We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #28 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Pukalani, Maui
Level Contributor
215 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“decent hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the Coventry for 9 nights and while it's a little bit away from the attractions, it was still closed enough to easily access them. The bed, which was king size, was very comfortable and if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from Lombard Street because even though my room was at the opposite end of Lombard, I could still hear the traffic. The staff were very friendly and helped you with any questions. Fisherman's Wharf is about a 20 to 30 minute walk but if you didn't rent a car like me, the bus was right across the street. Route 30 will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown and Route 28 will take you to the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park. There are no restaurants at this motel, but if you want an excellent breakfast, cross the street and head west on Lombard for a couple of blocks to the Home Plate Cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Lombard Street to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mauiguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    716
    112
    16
    2
See reviews for
444
779
60
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nites motel was clean good food within one block of motel staff very helpful and friendly room sixe was pretty big with king size bed motel is on Lombard street( 3 blocks from we're mrs doubt fire was filmed motel doesn't have any food service but are close by small grocery store is just across street for any of your needs only bad thing was cab service was hard to get at time but we didn't know until last days that front desk can call you cab and it will be there in 5 minute and they will call yout room seems they are hooked up to taxi service that work the area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Check inn was perfect! Parking in underground garage for free!!! 5 minutes from Shops and Restaurants at Union Street. 10 minutes from hipster Chestnut Street. 20 minutes from Fisherman Wharf. We did a lot of walking and if needed we took a taxi cab. Rooms are perfect but if you are a light sleeper, request room at the back! Beds are comfy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene_033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleased with the hotel. We were looking for somewhere that was reasonably central with free parking to avoid additional costs at city centre hotels. The hotel is about 15-20 minute walk to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf and Alcatraz departure pier, which was ideal for us as that was our main attractions. It was also ideal for access to Golden Gate Bridge with the bridge only minutes away by car. The hotel itself was very nice and a great place to kick back for a few days. Would highly recommend this Coventry Motor Inn. Thank you for great stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magmoncrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn for 3 nights on our 2nd visit to San Francisco. Knowing how expensive hotel rooms are in the city, we were delighted when we found this place for a decent price - including free parking which is very rare in the area!

Finding the hotel is fairly simple, remember in many areas of the city turning left is prohibited - so right right and right again became our mantra, you might need this depending which way you come in!

Check in was efficient, and we were given a lovely spacious room. Everything was clean and tidy, there was a large table and chairs as well as beds and clothes storage. Very lovely toiletries in the bathroom, HBO on the TV so we didn't miss Game of Thrones(!), and memory foam mattresses for a good nights sleep.

The only thing I would say about the hotel is it is fairly noisy. We could hear doors slamming and noise from other rooms and the corridors, plus even with the curtains and windows completely shut the road noise from Lombard street made a deep sleep difficult. Make sure you ask for a room in the back if you are a light sleeper.

Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling with a car who is on a budget. You're just 20 mins walk from Fishermans Wharf, 10 from Ghiradelli Square, and minutes drive from all local attractions.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank savagenoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 4 nights in this motel. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. Parking is included in the rate and parking lots are always available. Small supermarket directly opposite to the motel. All usually necessary items are available. Conveniently located to several bus stops.
Staff at the reception is extraordinarily friendly, best regards especially to Tony ;-)

Try to get a room located to Buchanan or Moulton Street. Rooms to Lombard Street are very loud.

Room Tip: Try to get a room located to Buchanan or Moulton Street. Rooms to Lombard Street are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngsterGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I searched for months for a place to stay and just happened to come across this one. What a perfect choice for my family. Viisting San Francisco was already going to be the most expensive trip stop on our itinerary so when I saw the good reviews and prices, I jumped at the chance. The location is good. It may not be down by the warf, etc. but who cares. We had free parking that night. Comfortable memory foam beds (although doubles were small to sleep on). It was very clean and updated. The only thing that didnt work was the shower head. It barely trickled but the hand held wand work fine. The staff were recommended some close places to walk to for dinner. Two were closed though when we got there. Ended up at a pizza place. The gentleman we spoke to was not knowledgable about parking areas except the really expensive Warf area. We googled and looked up parking. INPARKs were the best prices. We had sightseeing plans all day the next morning and were not spending another night so we had to move our car for other patrons. We moved down to Beach Street. It took five minutes to drive there. $9 all day parking (til 7PM) if you entered before 9AM. Such a deal down there! We walked along the warf area to get to the pier for Alcatraz. Took a whole 10 minutes. We picked up the Big Bus tour just a quarter of a block from the garage too. So convenient. Loved the Big Bus tour. It was an easy way to see the Painted Ladies, tour Golden Gate Park, shop, see China town and go across the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
681 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing