We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good hotel in a great location. Located in union square, it is close to a variety of shopping and dining choices. For first time visitors it is also situated on the main route for the historical street cars and tour buses. The hotel delivered a clean and comfortable room but don't expect a 5 star experience. However, the staff were very helpful and free tea and coffee are available. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,279)
There are newer reviews for Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 5,279 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Chosen from Trip Advisor reviews.
this is as good a base as you could wish for.
street car stop just outside. close to bus routes.
easy walk to major shopping area.
clean, friendly, terrific atmosphere.
extremely helpful staff (especially in the tour/gift shop)
room size was never an issue for us. we had all the room we needed as a couple.
bed was super comfy and they seem to be able to offer a never ending supply of different pillows to suit whatever taste.
we would return - and you can't say better than that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great staff, great location,reasonable price, nice food, free tea and coffee day and night.
All the things I look for in a hotel for a city break, if you want plush then this may not be the place for you, but if you want a great base from which to explore SF then this really is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Chancellor is clean, pretty and located in on the streetcar route. Yay! It was very convenient. Coffee lovers, Starbuck's is literally across the street. Shopping is only steps away. The front desk is filled with very helpful, friendly people. It was a good stay. 2 things that bothered us: Small room size and no A/C. Note: We knew they didn't have A/C, but our impression was that San Fran is cool year around. We got very hot. We did request a fan and they supplied one, free of charge. We were thankful for that!

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if you're hot! ;)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently stayed for 4 days at the Chancellor Hotel in San Francisco. The hotel's location is superb - right in the middle of the city and the cable cars run right outside the door. Union Square is just a block away! Tina , who worked at the check in desk was very helpful - got us a quiet room upon request and suggested a great restaurant for our last night dinner. The breakfast and lunch prices were reasonable and the food plentiful. No dinner is served but there is a bar in the lobby and you can order food there or go out to one of the many restaurants nearby. There was always coffee in the lobby as well as cookies in the afternoon. We found the room to be small, although the bed was very comfortable. Since you don't spend much time in your room it didn't bother us but it was a little difficult to maneuver around each other in the room. Overall, a good value for our money and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We wanted a quiet room and got one but the view was of air shafts and buildings next door. It didn...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneymoonAlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This little place has huge character. We stayed here for 4 nights and we would come back in a heartbeat. If shopping is your thing look no further. all the stores on your doorstep. Not the biggest or brashest hotel on the square but I bet its one of the friendliest. Small rooms but its only for sleeping in and the welcome more than makes up for this. Great pillow menu. Good breakfast in hotel or plenty of places within 3 minutes to eat. Excellent customer service. Faults? Apart from cosy room can't think of one. Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Get a front room so you can open the window and hear the sax player in the evening.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avril t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Before heading to SF I was having trouble finding a hotel in my price range that would rent to an 18 year old so I posted on trip advisor to see if anyone knew of a solution and the manager of the Chancellor hotel messaged me and helped me out. He was really nice about it and helped me get a room for a great price. When me and my friend arrived at the hotel they had sparkling lemonade in cute little champagne type bottles with glasses waiting for us. Not only that but a candy jar to dip in to during the week and picture frames all wrapped up as gifts for us when on our last day. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfy and free of bugs. All around really nice. The hot water in the shower lasts forever which is an added bonus!


The consierge was incredibly helpful. We always had questions about the best place to grab food on a budget and how to get places and what was worth seeing and they were always very helpful. There was free lemon water, cookies, coffee and apples everyday. We always stocked up on apples as snacks for the day. Everyone was just really nice and helpful.

The location was great! Only a few blocks from market street where you can catch a MUNI to practically anywhere which was incredibly helpful. A trolley ride away from fisherman's wharf, and the trolley stops right outside the hotel.

There were only two drawbacks. One there was no AC in the room which I knew before we got there thanks to others reviews. We stayed in the middle of May and it got pretty hot. We ended up opening the window before bed and closing it at night. It was pretty hot but not unbearable. Secondly its loud if you open the window, we had a room facing the street, 9 floors up. The noise was not a problem at all with the window closed though.

All around I would say this hotel is great! I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you Emily. Sorry about the warm spell we had during your stay. That was a little unusual.

However, I am very happy you had a nice visit and glad we could help. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,019 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,319 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £119 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing