We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #22 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We traveled at the end of the Summer and enjoyed our nice size accomodation as well as the top notch service. The food was well presented with many options for my meeetings and then the family later on. I love most Fairmonts I have stayed at and always choose Fairmonts first. At times I step away but thankfully I stayed in SAnFran here. It was impressive. The staff are attentive and
well mannered. Maria was a big hit and wish we could have her again in the future. I will make sure I ask for her by name. She deserved recognition. A highlight was being so close to the wharf and enjoying street side crab and cold beer in the can, right on the street. A nice treat for the entire crowd.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LovesMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    92
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
358
159
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very good place indeed, but the other comments were so laudative that I feel necessary to outline some less than perfect points, so that other readers are not disappointed :
- If the location is great and the place is clean, the furniture is already a bit used, and sometimes unsufficient (eg no bin in bathroooms, no rincing shower in bathtubs, ...)
- What is not said about additional beds is that they are not comfortable , and that they are located in the same room than the kitchen, with the noise of fridges and other appliances. Not great really.
- The "house car" is a dispointment (a "joke" said my kids) : only operates in a 2 mile radius, means (i) to places which are at walking distance, and (ii) too short to reach about all of SF's places of interest !
- And finally a somewhat surprising checkout, where I had to ask the bill to be redone twice, since some undue parking charges had been added. Rather unpleasant I have to say.

Otherwise the teams are very customer dedicated, and some nice ideas (such as the popcorn brought together with the DVDs you order). But the overall rating certainly is not 5, and it fell somewhat short from our expectations.

Room Tip: pick bay view, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovefamiliytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We just stayed in this hotel and were blown away by how beautiful it is and what great service we had. Everyone from the Valet, Bellhop, and Concierge (check in) were wonderful and highly accommodating. We stayed in a beautiful two bedroom with a private patio. The place is clean, perfectly located and an absolute MUST to stay at. I highly recommend this place and know that we will no longer stay anywhere else but here.

Jeremy at check in/out was GREAT as was everyone we had contact with.

This place is a real gem.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. Very quiet... Make use of the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night but it was brilliant - so wish we could gave stayed longer.
The room we were in was more like an apartment. We had a room which had a fully equip kitchen, dining table, sofa etc. there was a cupboard with washing machine. A lovely sized bedroom and a large bathroom and toilet. We had a large outside area overlooking Giardheli square. Could just see Alcatraz over the shops opposite.
The hotel is in a great location, an easy walk to fishermans wharf & fort mason.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights with our son and daughter-in-law in an apartment on 2nd level, with the lovely fireside just close by out the front door. Situation is just great so close to all the tourist sites on Fishermans Wharf. Staff were professional and helpful, and
the courtesy car a big bonus. The apartment was well presented and just right for the four of us. Breakfast was excellent, and the view of the bay so close was delightful. Highly recommend this boutique apartment hotel to anyone seeking a well situated, clean and friendly holiday base.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank City/Countrycousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a family vacation here. We got a two bedroom apartment overlooking the bay with a view of Alcatraz. Our room was really nice, the location was beautiful; we were close to the touristy stuff, like we wanted, and the staff took great care of us! We were glad we stayed here, would be happy to come back!

Our family wanted to do a get away vacation weekend to San Francisco. My wife and I had last visited the city five years ago, and our kids have never visited. For this trip, we wanted to go all-out on the tourism stuff and decided we wanted a place in the Fisherman's Wharf area, but with the kids!! Oh btw, our kids our 24 and 22.

About our room. We picked out this place because it's really a boutique, apartment style, hotel, not a posh uber-hotel like the very nice ones on Nob Hill. Our room was two bedrooms, but one of the bedrooms was an upstairs loft, including full bath. The downstairs had a full sized kitchen (with icemaker that turned out to help alot later on), dining room and a nice living room area, featuring a big window view of water front. The downstairs bedroom was a master suite, including a bathroom. There was another half bath at the entry. A total of 3 flat-screen TVs.

The room came with an iPad and good WIFI service. By the end of our trip, we figured out that the rooms were probably owned by an independent party, and the Fairmont was managing them. These were really nice rooms!

Some nice touches: the staff stocked our refrigerator. The hotel has really nice bicycles. We checked them out, to bike over the Golden Gate Bridge. The hotel has a couple of cars (really SUVs), where the staff will drive guests anywhere in a 2 mile radius. These were busy, but that was ok, the hotel was one block from the cable car terminus and was on a street with lots of taxis. The hotel had a small breakfast area that served a nice light breakfast buffet. Some hot food, but mostly continental breakfast type food... no formal dinning here. There's afternoon wine and cheese.

On the location of the hotel. The hotel is in the original Ghirardelli chocolate factory building. Our room was in the Mustard Building, dated from 1911. The original shell of the building is still there, but the interior has been gutted and rebuilt into beautiful condos. If you are walking on Fisherman's Wharf, and look-up and see the building with the big Ghirardelli sign, our room was on the third floor roughly underneath the G. Each evening we went out onto the the Mustard building's 2nd floor terrace area and sat by the fireplace. One Saturday night we enjoyed a fireworks show... really nice! No doubt, the reader can tell by my description that this place is very expensive.

Cable Cars. There are two main North-South cable car lines. The hotel is really close to the Powell/Hyde line. If you are coming here as a tourist, you need to plan time to ride the cable cars. Most of the time is spent waiting in line. We did the cable cars first thing. We arrived on Thursday and we knew the lines would get even longer as the week end approached. For our ride, we hopped off at Chinatown; we walked through the tourist area, bought some tea, and then took a taxi ride back. We were tempted to hop off at Lombard Street (the famous twisty-turny street), but we were afraid that if we did we wouldn't be able to get back on -- the cable cars were jam packed, including people (eg like our son!!) hanging off the sides.

Bike the Bridge. For bicycle enthusiastic, biking the Golden Gate Bridge is a great way to experience the city. Our hotel lent us their private bikes and pointed us in the right direction. You start in the Fisherman's Wharf area and follow the well marked bike paths West along the water front. You'll go over a couple of steep hill, then stop at the key photo spot (you'll know it when you see it, it's the famous view on all the post cards), take your pictures of the bridge, and then get on the bridge.

This is a little scary. The bike path is shared with pedestrians; it's roughly three bike-lanes wide, with the bay on your right and auto traffic going 50mph on your left. To make things even more challenging, there are super hard bodied bicycle pros sharing the space with total amateur bikers, so with all of this as a background, this was alot of fun!!

At the end of the bridge, you ride a short distance up a hill then downhill the rest of the way to Sausalito. We stopped there for a sidewalk cafe lunch, then we caught the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf (actually Pier 41). The ferry is all setup to take bike riders and you can buy tickets on the boat if you are rushed.

We thanked our hotel for the bikes! We had some challenges crossing and were so happy to get back.

Hop-on, Hop-off tour bus. If you are still reading this far, you need to know about a very touristy option, especially suited for people who injure themselves biking the bridge. While not serious, the bike ride really hobbled me. I needed to rest but the day was beautiful and I didn't want to spoil our weekend, so we decided to take one of those tour buses, you know, one of those Hop-on, Hop-off buses that you told yourself that you'd never take -- well we took one.

Our concierge helped us pick one, and we got on at Fisherman's Wharf. It took us around the city, including a joy ride over the Golden Gate Bridge. We though that we'd get on and off several times, but we so enjoyed our tour guide's informative and funny presentation style, that we decided to stay on for the full 2 hour loop. I have been to San Francisco maybe 10 times over the years, and I was delighted and surprised to see so much new and different.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the concierge service; get to know them. They respond quickly to email and they r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finleychmom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Fairmont Heritage was more that we expected. The location is perfect and staff tremendous. The rooms were well appointed and beds very comfortable. The views were amazing and every day had a surprise. The kitchen was an added bonus so we could bring food back to the room and enjoy the views.
The best part of the hotel is the people who work there. We had so many great tips and it really enhanced our visit. The hotel car made all the difference. The breakfast was a great start to the day and we enjoyed using the hotel bikes for our morning rides.
The surprise of the week was that we got to have bread, cheese and wine and watch Oracle win the Americans cup. The terrace was a great place to relax and unwind. First class all the way.

Room Tip: We loved waking up to a view of the bay, rm 416 , very quiet and on the end.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very aware of the environmental issues and what the hotel is doing. Recycling in room and many levels of lights. Great ideas.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank finlynchmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing