We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect when you visit SF by car”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #30 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect when you visit SF by car”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 4 nights in this motel. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. Parking is included in the rate and parking lots are always available. Small supermarket directly opposite to the motel. All usually necessary items are available. Conveniently located to several bus stops.
Staff at the reception is extraordinarily friendly, best regards especially to Tony ;-)

Try to get a room located to Buchanan or Moulton Street. Rooms to Lombard Street are very loud.

Room Tip: Try to get a room located to Buchanan or Moulton Street. Rooms to Lombard Street are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngsterGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    724
    113
    16
    2
See reviews for
448
785
60
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I searched for months for a place to stay and just happened to come across this one. What a perfect choice for my family. Viisting San Francisco was already going to be the most expensive trip stop on our itinerary so when I saw the good reviews and prices, I jumped at the chance. The location is good. It may not be down by the warf, etc. but who cares. We had free parking that night. Comfortable memory foam beds (although doubles were small to sleep on). It was very clean and updated. The only thing that didnt work was the shower head. It barely trickled but the hand held wand work fine. The staff were recommended some close places to walk to for dinner. Two were closed though when we got there. Ended up at a pizza place. The gentleman we spoke to was not knowledgable about parking areas except the really expensive Warf area. We googled and looked up parking. INPARKs were the best prices. We had sightseeing plans all day the next morning and were not spending another night so we had to move our car for other patrons. We moved down to Beach Street. It took five minutes to drive there. $9 all day parking (til 7PM) if you entered before 9AM. Such a deal down there! We walked along the warf area to get to the pier for Alcatraz. Took a whole 10 minutes. We picked up the Big Bus tour just a quarter of a block from the garage too. So convenient. Loved the Big Bus tour. It was an easy way to see the Painted Ladies, tour Golden Gate Park, shop, see China town and go across the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had 2 nights here as part of a fly-drive holiday and it was a great base to explore San Francisco. The hotel is on a main street going through San Francisco (it's actually Highway 101) but our Sat Nav took us a very strange route - it might be easier to navigate yourself if you're not familiar with the city. There is a spacious underground parking facility as well as parking on street level next to reception. It was about a 20 minute walk to Fishermans Warf and we used one of the tour buses to get around the rest of the city and see the sights.

There's no breakfast at the hotel so we picked something up on our way to the bus stop. The rooms were fantastic, really clean, good size bathroom, we felt very safe here. You can only get to the elevator from the main reception by inserting your key card which was something we hadn't experienced before. Check in and check out were very smooth. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sains23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp City, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Close enough to walk to Fisherman's Wharf area and just a block away from the MUNI. The hotel is very clean, parking under the property and the front desk staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights at the end of May found it to be Very good and great customer service by Tony who was really helpful and knowledgeable. Would recommend to everyone. Good price and well located.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, IL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location to get to any of the major sites of the city. Clean, quiet for a great price with a very helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay very much & would recommend this property!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Second time at this hotel. On Lombard convenient to everywhere by walking or public transportation. The room was comfortable with a limited view of the Golden gate bridge. Several rooms have this view and you have to reserve in advance. The room was in very good condition and clean. They had coffee but no micro or fridge but I think a fridge is available for a fee. They had free parking but we did not use it. I really like the Coventry Inn the price is reasonable in this expensive city. I am looking forward to another stay. Need I say more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
576 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
689 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#52 of 229 in San Francisco
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing