We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location for a charming hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Really nice room, with character, but like real character - as in rooms were quaint and pretty, and not character as in grimy. Location was awesome, right on Union Square, close to everything, including those trams that would take you everywhere. Windows were soundproof enough that noise from outside wasn't a problem at night. Front desk was very courteous and helpful, housekeeping was prompt. The pillow options were a great touch, so were the free local phone calls. All in all very good place for it's price. I paid around USD$100 per room per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,845
    1,980
    338
    47
    18
See reviews for
611
2,736
348
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holden, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Terrific location, very classy, yet reasonably priced. This is a super clean, very comfortable, and appealing hotel that was a joy to stay in. Inside, you have simplicity, a fine home-base feel, and understated elegance; outside, you step directly into the pleasurable bustle of the city. The hotel is surprisingly quiet, given its location in the heart of the action and directly on the cable car lines. The handsome overhead fan is entirely sufficient for this naturally ocean-cooled city. Adjacent to the lobby, with its free coffee, cookies, and tea anytime, is an excellent breakfast and dining room with friendly service. You can walk to many of the prime locations and easily take the nearby public transportation everywhere else. Free access to a nearby health club (with weight machines and lap pool) completes a virtually perfect picture. Prices may vary by night of stay (we actually paid less on the weekend).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarinetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIloam Springs, AR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon and it was WONDERFUL! Yes the rooms are smaller, but there was a HUGE closet! There was plenty of room for our luggage and all the shopping bags we accumulated. I love the way they were decorated, it was so cheerful. I never tried the pillow menu, there were 5 pillows on our bed when we arrived and that was enough:) Our room looked out over the square, it was beautiful at night! We never took a cab, just walked everywhere and then got on the BART to get back to the airport. It was really easy to get around. We are planning to go back for our one year anniversary, we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clovejstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This is my first time to San Francisco. I booked this hotel online, through the Chancellor Hotel website, and I selected a daily rate that included a food/beverage meal credit. After I booked, I read some poor reviews on this site, but didn't really pay much attention.

First of all, this hotel couldn't be in a better location! it is right on Union Square, the cable car goes right in front of this hotel. There is shopping and dining everywhere. It is very easy to get to the Fisherman's Warf etc.

The room I have (9th floor) was exactly as I saw the photos on the website, right down to the paint color. I have a room with 1 double bed. I think most people consider this room to be small ONLY because it has 1 bed, and not 2 beds. I guess its kind of small, but certainly not uncomfortable. I take cruise vacations all the time (2 or 3 times per year) and this hotel room is HUGE compared to a cruise cabin! ha ha I have plenty of room here to get around, there's even a nice desk where I work at my laptop (I also LOVE that there's free WiFi here - which is one of the reasons why I selected this hotel to begin with) and a lovely sitting area with 2 chairs & a small table.

I haven't heard any strange noises, am not kept up at night and I wouldn't even know that there were other people on my floor unless I saw them on the elevator.

I got great service at the front desk. I think the breakfast food in the Lougues restaurant is great, although the first day I ate there the service was VERY SLOW but that's only because it was busy. The lobby lounge is only open 5pm to 930pm, which isn't very long opening hours, but I managed to find a nice lounge close by to enjoy after dinner drinks with friends.

I definitely recommend this hotel. Great value, fantastic location, very clean and comfortable. I have recommended this hotel to a group of approx 40 friends coming here for a reunion in September and I would recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamarama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel in the beginning of May. It was amazing. The rooms are very clean, the beds are super confortable, we requested a high floor, so we did not have any noise. The location is marvellous. There is a cable car stopping juest in front of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, they will try to help you in any way possible. I have worked in a hotel in Belgium myself for 1.5 years and must say there is nothing bad about this hotel. My compliments to management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silke_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We searched through numerous hotels in San Francisco and decided to take a risk on this one based on some poor reviews. We were not disappointed by this hotel at all.

We booked directly through the hotel website because we found a deal that included secure parking with in-and-out privileges. This combination was much cheaper than other hotels.

Reception: Staff were exceptionally friendly and had no problem getting us a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. We were also allowed to park at the front of the hotel on check in for 30 mins which gave us a few minutes to relax before checking out San Francisco

Room: Excellent room, very modern interior and was spotless.

Location: On Union square so it is impossible to be more central. There are numerous bus tours departing 2 minutes walk away from the hotel.

Parking: Secure parking provided a 5 minute walk away from the hotel.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel as it was approx. one third of the cost of similar hotels in the area and from our perspective we could not fault it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland cork
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Hotel is in the heart of union square, Reception staff are all smiles and helpfull,
we found our room suitable size, NOT tiny. Allso some people said the walls
were thin and you could hear from the ajoining rooms, we found our room nice
and quiet. (room 1001) Yes there is NO modern air-conitioning units installed, but
there is a huge ceiling fan which is very effective and quiet. and kept our room cool,
temp during our stay was in high 80. Rooms are kept very clean to high standard,
you can also have a choice of about 12 differant types of pillows, Also in room is a
modern flat screen tv, safe, iron, table, two chairs, YES bathroom is small but you
wont be spending all your time in there (will you ! ) And yes you can take the DUCK !
Their is lots of restaurants near the hotel, for breakfast we went to Sears next door and
allso went into the chancellors restaurant (LUGUES) both very good , Also try the cheesecake factory in Macys for breakfast, lunch, or dinner very good , expect a 15 to 20 minute wait at max. Also in reception you can obtain free coffee, cookies, apples, newspapers, and internet. Outside the hotel the cable car stops so if your going up to
fishermans walf get on the one which says (POWELL MASON )cost is $5 per person per oneway trip, or you can get three day pass fom inside the hotel (TOUR DESK)
We could not fault this reasonable priced hotel and would be happy to return someday
thanks tom.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank headache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,773 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing