We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #23 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is always nice for us to find a go-to hotel in places we want to return. This would be the Fairmont Ghirardelli for us! Not only was the staff incredibly friendly and responsive, we loved the location and the breakfasts served each morning. The rooms were spacious and perfect for our family of four. We got a 1 bedroom suite which had a separate living room/dining area with a full kitchen. It was nice to have the ability to refrigerate and re-heat leftovers so we didn't have to eat out every meal which is often the case on vacation. Had we stayed longer, we could have hit a market for groceries and cooked in more. Which would have been lovely to have eaten a meal on the balcony that overlooked the square and the bay. Our son slept in the pull out sofa and our daughter slept in a comfy air mattress. A special treat for the kids was the movie delivered with popcorn. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Bay view with balcony is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this Fairmont Heritage property for 10 nights recently.

Pros:

1)Stunning location right on the bay with gorgeous views
2)Thoughtfully designed apartments with every conceivable amenity
3)Furnished beautifully with no compromise
4)Very efficient and friendly service from all the lovely girls at the reception/concierge specially Kristina with whom we happened to interact the most
5)The bellboys and doormen were friendly, helpful and courteous at all times
6)The house car service is very efficiently run
7)Lovely morning breakfast, with a sufficient variety to choose from

Overall until the penultimate day of our stay, everything went absolutely fine and we just loved everything about it. We even picked up some floor plans of the apartments as we were considering it as an investment opportunity

Cons:

Unfortunately things went horribly wrong on the second last night of our stay there. We had a break in to the apartment at night while we were sleeping and the living room area was burgled. Our apartment was located on the ground floor, it had a patio and burglars entered through the patio door. We had not noticed that there is literally unfettered public access through a lane right up to the patio and anyone from the road can just very casually walk into the patio since the hotel has implemented absolutely no security measure, in the form of gating it off, to prevent intruder from coming in. The next morning we found the patio door open. We could not even remember anyone from our family unlocking the patio door the previous day, so we have no idea how it was open. But unfortunately that night before we slept we did not check the patio door to see whether it was locked.
Amongst the items stolen was my husband's briefcase which had all our passports, visas and residency permits. We went through a complete nightmare and much trauma for the next few days somehow organising documentation to return to Singapore where we live.
The response from the hotel management was extremely lackluster for the first two days and we were shocked. Here was a robbery that had occurred on their premises, through a very obvious security breach as they have unfettered public access right up to their patio through which anyone can just casually stroll in and they do not warn any of their guests about this and ask them to be careful. They do not even have their own security camera capturing movement in that area. It is not apparent from the patio that there is public access right upto it, so it is not easy for busy guests to become aware of the security threat from there. Apart from sending one of their staff with us to the police station, they did virtually nothing for the next two days. Considering our security had been breached, our identification had been stolen amongst multiple other items (laptops, ipads etc) and the very real possibility that had one of us woken up during the robbery, we may very well have been harmed (we had both our children with in the apartment) - they did not even bother to even check with us through the next two days in terms of how we were doing and whether we needed any assistance. Perhaps they were worried that we were going to sue them for the breach in security and decided to just stay away or perhaps they were just slack, but there was absolutely no excuse for their negligence. We were utterly traumatized by the experience, not so much by the loss of material items which items which one can replace, but by the loss of every single identification document we had. We had to miss our flight home. On the evening of the second day after the incident, we finally lost our patience with them and asked to speak with management. A junior manager was sent to us who had joined the hotel a few months ago. We told him how appalled we were by the conduct of management and that we were going to make a big noise about it. We demanded to know why nobody had even bothered to check on us or offer any assistance, given that we had been robbed while staying at a hotel where we were paying upwards of $1400 a night. I even asked them how the GM of the hotel had not even bothered to even call us even once after such a huge incident had happened at the hotel. After we made a big noise about it and said that we were not willing to be treated in this manner, the hotel management finally came through for that last evening we were there after we had run around madly for two days organising temporary documentation to return home. I received a call from the GM to check on how we were doing, the hotel gave us the last night free in another apartment on a higher floor (we were not comfortable with staying on the ground floor any more), they gave us a discount on the final bill and organised two cars for complimentary transfers to us the next morning. I explained to the GM that all we had wanted was some element of human touch displayed while we went through that trauma. We have stayed in the best hotels all over the world and know what service is about. I even told him that I understood that it was the first time they were dealing with a situation like this of a break in and possibly did not have a protocol in place to deal with it but surely there is no protocol required for being just humanly concerned about guests who have been traumatised while living on the hotel's premises and been robbed. They were extremely kind and solicitous once we expressed our outrage to them over the way we were being treated, but the point is that of the three days we had to spend there after the robbery sorting out the chaos, their attention to us swung in on only the last evening and that too after we had to demand it. Not expected of a Fairmont property.
I do have to say that they were very helpful from the last evening onwards and did everything that I had outlined to them that they should have done. But it took a guest to outline to them, what their responsibility in the incident should be and for the first two days after the incident, we received no real assistance from them. Even after the trauma we went through, on our part we still found it in ourselves to show our appreciation for some of the junior staff who helped us by leaving just little token gifts behind for them when we left. This is what being human is about.

My main reason for posting this review though is not to complain about the hotel, but to alert other travelers to not take your safety for granted even when you are in a luxury 5 star property. Keep your identification papers locked at all times in the safe (it was careless of us not to have done that, we just assumed we were safe at the Fairmont) and be careful to check that all doors into your hotel rooms are locked at all times, not just the main door. Do not leave your security in the hands of the hotel.

In conclusion, the Fairmont Heritage is a stunning place to stay and convenient from every point of view. Friendly and caring front line staff take care your everyday daily needs very efficiently. Ev The apartments are just beautiful. But clearly their emergency protocol needs some attention as do the security measures they have in place. If we were the scapegoats through whom the hotel has learnt how to respond to a burglary situation and also how to beef up their security, then hopefully some purpose has been served through this and none of their guests in the future will have to go through what we did.

Room Tip: Bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank romanholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed last four years in row every summer in this nice hotel because of out standing service but this year I noticed big difference in service from check in to check out very disappointing .. It doesn't worth the money we paid for ... Chris he checked us in was very careless and unhelpful he left us to talk with other guest general talking while we waiting in the midnight with my kids- the morning duty manager promised me that he will provide us with complementary water bottles we paid for at the end!!!! Nothing interested in this place anymore but the good location

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank Nonowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location, top-notch concierge staff. The driver service was great - took us all over the city. We did have a problem with our room upon arrival but the Rooms Manager took care of it and provided great recovery for us. We experienced a fire alarm one night and the evacuation was efficient and professional - gave us confidence in the hotel staff around safety.

We delivered food in to our room from a neighboring pub on 2 nights - great quality, easy delivery. Concierge lounge area had a nice breakfast. Afternoon wine and cheese was a little sub-par for the level of hotel, but satisfactory. (Little variety)

We used the hotels bikes one afternoon to bike to the Golden Gate bridge - wonderful!

Overall - simply outstanding for our family.

Room Tip: We were on street level, but did not have any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Fairmont Heritage Place in Ghirardelli Square (San Francisco) is an amazing hotel. It is actually more like a condominium (2 bedrooms and full kitchen). The wonderful staff will pick up food from any of the 3 restaurants around the hotel for you. I was a bit concerned because some hotels that have kitchenettes are not very luxurious, but the Fairmont was amazing! We have two small children and staying in this hotel with kids was absolutely wonderful. It is definitely 5 stars (and I am a very picky). The location is also amazing. I have stayed at many luxury hotels and this was by far one of the best. We will never stay anywhere else when traveling to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sherry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous. Perfect location with amazing rooms. We only stayed one night, but I wish I could live there! Seven of us shared a suite, with two bedrooms, two baths, and a
huge kitchen/living room with a pullout sofa.
The kids were in awe. I loved
the exposed brick and the
huge windows in the bedrooms. The best part of the hotel is LOCATION. You can't get a better spot to enjoy the city! We walked down to the waterfront, went out for dinner, and then back to the hotel. When we'd all decided that we had room for ice cream, we just walked out the back door of the hotel and straight into Ghiradelli Square's shop for some to-die-for desserts! The hotel also has patios with fire pits that overlook the square. Amazing. The next morning-- breakfast included. What more can you ask for?
The only problem we had
the entire time was trying to get parked to check-in. The lot we were directed to was full, so we pulled up to the front of the hotel and had to Valet park, which was about $60. That's the price you pay for being smack in the middle of the action!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seneruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wow. Just wow. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor, so I really have to pay it forward and review it too, so maybe another family will find this hotel and enjoy it as much as we did! Stayed here with my family of 5 for 4 nights. if I could have stayed a week, I would. This property was just amazing in every single way. Location, amenities, cleanliness, service, décor, employees. I can't think of one thing I would change. Everything from the Le Labo soaps to the ultra-attentive concierge and front desk staff was just above and beyond expectations. This is the perfect location for exploring San Francisco, but a warm cozy place to come "home" to after a day of sightseeing. I loved the town car service. With a family of 5, this was a nice amenity and we were able to use the car to go to and from a few nice dinners in the city (Slanted Door and Trattoria Pinocchio- I recommend both!). My husband and I enjoyed coming home at night and pouring a glass of wine and sitting by one of the fire pits. My kids enjoyed to movies that came with a complimentary bag of popcorn. The units were beautifully furnished- wonderful bedding, beautiful showers and a functional kitchen area. Breakfast was delicious and just enough to start the day- loads of fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and a hot entrée each day. You are close enough to the action of Fisherman's Wharf without having to be right in the middle of it. The smell of Ghirardelli chocolate greets you when you walk out the door. I'd recommend this property to anyone. I can't recall a nicer hotel experience. If I could give this rating 6 stars, I would.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
1,649 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
522 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,220 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £461 - £1,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing