We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Its on Union Square, the centre of San Fran, especially for shopping. Great staff, a nice bar and restaurant.

Rooms are small but well kitted out and not noisy. You can walk almost every where and there's a cheesecake factory opposite

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohdear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,271)
There are newer reviews for Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 5,271 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are very detailed hotel shoppers when visiting any city in the world, After lots of research on various sites, we chose a one week visit to The Chancellor because of the value (price, ratings, wifi and location). The hotel not only met, but substantially exceeded our expectations. Yes, the rooms are compact but we are accustomed to the size from the our stays in European hotels. Regardless, they are extremely comfortable and perfect for the needs of a couple. I was initially concerned about lack of air conditioning in July but those concerns were totally erroneous as it is not necessary at all and I doubt anyone would find an occasion to use it. Don't buy in to those complaints in other reviews because San Francisco is quite cool in the evenings and, frankly, very cool during the day. The bellman was extremely friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The front desk was the same and their was never a line for questions or service. You can expect a refrigerator in every room (not a minibar, but an empty refrigerator) which is great for snacks, white wine, juice, beer etc. Although there is no coffee maker, their is free coffee in the lobby 24/7. The hotel also provides very good complimentary cookies around the clock and complimentary popcorn. Breakfast in the dining room is very reasonably priced ($11.00 to $14.00 compared to most other hotel dining rooms. The Eggs Benedict were wonderful. Best of all, you could not ask for a better location in San Francisco. The Wifi was very good in our room and it is free. We were considering staying at Fisherman's Wharf and we are so happy we did not. It is nice to visit for a day but not nice for a week long stay. The cable car to Fisherman's Wharf stops across the street from the Chancellor and that was our transportation to the waterfront. Union Square and this hotel are much more centrally located than Fisherman's Wharf because it is within easy walking distance of China Town, The Muni and Bart. The Muni can get you anywhere you want to go in the city and is easy to use. You will find DSW right beside the hotel and Macys and many other fine stores within one to three blocks of the Chancellor (in case you need a forgotten item of piece of clothing). We highly recommend that you put this hotel on the top of your list of options for a visit to San Francisco. We will definitely not consider any other option when we return for a second visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tkevin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Well said!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and a very welcoming environment to spend your time in.

I would have to try really hard to think of something to criticise this hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. I won't repeat what other positive reviews say other than to endorse them. I didn't want to leave. Highly recommended for location, room amenities, staff and breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great hotel, not the biggest room, but everything you need plus free tea/coffee etc in reception. Location is spot on for everything, all the staff so helpful and some half price cocktails between 4-7pm! Recommend

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DDmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in San Francisco. The hotel is right in the heart of 'the action' so to speak, with many shops and restaurants right on its doorstep. The cable car stops right outside too, so you can hop right on and take it down to Fisherman's Wharf without having to queue at the main stop at the bottom of Powell Street.

The hotel itself has a lovely historic feel to it and the rooms are of a very high standard, lovely period furnishings but with a great coffee machine and flat screen TV - perfect. We were upgraded to a suite as it was our honeymoon and we were given a lovely bottle of wine, local handmade chocolates and a really nice souvenir photo frame.

As mentioned there is a free wifi, the team are incredibly friendly and helpful, plus the complimentary tea, coffee and fresh popcorn are a great touch - we really couldn't fault this place, and just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bouncing_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We wish you could have stayed longer too!
Hurry back. We miss you already.
All the best,
Wes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

One of the unique properties of San Francisco, located near Union Square and the accompanying color of the area. Shopping galore in every type of store. On the cable car line to get to Fisherman's Wharf and many attractions. Helpful Staff, courteous personnel! It was a great spot to see the city. Valet Parking as steep as the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JRTQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much! The Chancellor is like a fine California Wine...we are getting better with age! 1914-2014 = We are celebrating 100 years on Union Square this year.

Parking is definitely steep in San Francisco. We would always avoid having a car if possible when staying at the Chancellor or even in the City itself. As steep as it is - and hard to believe - our parking prices are on the low side of the average. Crazy!

For others planning to come to the Chancellor: Take advantage of our great location and walk to everything or use public transit. If you are doing a day trip to Monterey or Napa Valley, rent a car for just that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location near lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms are well maintained and on the smaller size, but the space is used well. The staff are very friendly, there is free tea, coffee, apples and cookies in the lobby which is a nice touch. The wifi is free and reliable. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it was really nice.

We requested a room on a high floor, and were given the top floor at the front of the hotel. It was quiet with the windows closed and atmospheric with them open as you can hear the trams and people playing instruments.

My only negative is the room got quite hot at night and there was no individual temperature control for the room. We just made sure we left the windows open in the evening and closed them before going to bed.

Some of the rooms don't have windows so I would definitely request a room with windows. A high floor is quieter.

There is a travel desk to help you with bookings. We booked an airport transfer with them to San Francisco for $55.

I would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a window.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EzzOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We appreciate the excellent rating and positive comments. The only thing I would like to correct is that some of our rooms don't have windows. All of our rooms have windows to the outside. Some rooms do look out to a light well (wall), but again, every room does have windows.

Thanks and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4,009 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 229 in San Francisco
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,311 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £123 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing