We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect San Francisco Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #30 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect San Francisco Hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous. Perfect location with amazing rooms. We only stayed one night, but I wish I could live there! Seven of us shared a suite, with two bedrooms, two baths, and a
huge kitchen/living room with a pullout sofa.
The kids were in awe. I loved
the exposed brick and the
huge windows in the bedrooms. The best part of the hotel is LOCATION. You can't get a better spot to enjoy the city! We walked down to the waterfront, went out for dinner, and then back to the hotel. When we'd all decided that we had room for ice cream, we just walked out the back door of the hotel and straight into Ghiradelli Square's shop for some to-die-for desserts! The hotel also has patios with fire pits that overlook the square. Amazing. The next morning-- breakfast included. What more can you ask for?
The only problem we had
the entire time was trying to get parked to check-in. The lot we were directed to was full, so we pulled up to the front of the hotel and had to Valet park, which was about $60. That's the price you pay for being smack in the middle of the action!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seneruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    98
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
372
161
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Line, Pa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wow. Just wow. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor, so I really have to pay it forward and review it too, so maybe another family will find this hotel and enjoy it as much as we did! Stayed here with my family of 5 for 4 nights. if I could have stayed a week, I would. This property was just amazing in every single way. Location, amenities, cleanliness, service, décor, employees. I can't think of one thing I would change. Everything from the Le Labo soaps to the ultra-attentive concierge and front desk staff was just above and beyond expectations. This is the perfect location for exploring San Francisco, but a warm cozy place to come "home" to after a day of sightseeing. I loved the town car service. With a family of 5, this was a nice amenity and we were able to use the car to go to and from a few nice dinners in the city (Slanted Door and Trattoria Pinocchio- I recommend both!). My husband and I enjoyed coming home at night and pouring a glass of wine and sitting by one of the fire pits. My kids enjoyed to movies that came with a complimentary bag of popcorn. The units were beautifully furnished- wonderful bedding, beautiful showers and a functional kitchen area. Breakfast was delicious and just enough to start the day- loads of fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and a hot entrée each day. You are close enough to the action of Fisherman's Wharf without having to be right in the middle of it. The smell of Ghirardelli chocolate greets you when you walk out the door. I'd recommend this property to anyone. I can't recall a nicer hotel experience. If I could give this rating 6 stars, I would.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We started our California trip selecting the perfect sight in San Francisco. Everything about the Fairmont Heritage is top notch. The Front Desk was delightful and very informative on the location, property, things to do and the rooms. A great welcome. The room was one of the best we have been in during our travels. Spacious, clean and everything we needed and expected, including great night's sleep. The staff was top notch as well. Anything we needed was there immediately with a warm smile. Housekeeping staff was accommodating beyond expectation, anticipating the extra towels we needed the following day. Anything and everything you could expect and not expect were in the room.

Breakfast was incredible, from the preparation to the service. It was like living in a palace. We knew exactly what to see and where to go thanks to the informative staff that were mo4re then eager to make sure our San Francisco stay was a memorable one. We did not want to check out and gave a serious thought of spending the rest of the week here. We will definitely return to this incredible place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have never before written a review on trip advisor but I rely a lot on others' reviews - and well... this hotel deserves one. I was not expecting anything spectacular - just a good location and for a decent rate. We have stayed in many many Four Seasons, Ty-Warner, Fairmonts, Ritz, etc and almost every time with our kids (they all really cater to our kids and our crazy requests even at 3am for glasses of milk or diapers!). We normally book suites or at least two connecting rooms, probably should mention we have four chidren all 7 and under. I was surprised when booking this hotel that we only needed one and were paying FAR less than other hotels for suites (or in this case apartments). We had 1800 sf in the heart of everything San Francisco has to offer a tourist! We walked everywhere! And where we didn't, we had the house car take us. We had a two bedroom and the room sizes were huge! They each had a massive bathroom in addition to a full size kitchen, dining table, and living room - and everything was in great almost brand new shape. We don't cook while we are on vacation but it was nice to have a fridge (which they stocked with two bottles of Napa white wines and a 6 pack of Anchor Steam before our arrival). One day we asked for a few nannies and a car to take us up to Napa - within hours we had two college students at our room with games ready to hang out with our kids while we were taken in a private s550 an hour up to some of the most amazing wineries! You asked, they delivered, every single time. This hotel had the feeling of a small boutique hotel. You had one person with which all of your requests were handled (babysitters, car service, reservations, room service, etc) so it made it a lot easier. We ended up extending out our stay for two more nights because it was so great! And a side note: We budget quite a bit for vacations as our family is quite large, but this hotel doesn't mark up ANYHTHING. You have a list of menus from restaurants in the area and they add $25 for delivery and $5 for tip (there is not even a check to sign to tip more so you don't feel obligated) - for us, having a full breakfast with our family size (and even a cousin!), having an $80 meal was unheard of! They are always north of $300 each time. They do also have a really great free breakfast in the morning (it was just easier to keep all of the kids in the room to eat). After my husband checked us out he had this puzzled look on his face and normally it's a look of fear because he just paid the bill, however he was convinced we should have paid twice as much for that trip! Upon leaving we went down to So Cal and stayed at the Montage in Laguna Beach, and while this was now our 5th stay and we really love the Montage, it just didn't compare to the Fairmont Heritage Place as crazy as that sounds. We even contemplated buying an ownership interest but we are just not up there enough - but as soon as the opportunity presents itself you can bet we will!

Room Tip: I would imagine they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grewak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is great! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic, they are huge!, decorated amazingly the standard of the rooms and furnishings is incredible, like living in a millionaires mansion.

The staff are very friendly from, sitting down and checking in while eating the ghiradelli chocolates, to the 'butlers', drivers and turn down service staff. We requested a few things over the stay and staff were straight to the room with ice, coffee or whatever we required.

Breakfast was fantastic different foods everyday plus the same basics and essentials, cheese and wine seemed poor, I popped down about half way through to grab a couple of wines to take back to the room however the options were very limited.

Back to the rooms, and they are fully equipped with, ipad, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer etc etc etc. the best part being Bose speakers built into the ceiling throughout with individual controls for each room.

Would definetly return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We would go back to the Fairmont Ghiradelli Square in a flash if we were able to. Our apartment was incredibly spacious and clean, and comfortable. The staff were some of the most helpful that we came across on our US trip, and we particularly appreciated the complimentary car shuttle around the Bay area. The nearby restaurants were great and breakfast at the hotel was plentiful in quantity and number of choices. We had a city view room but as we were out most of the day this was not an issue. Next time, we'll try a bay view room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Fairmont Heritage Place is a residence club which mean on site amenities are limited but in exchange you get spacious accommodations to have quiet time away from the kids or vice versa. But amenities are not necessary when you can walk/run/bike the 3 miles to Golden Gate Bridge or sit on the expansive private deck to watch the fireworks away from the crowds. These are front row seats for fireworks because the residence is steps from Aquatic Park. You can swim in the Aquatic Park along side the hardy SF natives. The sandy beach is a great spot for the kids to play and the adults to people watch.

Across from the residence in the plaza is McCormick and Kuletto's, they have incredible seafood and more great views. The bar is cozy and serves quick bites better than most hotel restaurants. Close by are many other great dining choices.

If you want to cook in the gourmet kitchen, Alito's, is the go to place for fresh Dungeness crab and is only a few blocks way. Go early, they only keep morning hours. You really do not need to cook or keep food on hand with the residence providing breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese.

The only real draw back is the many stairs like the rest of SF. If you have mobility issues be sure to ask where all the elevators are located. Transportation options abound from the free house car service to the trolley to the free/rental bike choices.

Room Tip: Each condo/suite unit is designed to provide different amenities. Let the staff know your preference...
See more room tips
Green Features: For owners, house keeping comes only every 3 days which is great for the environment and privacy. Daily maid service is upon request. Check with the hotel if you are renting.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue1966davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,139 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing