We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location,price and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ennismore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location,price and service”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The location is perfect, and the price is great for downtown San Francisco. The room is smallish but not a problem at all. The ceilings are high and it has a ceiling fan. The bathtub was large and comfortable. The bed was great. I found the sheets uncomfortable(scratchy)the first night, when I mentioned it to the front desk they were changed and I was very satisfied. It is very helpful that you can rent a car and/or buy a MUNI pass all in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwj0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,757
    1,905
    327
    47
    19
See reviews for
575
2,643
336
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

First class location in heart of San Francisco. Rooms adequate in size but certainly not large. Standards of cleanliness were OK. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
I have just got to say that the ratings by this person are all way too low if they believe we have a GREAT location and "the hotel does what it says on the tin."

If we only delivered on what we say, that should be at least average, but many would argue that just doing that would make us very good. AND, when you put a great location on top of it, we are at least very good - if not excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I just returned from a five-night stay at the Chancellor and found it absolutely perfect. I am astonished at the review that said she had a horrible bed - we had one of the BEST beds we've ever slept in at a hotel. The location is perfect for access to Union Square, the BART, the cable cars, and there are lots of wonderful restaurants in the area. The entire staff was very helpful, remembering us by name, and doing everything they could to be of assistance (making dinner reservations, looking up BART departure times, getting us a cab, etc.). They provided a mini fridge to our room upon request too.

Some may comment on the smallish room and bathroom, but we found it to be more than adequate - and about the size of nice hotels in Europe. If you want to pay extra to say in a suite, fine - go for it. We didn't need air conditioning in November and found the overhead ceiling fan and open windows more than adequate. And our room (909) was incredibly quiet. NO street noise other than the occasional cable car.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel and I will definitely recommend it to all of my friends - and should I ever return to San Francisco, this is the only place I'll consider staying. The Chancellor made my trip to San Francisco absolutely wonderful. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardinalsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

You can't beat your first night ever in the States! Shell shocked, jet lagged? Stay here and feel welcomed. A great plus was the family atmosphere, by that I mean I felt like a part of the family. The rubber ducky is a nice touch as so many say, but the Irish bar tender and added booze made me fell very welcolmed at the small bar. He actually ran out onto the street to return my forgotten coat when I had left it behind!!! As an iside, the restaurant next door won't disappoint. Having swatted up on San Fran watching 'The Birds' it was so cool to be staying so close to the opening scene! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to be central, with no bother, and a friendly smile. My only negative is that I did not meet the manager who writes decated responses to the dastardly comments on here, he seems like a real card!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan_the_middle_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
Oh, I am a real card alright... unfortunately, it's a Joker!

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

A wonderful hotel, great location in a safe, CLEAN area near everything from great restaurants to shopping to public transit to tour starting points. The room was lovely & very clean. Room Service for breakfast (on my birthday) was wonderful.
We asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation and he seemed to know minute details of nearly every place in the city and we ended up at a great French place 5 minutes away. Would definitely go back to the Chancellor!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

You can't put a price on the history of the Chancellor hotel and surrounding area. The cable cars run right in front of the hotel and you are in easy walking distance of Union Square and tons of restaurants and rental car locations. Starbucks across the street is handy as well. Very nice!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Joseph
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

On our Babymoon to San Francisco, we had a fantastic time considering I was 28 weeks pregnant. You literally cannot beat the location of the Chancellor Hotel, but be prepared for horrible beds and rude staff. The lady in the lobby (can't remember her name) who helps you with attractions was the best though! It was a mixed bag, but considering the price and value I'd stay there again...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbi_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
I don't know what to say. I am sorry they felt we were rude and the beds were uncomfortable. I wish I knew the room number or details of the rudeness. That way, I can try to do something about it. Without those details, I have to assume they are in less than 1% that just wont be happy with us no matter what. However, I think if they try some of the other 3 star hotels in town, they will appreciate us more.

For those of you out there in TripAdvisor Land looking to stay at a hotel, if you are not happy with anything, please let the hotel know. I can promise that at the Chancellor, we will bend over backwards to make you happy. Any good hotel will. In this case, we could have moved rooms or moved beds or found them a better hotel and they would pay nothing at the Chancellor since they were unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
2,699 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
1,600 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing