We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This truly deserves No 1.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #26 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This truly deserves No 1.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

After using trip advisor for our honeymoon we had our 1st bad experience of a good bad review, and checked into no 3 at the time Inn at the Square. This was a very bad experience and a bit of a throw back to the 70's after 30 minutes I decided to go have a look at what else was available. I luckily found the Fairmont on Nobhill and for $150 got an amazing room with a view of the bridge and alcatraz. We were only staying in the bay for a night as it was our honeymoon and planned a big tour of america over 5 weeks. I was lucky enough to see an advert for Ghirardelli Square and booked that for our last two nights prior to departure. It was truly the send off we needed after a fantastic tour fo the states, driving from San Fran to Portland, to Missoula montana to yellowstone, jackson wyoming, then to vegas, death valley, yosemite, santa barbara and then back to san fran. The highlights for context were.

No 1. Four Seasons Santa Barbara.(hard to beat watching hummbirds whilst drinking a coktail and watching the waves come crashing in from the Pacific.)
No 2 Fairmont Ghiradelli Square for the unbelievable room.
No 3 Spotted horse Ranch, Jackson.
No 4 Paws Up Ranch , Montana.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuskAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    91
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
354
158
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I went to the FHP at Ghirardelli Square with extended family and this is a great property for those traveling with friends or family that want a two bedroom with a living/dining room. We saw a lot of three generation travelers at breakfast and location is very touristy, right next to Fisherman´s Wharf.
The rooms are very quaint and comfortable, with a great view of the ocean, and beautiful red brick walls.
The Fairmont has great amenities like an Escalade that will take you back and forth for about 2 miles around the hotel, but be prepared to wait for it.
If you like fine dining make sure to check out Gary Danko, a mere 2 blocks from the hotel...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel is the finest. Great service, rooms, breakfast and views. We stayed for four nights and would go back again and again, cannot recommend highly enough! Only down side, the chauffeur driven car is usually over subscribed so not usually available when you need it and unfortunately when we were there the bikes were not available as they were being fixed. Overall though would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Bay facing with balcony, well worth the extra for the view of Alcatraz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel has everything. Location, quality service and wonderful accomodations. I am not a high maintenance traveler but I do appreciate and recognize a great experience. This is an upscale hotel with upscale service and amenities.

The hotel is very urban chic with a well appointed but unconventional registration area. The staff sit behind desks not your typical long check-in counters. They give you a quick tour of the facilities that include a nice lounge, business center and terrace with a view of the bay.

Continental breakfast is served every morning and wine and cheese in the evening. Both are excellent and everything is very fresh. They provide umbrellas when it is raining, a towncar that will drop you off and pick you up within a 2-5? mile radius of the hotel and bicycles if you want to do some cycling.

The firepit and terrace are a real plus and just spectacular on a clear day. You can watch everything going on in the bay. We were there for Fleet Week and we had the best seat in the house on this terrace.

The rooms are very spacious and efficient. You have all the necessary utencils, plates, cookware, glasses and appliances to cook a meal. There is a microwave and a wine cooler. We had a 2 bedroom with a pullout couch. It also had a half bath which was very useful.

We had 5 adults and all were comfortable. The housekeeping was spotless. This was the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in.

There are many places to shop and eat in the area as it is Fisherman's Wharf. We walked everywhere and having The Buena Vista a block away was a great place to end the day with an Irish coffee. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom on the stimulus package was the best deal for the 5 adults in our group. All the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Having just had the pleasure of staying at the Fairmont for 4 nights .. for the second time , I cans tell you that there is no better.. anywhere in the great city of San Francisco - I know personally having stayed at all the "upscale " hotels for the past 15 years .. Jean-Francois
and his crew are the best at what they do .. make you feel like family when you stay with them .. great room - view of the bay -- .. service -- town car .. etc...Go ahead pamper yourself .. stay at this hotel.. you wont be disappointed !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accurateanswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Location:
Ghiradelli Square, close to Fisherman Warf. About 35 minutes from airport with taxi, cost appr. 50 usd. Walking distance to chinatown is 30 minutes. You can take Muni (buses) to fx Height Ashbury close to the Fairmont, 2 usd pr person, 3 hour use.

Rooms:
This is an appartmnet hotell consisting of different types, studio, 2,3,4 bedroom and various location within the buliding. Some with terraces. We stayed three nights in a 2 bedroom with bay view and a direct access to common terrace area, 2nd floor and four nights in a 2 bedroom city view, 2nd floor.
Two very different feelings, the bay view is light and spacious in the living area, but both bedrooms face the city. People are able to see you when you are in, without taking blinds down of course and all the others need to pass your appartment on the way to theirs and since it is free use for all, it is less privacy and more noisy outside. But very nice view even on second floor.
City view have all the windows facing the street. It is a bit darker but cosier and we personally think this was a better. Floorplan was fine, fx you will not hear the washing machine going when sitting in the livingroom, which happens in the bayview appartment. And much more private, wich suited us better.
Since we were two persons it is obviously more than enough space. We loved the ambience, the very luxurious ameneties, like all you need the kitchen, bathrobes, towels and amazing beds!! Maybe some of the best we ever have been sleeping in. Windows facing street are double, no disturbance during the night.

Service:
Generally good service. Only one of 7 days, housekeepng was late. Small thing, like a box of delicious chocolate welcomed us back. Nice. (We spend one night in LA before returning to SF) House car, Cadillac Escelade will take you where ever you want within a range of 2 miles. Younger peolpe working there, wich we found great! We also took advantage of the two bicycle they have, reservation is necessary. A lot of dvds fto choose from, brought to your door with popcorn..
Some problems with the internet the last couple of days, but we used the business center and the wi fi did work in the reception area.

Conclusion:
If you are a family , a group of friends this is a very good place to stay. Then the real value kicks in. It is a little steep for a couple. But we had a fantastic stay, and actually made dinner ”home” every night and the local shop on the other side of the place have a 6 usd chardonney we highly recommend…Also, Whole Foods are the best place for groceries. Hopefully we will be able to return to SF and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tallereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

great location and accommodation.

full hotel facilities not available (dining) but location makes this academic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing