We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Convenient and a Bargain”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #28 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Convenient and a Bargain”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This three-story motel has much to recommend it. Any negatives on a five-star rating are made up by extras in other areas.

The staff is pleasant and efficient. Arrival is so easy with street level parking below the rooms. We have a van with a box on top, and we fit very readily vertically, although we're not always able to open both doors when we park, a small inconvenience for free parking!

The location is convenient for those who aren't familiar with the city. Very easy to get to. The location is fine, with plenty of public transit routes nearby.

The room is very spacious and nicely laid out. The furniture could be upgraded, but not the Tempur Pedic mattress. We have an interior room, quite quiet but with no real view. The bathroom is also large, with a bathtub, most welcome. We were provided with a refrigerator for our long stay. Closet also roomy.

The housekeeping was super. Room always cleaned super well, with our belongings respected.

The heating/cooling wasn't needs at all, as the weather ranged between 40° at night and 70° during the day. Had to ask housekeeping to leave the heat off and the window open, as they turned the heat on at 75°.

The Coventry is a HUGE bargain at under $100 a night. Great value option.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    707
    111
    16
    2
See reviews for
439
769
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Tony was absolutely amazing. Along with the young lady that helped us in the morning arranging our tour. Coventry hotel is well worth the money! We didn't have any issues with noise in room 215. Very clean and spacious. Customer service above the rest! Definitely would book this hotel again. Thank you Tony, and Coventry staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cksap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This is an older property, updated to include all the amenities you need, including free parking, unheard of in most big cities. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Tony, who directed us to the nearest bus stop, places to eat and coffee shops.
It is located one block from the bus stop, and about one mile away from the wharf areas...pier 39, the Alcatraz landing and lots of things to do and see. We would definitely return here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

No fuss, excellent front desk staff who were helpful and thoughtful, very comfortable beds and pleasant rooms. A dry cleaners two doors down does laundry charging a reasonable amount by the pound. Free Wi-Fi. The core of a stay in a city motel is all here. When we asked to change rooms there was no problem, just courtesy and co-operation, the same was true of our request to leave some luggage for a couple of days.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Lombard Street and I found it too noisy. If I have one criticism it is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I chose this hotel as I wanted something cheap but decent in San Francisco. That's like a real diamond for $5. No can do. This hotel was the closest you'll get. First off the reception people are so obliging. Like in a country town. The room was spotless, the bed great, the bathroom excellent. It is conveniently close to a couple of bus routes. Use google maps and the bus icon - the buses run on time. We parked our car there for free - total waste having it actually as we took the buses and cable cars on a 3 day go anywhere ticket - won't take a car again. Wifi was good. Going back for darn sure.

Room Tip: Ask reception before you go as they have the rooms all organized. So we had no choice of room and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterPakChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn for a couple of nights and were very pleased with our choice. It was in an great location to explore this fantastic city and an excellent value for the price we paid. The room was super clean and the bed was so comfortable! The free parking was great---enjoyed leaving the car parked and walking down to Fisherman's Wharf to see the sea lions!! We will definitely stay here again when we return to San Fran!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Good value, nice room that were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful and the nearby store was a plus For the price it's a good location as long as you don't mind walking a little ways to the downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyTravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing