We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great motel”
Review of Motel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel Capri
Ranked #124 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This motel doesn't have enough "excellent" ratings.

I was a little put off by the 50s exterior (which is charming, but made me think the interior would match..) but I was wrong. The room was very clean and updated with laminate floors, fresh paint and artwork, and new clean bedding. The TV was also very new and big. I like how they kept a lot of the 50's charm in the place without making it seem too "dated". Our room did not have A/C but I noticed a lot of rooms did, they were just undergoing renovation. The renovation didn't bother us as guests.

There is also plenty of (FREE) parking and it is in a great location in relation to SF's main attractions. The room was about $99/night which is very fair for the city and location in my opinion. The supplied breakfast are just prepackaged pastries but they are better than nothing and helped when we were in a bind.

There is no fridge/microwave but we just had a cooler and refilled it at their ice machine each day. We went to safeway (nearby) and bought some food items have in our room.

I would 100% stay here again. All of the staff (front desk man, manager and maid) were all super nice and I can't complain about the room at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweeetleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

It's a cute motel in a decent area of San Francisco at a very good price. The rooms are of a decent size and were clean and comfortable. It's not luxury, but you'll be hard pushed to find it at that price!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Indeed the room is just perfect, big, clean and the furnitures are nice. Flat HD sceen that works but first thing first, the people at the front desk were very nice and tried to do their best to accommodate our staying. One important thing once in San Francisco and renting a car is to be able to park your car, we had no problem to find place to park. We certainly recommend the The Capri Motel, when ever we'll be back in SF we won't hesitate to get a room here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliverSF_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice motel, clean rooms, great location to explore some parts of the city by foot, only a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Room not ready 1 hour after posted check-in time. Carpet filthy, stunk of smoke. Picture on wall (though scew-mounted) was hung upside down. Only power outlet in bathroom was inoperative. Had to reconnect power to TV converter box-had been left unplugged. No outlet to connect provided coffee maker. Noise from other guests late evening and middle of night not controlled by staff. Returned from dining out @ 10 pm to find no parking available on property resulting in having to find spot on street blocks away. Was promised 10% price reduction for our trouble by manager named Ricky. When checking out, price had not been reduced and Ricky was not there to authorize. Staff promised he would contact my mobile but never heard back from him and price was not adjusted. Many promised made but not delivered by staff. You can definitely do better then staying at the Capri!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radio1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great location: Nearby the Marina, short walking distance from the shops and wonderful restaurants and coffee shops of Chestnut and Union streets. Easy access to public transportation.
Quite neighborhood, safe to walk at night
Room is simple, but clean.
The staff is very kind and helpful. They really care about people (especially Mo)
I will come again if I will be around
Tip;
Across the street there is an excellent pub.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roni o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is an old 50's/60's style motel. It's in the style of architecture that true San Francisco residents dislike because it's a bit like Southern California, but we love it. It feels like home to us because we're from LA. No, it's not posh by any means, but it's clean, and well located one block from Lombard street. The staff are nice, and the room rates are reasonable. We come to SF about twice a year and we always stay here. Yes, it's difficult to get a spot in the parking lot but if you go in to the office, they will find you one...even if they have to move their car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rug-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
241 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,586 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Capri

Address: 2015 Greenwich St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3518
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £100 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel San Francisco
Capri Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing