We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Good location.”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #33 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Coventry Inn for four nights in May 2014. Located near the Marina, Fishermans Wharf and The Golden Gate Bridge, it is well located to access the more touristy areas. Not the best located to access the city though.

The rooms are simple, clean, quiet and quite large. With the added bonus of free covered parking, the inn was really excellent value.

Would highly recommend the Inn to anyone who's traveling to San Francisco on a budget but doesn't want to stay in hostels.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddlez0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent nine nights at the Coventry Motor Inn. I chose this hotel based on all the positive reviews it was given. It did not disappoint. The staff was very welcoming and fantastic to us. The rooms were large, clean, and soundproof. Another plus for us was the Tempur Pedic beds. It was like sleeping on a cloud and we always woke up rested. Parking is free which is another plus. Lombard is a major street with plenty of action not to mention the crookedest road in the world is about a mile away. There are plenty of restaurants, gas stations, drugstores, and hills around you. The hotel is located in the marina district and the bay is seven or eight blocks away. It is a good place to be located in San Francisco. I highly, highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoob1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We loved the Coventry Motor Inn. We (2 adults) and our toddler had plenty of room in the King Size bed, and also a large sitting area to unwind or eat dinner. We had a room at the back and it was very quiet. The location was great. We loved the Marina/Cow Hollow area - I even wrote a blog post about the location: http://lifebyemma.com/toddler-travel-san-francisco-review/

Also if you like Mexican food make sure you try La Canasta, It's a 5 minute walk up the road, on the Corner of Buchanan and Union, real authentic Mexican and lovely staff.

Also we learned at checkout that you can hire a mini fridge for $5 a day, well worth it I feel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this motel due to reviews here on TA and a good price. Stayed here with a family of 4 and couldn't find any fault. Room was big, comfortable and clean. Good location to restaurants and public transport. Probably only 5 -10 minutes on the bus to Fishermans Wharf - 20 to downtown. Bus goes from virtually out the front to the Golden Gate Bridge. If you don't need to be in the city centre this is a good alternative at a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleDazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had read good reviews of the Coventry Motor Inn and were not disappointed. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room in the back, and indeed, it was quiet. The decor is not luxurious, but it is fine, with a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen tv. We especially appreciated that there is a free parking garage since we had picked up a rental car at the airport that we were going to use to travel to wine country after our San Francisco stay. We happen to love the marina area. It is more residential than tourist oriented, and nearby Chestnut Street is loaded with wonderful restaurants at reasonable prices. Lombard Street, the hotel's location, also has several restaurants to pick from. This location also puts you in walking distance of the Presidio, a wonderful park with an interesting history, that is now part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area. From there we walked to and crossed the Golden Gate Bridge.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, enjoying both the hotel and the neighborhood, preferring it to being downtown.

Room Tip: You might want to face away from Lombard Street for less noise, or at least request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We chose Coventry because of the price, easy parking and mostly because of all the great reviews it receives.
If you take into mind that this is a motel on a very busy street which is in a very busy city then you will be fine. The rooms are spotless, large and well appointed though not too bright or trendy and the staff were friendly and helpful. No breakfast but Mels Diner and others were close by in the excellent area of Cow Hollow.
Overall this simply did what we wanted which was comfortable clean rooms which were roomy, had air con and a decent bathroom for a reasonable price. Pay $300 p.n plus parking elsewhere in town but for what?
The beds have to be noted also for being incredibly comfortable. The Coventry managed this and because it was built some time ago felt solid and noise from other rooms could not be heard as it can in other Motels. Good job, Coventry Inn!

Room Tip: If you are worried about street noise then buy earmuffs or get a room at the back on floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaleighGrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A good and affordable base from which to explore SF. Lovely, large, clean room with two smallish doubles - one of which is ample for two persons of a lesser BMI. We also had (requested) a distant view of THE bridge which was exciting to see when we first checked in. Also, apples the size of grapefruits up for grabs at reception if you've had your fill of burgers and fries which was a nice touch. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura and Charl... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £96 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing