We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #34 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this motel due to reviews here on TA and a good price. Stayed here with a family of 4 and couldn't find any fault. Room was big, comfortable and clean. Good location to restaurants and public transport. Probably only 5 -10 minutes on the bus to Fishermans Wharf - 20 to downtown. Bus goes from virtually out the front to the Golden Gate Bridge. If you don't need to be in the city centre this is a good alternative at a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleDazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had read good reviews of the Coventry Motor Inn and were not disappointed. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room in the back, and indeed, it was quiet. The decor is not luxurious, but it is fine, with a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen tv. We especially appreciated that there is a free parking garage since we had picked up a rental car at the airport that we were going to use to travel to wine country after our San Francisco stay. We happen to love the marina area. It is more residential than tourist oriented, and nearby Chestnut Street is loaded with wonderful restaurants at reasonable prices. Lombard Street, the hotel's location, also has several restaurants to pick from. This location also puts you in walking distance of the Presidio, a wonderful park with an interesting history, that is now part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area. From there we walked to and crossed the Golden Gate Bridge.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, enjoying both the hotel and the neighborhood, preferring it to being downtown.

Room Tip: You might want to face away from Lombard Street for less noise, or at least request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We chose Coventry because of the price, easy parking and mostly because of all the great reviews it receives.
If you take into mind that this is a motel on a very busy street which is in a very busy city then you will be fine. The rooms are spotless, large and well appointed though not too bright or trendy and the staff were friendly and helpful. No breakfast but Mels Diner and others were close by in the excellent area of Cow Hollow.
Overall this simply did what we wanted which was comfortable clean rooms which were roomy, had air con and a decent bathroom for a reasonable price. Pay $300 p.n plus parking elsewhere in town but for what?
The beds have to be noted also for being incredibly comfortable. The Coventry managed this and because it was built some time ago felt solid and noise from other rooms could not be heard as it can in other Motels. Good job, Coventry Inn!

Room Tip: If you are worried about street noise then buy earmuffs or get a room at the back on floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaleighGrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A good and affordable base from which to explore SF. Lovely, large, clean room with two smallish doubles - one of which is ample for two persons of a lesser BMI. We also had (requested) a distant view of THE bridge which was exciting to see when we first checked in. Also, apples the size of grapefruits up for grabs at reception if you've had your fill of burgers and fries which was a nice touch. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura and Charl... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The rooms are clean & comfortable.
The fact that there is a free parking lot for the gusts is a big advantage.
Not far from the Fisherman's Wharf and pier 39.
I will use this hotel again in my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Star D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We only had one night and chose the Coventry for the free parking, the price and the location (we had plans to go to the Walt Disney Museum). We could not have made a better choice. Very reasonable, great service, and the location was spot on. We arrived a bit later than we wanted to so we checked in quickly and walked to the Pacific Catch - its only a block or two away and we were lucky enough to get a table quickly. Excellent seafood and service! We polished off the meal with some bakery treats from SusieCakes. Before walking back to our hotel, we were able to stop in a nearby Walgreens for some items we forgot. All conveniently located. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. We definitely slept well here too. We had breakfast at Mel's Diner just down the street and I would definitely recommend it - large portions, good service and good food. We noticed on the parking pass that the Cow Hollow Inn & Suites, the Chelsea Inn, and the Lombard Inn are all under the same management as the Coventry Inn -so I'd be inclined to stay at any one of these if the service is as good as here. Overall a very nice stay and we plan on coming back soon.

Room Tip: Lombard Street has constant traffic at all hours of the night. If your not used to that, you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

convenient location for us, clean, comfortable, and very accessible. We chose location for proximity and available parking. Very well maintained building, comfortable beds and furniture, free wi-fi, great central location near Union St, Filmore St, and Marina district.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 231 in San Francisco
1,448 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#26 of 231 in San Francisco
1,073 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 231 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £99 - £819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing