We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Luna San Francisco Castro
Nearby Hotels
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
26
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
7
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseself cateringmetro stationfull kitchenshort walkapartmentsupermarketbedroomblock
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having checked the place via tripadvisor, we booked the upper super gigantic huge apartment upstairs and enjoyed every moment. Service before you get to the place is fast and efficient; everything we needed was in the e-mail we got from management. Information booklet in the apartment gives you many tips about places to see and where to eat. Location is ok, in the middle of the Castro gay area, sometimes in the evening a little loud but more than ok. The apartment is huge, 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room. As this is not a hotel, you actually feel immediately at home, in your own place. Cozy and comfy, it had everything we expected. Washer and dryer are available, a small kind of Zen garden in the back. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the place a lot. The apartment is minutes away from the metro station and the bus station. Count 1 hour by foot to the tourist spots or 25-30 minutes by road. Many restaurants in the area. When in San Francisco, we will only book this place! We paid $ 3600.-- for one week, for y couple it's quite a lot, but we enjoyed the space a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian Appel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

There are a lot of steep steps whichever apartment you choose. The adjoining house is being rebuilt and from early morning the construction noise is unbearable. In addition you can hear every singe footstep/conversation from the apartments above and below so if you are unlucky enough to have late night revellers/early morning arguers/serial toilet flushers/very loud tv watchers/crying children (we had all five) as fellow guests during your stay you will not get a wink of sleep.
The first floor apartment is a little dark, the lighting in the master bedroom disastrous, but the kitchen is large, well kitted out and overlooks the sunny garden which is for communal use. Internet and phones go down regularly which is frustrating. All the staff are charming but I would never go back.

Room Tip: The carriage house probably offers the best chance of peace and quiet....but lots of steps.....
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenthoteluser101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahuna, Owner at Casa Luna San Francisco Castro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

The nearby construction is finished.
I'm sorry your stay was during the time our next door neighbor was renovating their home and the gas company was digging up the street for new lines! It was terrible at times, as there were a few weeks of jack hammering. We informed all our guests before booking, which was all we could do. It is finished now and we are back to the usual quiet. It's amazingly quiet here as we are on a side street in a residential neighborhood. I hope you can stay again and experience the quiet you so sorely missed on your visit. We would be delighted to offer a nice discount for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Casa Luna is in a perfect spot for exploring all the delights of San Francisco and escaping away from tourist central at the end of the day. Public transport could not be easier and we became huge fans of the F line trolleys.
After a glitch which meant the apartment wasn't ready for our arrival Debbie and Irma could not have been more helpful. The apartment (Carriage House) was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was good and it was great to be able to do some laundry after ten days on our travels!
We used the recommended driver, Don, for both our airport transfers and he was brilliant, perfect stress free travel.
Castro is a lively area with lots of bars and restaurants. We particularly liked the slider bar - warm and friendly and showed English soccer on TV - and Bisou - really fab French restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Casa Luna apartment was fabulous. Very tastefully decorated and felt quite luxurious. Kitchen had everything you could need. Bathrooms were spotless and we loved the Eco lavender shampoos and gels. Beds were very comfortable. Only problem was we were a family of 4 adults plus 1 baby and the room which could fit the cot had very little storage, just 1 very narrow wardrobe. As anyone who travels with a baby knows they have a lot of stuff and it was a shame we had to work from suitcases on the floor. Also, it was difficult to get a hold of the manager before the trip with queries and once we were there (couldn't find cot on first night) but if you want total privacy then it's great there are no staff members about. Only slight disappointment in the whole stay was when work was being done on the steps outside the apartment one morning, a Sunday, whilst baby was sleeping. I asked very very politely, and beseechingly as baby was jet lagged and up since 1am, if they could come back but they said it had been hard to schedule etc and as I was closing the door one of them was quite rude about my request. If they had told us about the work we would have taken the baby out in the pram for the nap. After all the very very nice people we encountered it was disappointing that the rudest person was actually literally on our doorstep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeCheile201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahuna, Owner at Casa Luna San Francisco Castro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

We actually let that very talented maintenance man go. Our guest's comfort is the number one priority, not his schedule. I did speak to him and he felt his work on the stairs was at a point were it would have been unsafe to stop and leave as is. Anytime there is work to be done we schedule it mid-day when our guests are typically out sightseeing. I'm very sorry for the disturbance. -Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We chose Casa Luna because it was close to public transit and looked like a lovely unit for 2 couples! It worked for both! Public transit was perfect: 1) Muni Metro was about 50 steps from our door -- fast, easy routes to downtown, cable car, the water, Bart, and other bus connections; 2) F trolley runs directly between Castro district, the ferry terminal, Embarcadero, and Fisherman's Wharf. Keep a map handy and avoid transports around the rush transit hours.

Casa Luna is a lovely combination of housing units that make you feel at home. Our discussions with Irma, the property manager, were helpful and extremely pleasant!

There were a few issues that we encountered beginning with the booking, but it is difficult to find a rental that is perfect. My husband and I are responsible renters and generally accepting of flaws when a place essentially serves our needs. And, Casa Luna does that! I highly recommend it for those who are mobile. This is not a place that would work for people with disabilities.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue for you, ask whether this is a place for you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews