We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst 'hotel' ever”
Review of Sweden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sweden House Hotel
Ranked #53 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The worst 'hotel' ever”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

DO NOT GO THERE! I booked a room with a friend for 5 nights. Although the web site said the minimum number of nights should be 7, we were charged and received a confirmation email. The day we got there the guy that opened the door of the creepy 'hotel' said there was no booking under our names. We called the manager and after a while arguing on the phone he accepeted to let us stay. The room was the filthiest of my life, and I have been to really cheap hostels. The sheets smell as if 40 people had slept there before us, There was no toilet paper in the shared bathrooms, no towels for us, the microwave in our room did not have the plate, the light of the room was a bulb attached to a shoelace, you could hear every single noise in the room next and above ours and the walls were falling down!. We decided to leave that house of horror the following day and the manager did not mind at all. He might be used to that reaction. He told us he would call the 'main office' (which does not exist as we learnt after talking to other receptionists in the street) and that he would reimburse the rest of the nights we booked. He never gave us the money back. Please do not go to that awful place.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ivy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    2
    3
    33
See reviews for
3
9
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This place was dirty, they didn’t even provide towels, and the room pictures must be of a different hotel because the place I stayed looked nothing like that. You would be better staying at the rescue mission around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PuterC0nsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

So I thought it would be okay as it was relatively cheap and you get your own room. However a week later I found out that I had bed bug bites all over my arms! If I had the choice, I would have paid the same price to stay two blocks down at the Youth Hostel. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clu5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is not a hotel at all. Most of the 'guests' are residents of one sort or another, the 'management' is only around during regular business hours.
I thought I was a hardened traveler, I've stayed in cheap hotels and hostels all over the world and this was the only one I actually couldn't sleep in. Also, the neighborhood is the worst in all of San Francisco - the infamous panhandle.
Just don't stay here. For any reason.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NYC_theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I'm student and I travel a lot. However I decided to save 20 dollars and stay in this dump... I lived there for a month and that was worst month in my life... My body itched all the time, while I've been there because of insects
I didn't have windows in my room as well as shelves for my clothes and hangers. All furniture is dirty. However if you go to their website they say it's "newly renovated"
You hear everything what's going on in passage. Bathroom door slammed so loudly and they don't care about it! Moreover here are no shelves in the bathroom too!
YOu can get much much better hotel for the same price in the heart of the city. There are several of them. (Spaulding, for instance)
Oh!! and wi fi doesnt' work!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anttraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The room I got was dirty - but I thought its ok for one night

That was 'till I pulled back the bedding - and saw all the stains on the sheets. Also holes in the bed from burns and a semen stain on the wall. I could just image the bed bugs waiting in that bed hole for me to go to sleep

I walked out - paid a little more for a different hotel and got a clean room with my own shower and a clean bed and didnt have to spend money disinfecting myself and my clothing. I considered contacting the heath authorities - this place should be closed down.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pbirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
SoMa
Winsor Hotel
Winsor Hotel
#35 of 73 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Loma Hotel
#13 of 50 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Union Square
The Urban
The Urban
#21 of 50 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
SoMa
Desmond Hotel
Desmond Hotel
#43 of 73 in San Francisco
2.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweden House Hotel

Property: Sweden House Hotel
Address: 570 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1932
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sweden House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sweden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing