We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #17 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My Husband and I stayed here during our Honeymoon in May. We Started in San Francisco and our travel agent Trailfinders recommended The Chancellor Hotel. The best thing about this place is by far the location; you are right in the heart of union square, which is full of shops and restaurants. It's very easy to get about with a tram stopping right outside. The Hotel itself is very clean, staff super friendly, and you get complimentary cookies and coffee. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. Would happily stay here again

Room Tip: Probably a higher room would be best - we were near the top floor and had an amazing view of Union S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfordy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I thought the best thing by far about the hotel is the general manager, but come to think of it, the location IS pretty darn good.

Thanks! All the best in your married life & Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 5,360 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved the friendly quaint atmosphere in this hotel. Staff were really helpful and rooms were clean and well equipped. Really handy to be so close to Union Square so we could pop back to our room during the day. Loved the free cookies and fruit that was always on offer. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Margreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great location right in the heart of the shops are restaurants, lovely customer service and nice lobby with friendly staff. Room was very clean and neat. The only negatives - the room was very small and the airport shuttle service provided m was 40 minutes late to pick us up we almost missed our flight home

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Erb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you. Yes, rooms are small. Hopefully others will see this and know that in advance. Sorry about the shuttle, but glad your made it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were travelling through San Francisco for one day/night and therefore, we wanted a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location. This hotel was perfect and we would definitely stay there again. From the airport you can take BART and then it is about a five minute walk from the BART station, located right on Powell Street. The Chancellor Hotel is a boutique hotel with older rooms that have been nicely updated. Bathroom is small but clean and functional. Lobby is very ordinary. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions. They were also very accommodating as we had to leave our bags with them for several hours the day we checked out. Our room was incredibly quiet (we were not facing Powell Street) and they told us they gave us a quiet room so I am not sure what the noise would be like if your room was on the Powell Street side. Union Square is right across the street. Cable cars run up and down Powell Street. Good shopping nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you. I am coming to realize that noise is a subjective compliant. We have had different people stay in the same room and one will say it was unbelievably noisy and a terrible experience and the other will say it was perfectly quiet. Who knows? What I would say is that if one considers themselves to be noise adverse, they should not stay at the Chancellor.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is located next block next to the union square. about 15 mins walk ( UPHILL ) from the bart station. Upon arrival , we were greeted by the front desk staff, check in was a breeze, and giving a room key within 3 mins. Room is a bit bigger than expected and just enough space for 2 ppl stay. I would def use this hotel again in the future visit.

hotel bar: I did go there for the happy hour, and was not impressed.

hotel restaurant: I did not use the restaurant / food service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weilun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Charming room, small, but very comfortable room. Nice staff throughout the hotel both checking in and out, and in the small bar off the lobby. Will stay here again if plans are to be in downtown San Francisco. Good value for the amenities and quality.

Room Tip: We were in town to run Rock n'Roll San Francisco, arriving late and getting up at 3:30 a.m. We...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChelanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This historic, boutique hotel was really a nice, clean, quiet place to stay. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The staff went out of their way to help us - they ensured a package that we were expecting was delivered to our room within a very timely manner. As well, the hotel offers a lot of little extras such as daily fresh apples, cookies and ice water in the lobby. They also have more than the usual available toiletries in the room. They have the standard shampoo, moisturizer and soap, as well as bath salts for the large soaker tub, ear plugs and a few other things. We had a room that faced Union Square, and were amazed that we couldn't hear the street sounds when the window was closed. Yes, there is an option to actually open the window - not common in most hotels. The room, although small by modern standards, was very comfortable and had a nice walk-in closet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you want to hear some really great trumpet busking in Union Square. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,103 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £102 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing