We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #13 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a gem. Had the pleasure of staying here for my 60th birthday!
Loved everything about the hotel, the location...perfect....the room....perfect....bed was very comfy. We stayed in room 1500 facing Powell. I was pleased to see that the window opened and was able to get that nice cool refreshing air in the room. We had a ceiling fan as well and with the help of earplugs were able to have a good nights sleep. Is it noisy? yes, especially if not used to city noise. But with earplugs all was well. They even provide those. Also found a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. Not a wine drinker but appreciated the nice touch. Would highly recommend. Loved it!

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper so the earplugs were a must. Had a great night's sleep with them. Don...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you want the maid to make your bed without putting on clean sheets they recommend doing so. With the shortage of water I think this is great. Let's all pitch in and do what we can to help the shortage.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,731
    1,890
    326
    47
    18
See reviews for
571
2,624
331
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel may be small and old world (boutique) but ideally located with exceptionally comfortable beds (my wife wants to find out what pillows they used as she found them so comfortable). We found the staff went out of their way to be helpful and certainly on at least two occasions unprompted they volunteered advice/ assistance which avoided hassle and saved us time/ money. The free wifi was also great to have.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably better (we were on the 8th) given its central location in the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We really liked this hotel - it felt like somewhere with real history and charm (it reminded us a bit of Tower of Terror at Disney but without the terror!)
The staff were really lovely and helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved this retro feel hotel. It's traditional with no air con but in San Fran in the summer we were still a bit chilly, I couldn't see the need anyway.
The room has a great luggage cupboard where you put all your luggage on luggage tables and can access without messing up the room, every hotel should have one.
We slept very well and the free coffee, apples, cookies and friendly staff made the stay very memorable and enjoyable.
Great hotel and great location next to china town, on union square and trolley cars passing by on the street, fabulous.

Room Tip: The higher the better as it is central and has city noises.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good, recycle policy is in place and easy to follow their recycling wishes.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siomitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great old hotel. Good location for downtown. Easy access to Market St , tour buses, and cable cars. Staff courteous and efficient. Enjoyed the bar, and the meals we had there. Wifi excellent. Breakfast was great, especially enjoyed the SF omelette.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you! Celebrating 100 Years on Union Square this year.
Tradition, Service & Value since 1914.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Last reviewed this hotel in 2012. This was our fourth visit so we knew exactly what to expect and we were not disappointed.

Possible negatives are that the hotel is old, the lifts are a bit shaky and slow and it is like a step back in time.

Positives - all of the above together with a great location, friendly staff, (especially in the bar), and a slightly quirky atmosphere.

The rooms are starting to look a little tired, though nothing redecorating won't cure. Major renovations would totally ruin the ambiance of the place. Coffee making in rooms would be the only addition I would definitely like, if only to save getting dressed to wander down to the lobby first thing in the morning.

Won't be looking any further than the Chancellor on our next visit to San Francisco.

Room Tip: High rooms for quiet - front rooms for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYVILLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much! I can not express how much that means to us that we are your "go to" hotel in San Francisco. We look forward to serving you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Its on Union Square, the centre of San Fran, especially for shopping. Great staff, a nice bar and restaurant.

Rooms are small but well kitted out and not noisy. You can walk almost every where and there's a cheesecake factory opposite

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing