We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #22 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded my Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our family of two adults and three kids stayed at the Fairmont at Ghiradelli Square for four nights over spring break. From the start this was an exceptional experience with a warm welcome and a concierge-guided tour of the property. Our two bedroom suite was well appointed with a complete kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and a beautiful view of the bay. Having a washer/dryer in our suite was a big asset.

The property is very charming with restaurants and shops just steps away. The cable car stop is close by and made it very easy to get up to Union Square for shopping. The house car service was an added bonus and helped us get to restaurants and museums. I was initially worried that we would be too close to the craziness of Fisherman's Wharf but it is a couple of blocks away from the hustle and bustle and felt quite peaceful.

We all enjoyed the continental buffet breakfast. The fact that there was no restaurant at the hotel was not a problem for us as we were happy to enjoy all the wonderful dining options in the city for lunch and dinner.

All the staff were incredibly helpful. When the concierge discovered that we were doing the Alcatraz tour the next day she sent up the Escape from Alcatraz DVD for us to watch the evening before, along with a bag of popcorn.

We look forward to staying at this wonderful hotel again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank morof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    92
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
358
159
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days, 4 nights what an experience, this hotel was the jewel in our trip to the USA . We highly recommend this hotel. Luxury and location. The one bedroom apartment facing the sea was just what we needed for three adults.
The buffet breakfast was the best. I loved the service and attention from the young staff in the breakfast room. They were a credit to the hotel management and the welcome feeling of this luxury hotel.
We will come back to the Fairmont on our next trip to the USA.

Room Tip: We chose the one bedroom apartment with sea view. Great space and services for a family washing mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our family of six stayed in a three bedroom unit at the Fairmont Heritage
for Spring Break in March, 2014, and found the size, location and amenities
perfect for a family trip.
We really enjoyed the car service, which was great for trips to Union Square
or nearby restaurants. The breakfast buffet was also a nice addition when
there are kids traveling.
We would definitely stay at this property again, and recommend it for families
wanting an upscale, very nice, roomy hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our family of four, 2 teenagers and us. The location, overlooking the Bay and Alcatraz, was beautiful to wake up to. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. We took advantage of the concierge to help plan several activities. We rented a car for one day from Enterprise, and the concierge had it delivered to the hotel. That day we went out to Muir Woods and Hawk Hill. We were blessed with the most beautiful weather and clear skies. The car service was great. It is first come, first serve, so it wasn't always convenient, but it was a great perk, none-the-less. The drivers were also bellman, and were very friendly and informative. We would definitely stay here again. We would recommend it to anyone traveling to San Francisco, unless you want to shop everyday in Union Square. It isn't on Fisherman's Wharf, but it is close. They serve a light breakfast everyday which is satisfying. The "residence" is very comfortable and the perfect place to come back to after a long day of touring the area. For frame of reference, we were also looking at the Ritz and the Four Seasons.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

my family and I just returned from vacationing in California. our last stop was SF. we could not have picked a better option for a hotel. everything from the service to the staff was above excelent. Worth every penny. the interaction with ghirardelli sq. is simply amazing. the service is 24 hrs of anything you need. it feels like home.
Jonathan M

Room Tip: rooms facing the mustard terrace or room 116 that has a huge private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I planned a destination wedding and wanted it in San Francisco. My Mom and sister were attending as well as his parents, sister and nephew, among others. We wanted a hotel that would comfortably accommodate us and this was just perfect! First of all, the location at Fishermen's Wharf is fantastic, but the hotel is the star. It is the site of the original Ghirardelli Chocolate Factory so it is loaded with historical artifacts and interiors. We reserved two 2-bedroom condos for the 8 of us, 4 in each condo. Each condo had two separate bedrooms with baths, a large fully stocked kitchen, dining room, living room with fireplace, iPad, washer/dryer, etc. etc. It is only a few steps to the shops and restaurants of Ghirardelli Square and 5-10 minutes walk from everything in the Fishermen's Wharf area. Continental breakfast and wine tastings are every morning and afternoon. However, as much as we loved everything about the hotel, we thought the staff was the friendliest and most accommodating of any hotel we have stayed in. They always greeted everyone and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. Staff members we had not met even congratulated us on our marriage which was amazing! You cannot go wrong at this hotel!

Room Tip: All are good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at this apartment hotel inFebruary , 6 in our party .We took advantage of the 4 for 3 nights offer as although the adults were only able to stay for 3 nights the youngsters stayed on the extra night .
We did not use the kitchen to its full advantage , but had we done so it was well equipped and very clean . There was even a first aid kit under the sink and cling film , foil etc , a thoughtful idea as this was the third location on route home from Hawaii and the most equipped kitchen in 3 rentals.
The staff were knowledgeable, obliging and endlessly patient with 2 youths in our party who quizzed them constantly about nightclubs!
All the front of house staff were great and the use of the hotel car was an added bonus as we didn't rent a car at this stage of our trip.
Wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area more and taken advantage of the fire pits in warmer weather .! Would recommend this hotel however for comfort , cleanliness , location etc .One criticism ; the breakfasts were uninspiring , as vegetarians we could not eat any of the hot food and food was slow to be replenished even at the start of breakfast service . The bagels I was told by my family were stale each morning .Breakfast and cheese/ wine tasting ( we tried this once)n could be improved . But otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing