We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location - 100 Years Young” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location - 100 Years Young”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wife & I stayed four nights last week during its 100th Anniversary. Hotel hosted a free Champagne lobby reception celebrating its centennial. NIce touch!
Superb location one block north of Union Square. Near cable cars, shopping, restaurants and Starbucks. Chancellor offers everything you want, including tours and discount tickets to some museums and sights, like the California Academy of Science. We really enjoyed our stay. Forewarned Powell Street rooms could be noisy, we stayed on the top (15th floor-rear). A little sound with windows open but nothing when closed. FYI Chancellor dos not have AC but has ceiling fans which does the trick.

Room Tip: High floor in rear of hotel. we stayed in 1508.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAC197561000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    1,867
    323
    47
    18
See reviews for
565
2,607
323
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parlin, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Comfortable room, right next to union square. Trolley stop outside or short walk to street car and within a mile of ferry building. No air conditioning was not an issue at all. Would stay again. Big closets so you don't have to have luggage in your way. Clean and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulmers2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for a 4 day weekend and were not disappointed. The location is great. It's close to the Bart station if you're coming in from SFO (which is good because you don't have to wheel your luggage so far), its very close to the cable car origination spot (although don't get on at market place, you'll wait in line 1 hour easily), its a great location if you're using muni (buses, etc) and it was a pretty easy walk to Chinatown. The room itself is pretty small but very nicely appointed. It doesn't have AC but even in mid July it was too bad. I can't believe how cold it was while we were there. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our 4 day stay here was perfect. The location is great - take the BART from San Francisco or Oakland airport and walk 4 blocks to the hotel. The cable car runs right past the hotel & there are lots of restaurants and great shopping within a few blocks. The lobby is old world charm and the staff is welcoming & seem genuinely proud of the hotel from the bell hop to the housekeeping staff. The rooms are a comfortable size with high ceilings that make them feel larger than they are. Most importantly, they are extremely functional - the bathroom for instance is not huge but the lighting is excellent, the mirrors are well placed & the water pressure is good. The bed is great with lovely bedding, comfy chairs and a bottle of wine to greet us. It's all the thoughtful touches we appreciated - earplugs on the bedside table - we had a 7th floor room on the front of the hotel (if you don't enjoy the street sounds as we do, you should likely request a quieter room in the back). During our stay, the hotel celebrated it's 100th anniversary with a cocktail party in the lobby and while we were out our little yellow duckie was replaced by a yellow duckie in a tuxedo! Just another delightful detail. I highly recommend this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: It's a noisy street and you'll need the windows open in warm weather so if you're a ligh...
See more room tips
Green Features: Winner of a green award. Recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hookedonjetfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

As you will see from other reviews, the rooms are not terribly large. However, the location is phenomenal and the staff very helpful. Steps from Union Square, easily accessed from Bart, three blocks from the start of the Powell St. Cable Car line, in the middle of the theater district. Easy check in, helpful tour desk. Also -- honest! My son inadvertenly left my wallet wide open on an unmade bed and left the room. When we came back the bed was made, the wallet replaced and everything was in it! Thank you honest housekeeper! (There are in room safes available.) We stayed on the back side, which eliminated street noise, but we had the white noise of the AC system from the hotel behind. Bed was comfortable and we slept well.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room on the back side to avoid street noise. They provide earplugs.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious... provide for sheet reuse and in room recycling bin.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lettuceleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world citizen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Can't add much to the knowledge base here you can glean from the many reviews; save for the fact that if you are not told about roof work and you are staying on an upper floor, expect to be loudly hearing everything that goes on on the roof.

I moved a floor down the next day and could still hear it, it sounded like it was still right above me. So, great charming hotel with fifty year veteran bell boy/grandpa, perfect location and wonderful service.

Just beware repair work, maybe inquire before you book. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divining_Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Sorry about the roof repair. I was not aware of any roof repair going on back in November, but I am sure it is over by now where ever it was. However, people should be aware that there is always something being done around Union Square so there will be noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived earlier than anticipated, but the girl who checked us in told us if we waited a little bit longer, we would be glad with the room we were pre-assigned. We trusted her and decided to relax at the intimate lobby bar. We were not disappointed with our decision. The room was bright, comfortable, and the bathtub (complete with its own "rubber ducky"!) was deep enough for a soothing bath after a long coast to coast flight with many changes! The next two days were spent exploring the city by cable car, bus, and even bicycles! Our favorite destinations were Fisherman's Wharf, The Mission District, and a free walking tour of the Victorian Homes, which begins at the corner of Union Square, closest to the hotel. Our favorite nighttime destination was "The Starlight Lounge", located across the street from the entrance to the hotel. They made the best "classic cocktails" we've had in a very long time! They also had an amazing view from their very popular dance floor, complete with DJ taking requests. It is a stellar location in SF, CA !!!

Room Tip: Trust the front desk clerks, they know best!
See more room tips
Green Features: The bathtub is big and deep enough for two! Twice the enjoyment and half the water!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BraintreeTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,690 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing