We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, TINY rooms, not many ammenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #13 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, TINY rooms, not many ammenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at the Chancellor June 22-23. It's described on their website as a European style hotel. That is a good description - it reminded me of the tiny hotel I stayed at in Paris. Tiny elevator, very narrow hallways and the rooms can barely fit the bed. The only options are Queen sized bed (it was actually two twins pushed together - just like they do in Europe) or two twins. I booked through Priceline and had no way of knowing these were the only two bed options so with a party of 4, the sleeping arrangements were interesting to say the least.
Location is great - diagonally across the street from Union Square, and a cable car stop is just across the street. I would stay here again if it was only my wife and I, but be advised - this hotel is not an option for families. There is no air conditioning, which was no problem since there is a ceiling fan and it averages 60s most of the year in SFO. You can open the windows for some ventilation, but since this hotel sits next to Union Square there is a lot of noise from the park and the cable car line in front of the building.

Room Tip: Be aware that the "Queen" is two twins pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fayettedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I must say that I think it is very unfair to rate the Chancellor poorly when the description on our website is called a "good description" of what the hotel actually is by the poster. If they stayed at a hotel in Paris, and knew what "European style" meant, why are we being punished?

I completely understand that this guest did not have the best experience at the Chancellor staying with a family of 4. But with all due respect, folks need to be a little more fair to hotels when rating them like this. If I booked one room at the Ritz Carlton and showed up with 8 people for a room designed for 4 people maximum, should I knock the hotel because I am unhappy with the accommodations?

I also would like to point out that If one uses a blind bidding site, they have no right to be unhappy because they are getting exactly what they want: An X Star hotel (or better) at X Price. If one has any other needs or requirements, blind bidding sites should NOT be used.

On Priceline----------------------------------------------
it says this about the number of people for the Chancellor:" All children are welcome. One child under 4 years stays free of charge when using existing beds.One child under 2 years stays free of charge in a child's cot/crib.The maximum number of children's cots/cribs in a room is 1."

FAQs on Priceline:
Can I request a specific bed type?

Depending on the reservation you make, you may have the option to request a specific bed type.

When you make a reservation using our Retail service, you can select a specific bed type.

When you make a reservation using our Name Your Own Price (or Express Deals when available) you will not be able to select a specific bed type through Priceline.

All rooms will accommodate up to 2 people. Requests for bed types (King, Queen, 2 Doubles, etc.) or other special needs (including preferences for smoking or non-smoking rooms) should be requested through your confirmed hotel and cannot be guaranteed.

Once your hotel room is reserved, you may contact the hotel to request specific bedding. Special requests are at the discretion of the hotel and subject to availability. Keep in mind that if available, there may be an extra charge payable directly to the hotel. Your confirmed hotels phone number is listed on your itinerary page.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The poster is absolutely correct that the hotel is not an option for families in one room and we have gone to great lengths to make sure all booking systems will not let someone enter 4 people and book the Chancellor Hotel.

When looking at the website, and they found the description of the Chancellor as being European Style, I am sorry they did not see the part about the rooms are comfortable for 2 people and all rooms have either one queen bed or two twin beds. We really do try to communicate that to people. And again, the system is set so that a booking will not be accepted if someone enters more than 2 adults. We do our best to prevent this type of situation from happening, but if the incorrect information is entered when booking, there is nothing we can do to help.

Finally, I sure would like to know what amenities we are lacking as a historic, 3 star, boutique hotel in an excellent location on the Cable Car Line. Did they not see the:
Fresh baked cookies?
Apples?
Coffee & Tea with flavored syrups in the lobby 24/7?
Infused Hetch Hetchy Ice Water in the lobby?
Free WiFi?
Our Pillow Menu?
Free use of a neighborhood health club?
Candy jar in the room?
In room safe?
Mini Fridge?
Lobby computer with printer?
Free newspapers?
Make-up mirrors?
Flat panel TVs?
and all the other basic amenities everyone else has?

Anyone out there...Please email me at wtyler@chancellorhotel.com if you think we are failing to provide an amenity we should be providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,731
    1,890
    326
    47
    18
See reviews for
571
2,624
331
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst on our first visit to San Francisco. We were greeted by Rory who was very helpful and check in took no time at all. Upon the arrival in our room there was a bottle of champagne and a card saying Happy Anniversary as our travel agent had previously told them the reason for our visit.
The hotel is perfect and in an excellent location for everything you need. There is always cookies, apples and a coffee / tea machine in the lobby which serves great coffee and the cookies are lovely and fresh.
The bar looks a little on the small side but the service (at times also by Rory) is very personal and friendly.
We had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant which was good value and very tasty and set us up for the rest of the day.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to explore the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishHammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Chancellor Hotel was a stones throw from Union Square (shopping!), the cable care stopped right outside and it wasn't a bad walk to Pier 39. The room was small but very clean. Our only issue was the air conditioner didn't work very well and it felt very stuffy. We had the temperature turned clear down and ran the overhead fan and could not get rid of the stuffy feeling. It resulted in difficult sleeping. The staff was helpful and friendly. The price was right too.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask what the view from you room will be. We had an air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reichspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This isn't a big-name hotel, nor is it chock-full of amenities, but considering it is just up from Union Square, along the Powell- cable car line, and not too difficult to walk to a ton of local shops and the MUNI, this was a great place to stay for a few days in a wholly over-priced city.
I didn't eat at the hotel, but the restaurant smelled great. There were many restaurants on the same block including the Sears Fine Food restaurant next door which seemed to have a line outside for breakfast each morning.
The cable cars go right along the road of this hotel, all the way to Fisherman's Wharf or Ghiradelli Square, depending on the line that board. The MUNI lines are a short walk down to Market St. Which can get you to the shoreline, Golden Gate Park, and other locations throughout the city.
For the money, this hotel couldn't be beat. The noise outside wasn't that bad with the windows closed, but the rooms get warm and there is no air conditioning. At night, the city doesn't rest much, so keep that in mind. The staff here are all around fantastic and worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great location for San Fran. A very short walk to the tram stops, the hop on sight seeing buses even stop nearby! It's on union square and ideal for sight seeing.

The hotel is clean and comfy. The reception and bar area is a little dated but the staff are super friendly and very helpful.

The rooms are compact, but are ok. Bed is comfy and large. The bathroom is dated but clean. The shower lacked power and although the water was warm never really felt like I was getting a "decent shower".

Overall this hotel was worth the money and I'd stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neil-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Worth the money is what it is all about. Tradition, Service & Value since 1914. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
159 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was here last year in May and came again this June as it is the 40th anniversary of Beach Blanket Babylon, a San Francisco institution, and I must say one of the best editions of the hilarious show ever. What a joy to again stay at my favourite hotel, The Chancellor. I always am astonished at the level of commitment to service and comfort this hotel delivers to it's clients consistently, year after year. As many before me have stated, it's the little touches that make the difference, but I must emphasize that they are not just "little". The coffee in the lobby that you can get 24 hrs is a very good coffee, not dishwater. The cookies you get are also very good. You can sit and read the complimentary newspaper that is available in the lobby or take everything to your room The internet that is included is not some weak signal as in many of the other hotels that rip you off with charging you for it.
When you check in you will receive a 2 for 1 ticket for the little bar in the lobby where a bottle of beer (try the Anchor Steam-it's delicious!) costs $4.50 regularly. So two is a bargain!.
The staff are all genuinely nice and helpful. The hotel was sold several years after it was opened (1914) to the Rosenberg family whose grand children still oversee the running of it today. May they live long and prosper and keep it in the family forever.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadianknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Wow...you know the history very well! I report to the Great Grand Children of Isador Rosenberg that bought the hotel in 1917 when it was struggling after it opened. The hotel was high end in its time, and was built to be virtually fire proof since the 1906 Earthquake and fire was still fresh in everyone's mind. Unfortunately for the builders, it was too costly and fortunately for us, lsador was able to make a deal to take it over. I will second: Long live the family ownership and may they prosper - - - so they keep the manager!

Thank you. Your loyal patronage is truly appreciated. And...if it is okay, we may use the title of your posting as a new slogan: The Chancellor Hotel - Champagne Treatment at Beer Prices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Chancellor hotel. I was on the 7th floor with a room overlooking Powell St. While a little noisy I loved the atmosphere and local sounds that floated up from the street. The hotel also provides ear plugs if it's a real bother.
The rooms are small but expected for the style/ age of the hotel and the bathrooms even smaller but it was perfect for me!! The big was super comfortable and a pillow selection available.
Also their is no air con, but there is a ceiling fan which was fine during my stay as it wasn't hot yet.
Located across from Union Sq you have access to great shopping and lots of transport options. Walk to Market St for the F line to Fisherman's Wharf or to Kearny St for the 8X bus.
You can hire bikes from Union Sq to explore the city and ride over the Golden Gate Bridge.
Great stay at the Chancellor and would recommend to anyone thinking about staying here!

Room Tip: If you don't want noise ask for a room on one of the top floors but the lift may take you longer...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscious of being mindful of the environment, lots of signs about their commitment and what you can do.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing