would especially like to thank Karla and Vanessa, who went out of their way to sort of issues with the billing.

I would be remiss if I did not mention that the rooms are a bit cramped and the water pressure in the shower leaves something to be desired. This latter was definitely an irritant. But for a short stay, this was an acceptable trade-off in light of all the other pluses. The biggest of all was that each night, I was lulled to sleep by gentle (in volume) melodious trumpet music wafting in from the outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Pros:
1) Fantastic location!!
- Located at Union Square, close to shops, BART (convenient access to airport), restaurants
- Cable car stop is nearby
2) Affordable: one of the less expensive hotels given location/cleanliness
3) Clean: rooms are very clean and well maintained
4) Staff are very nice
5) Pretty decent restaurant for breakfast
6) Cucumber water in the lounge is great for quenching thirst

Cons
1) No a/c, though the ceiling fan was adequate
2) Soundproofing not 100% - sometimes I was woken up by neighbouring doors closing
3) Elevators can be slow

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at the Chancellor Hotel at Union Square SF in May 2014 and it was a very comfortable stay. The Chancellor was conveniently located and was surprisingly quiet. I had a single room on the second floor which also had a balcony/fire escape with two windows which were great to additional airflow.

The front desk staff as well as the concierge staff were very helpful and were able to answer my questions without any difficulty.

Only problem was that there was no air conditioning and the ceiling fan was not very strong.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrdowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

What a perfect hotel! We stayed here as part of a trip for my husbands 30th birthday surprise for 3 nights.
Such a perfect location for exploring the wonders of San Francisco!
The rooms are small but have such comfortable beds that even come with a pillow menu! The hotel also provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine and a jar of boiled sweets as a treat for my husbands birthday.
There's complimentary tea/coffee in the hotel lobby with cookies and fresh popcorn throughout the day.
The hotel is located on Powell street so it's perfect for catching the historic trams down to fishermans wharf!
There's a lot more atmosphere around the hotel than fishermans wharf at night!
We would definitely go back to this hotel just perfect!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing the Chancellor Hotel for that special occasion trip. We appreciate that and take that honor very seriously.

Please come back for the 40th and 50th and several times in between!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our first stop on our California trip brilliantly located in the centre of San Francisco with local transport and the cable car on the doorstep to explore this magical city. Reception staff were always extremely helpful and the services of Mike Singh the tour adviser in the reception was first class . Rooms were good although there didn't seem to be AC but we visited in April and wasn't needed. Next door is one of the best places in the city for breakfast Sears which offered a superb range of food and so popular that there was often a wait before being allocated a table , even the queues were 20 deep on the street on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60celebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £104 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing